Evidence Based Acquisition–ProQuest Historical Newspapers (HNP) and History Vault Modules

by Daniel Goldstein – May 5, 2020

All of the primary source collections and historical newspapers listed in this guide are available to the University of California, Davis until April 30, 2021. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.  Each resource is listed only once so be sure to scan the entire guide.

Daniel Goldstein

Research Support
Researcher Services Librarian

dgoldstein@ucdavis.edu

530-752-2040

In this Guide:

NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This is one of 6 groups of modules that are available for a limited time. Some of the individual modules will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.-------------The resource includes U.S. Government records on workers, labor unions and strikes in the first half of the 20th century. It also contains records of American labor unions, 1862-1974--The Knights of Labor, the AFL, the CIO and the AFL_CIO.
 NOTE:Available through 4/30/2021. This is one of 6 groups of modules that are available for a limited time. Some of the individual modules will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.-------------This resource consists of 2 collections (10 modules) . The NAACP PAPERS (6 modules) contain internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. BLACK FREEDOM AND STRUGGLE IN THE 20TH CENTURY (4 modules) consists of Federal Government Records, Organizational Records and Personal Papers.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This is one of a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.-------------This collection combines full runs of regional newspapers, pamphlets, and ephemera from both sides of the American Civil War address a wide array of the political, legal and social issues of the day. The Newspapers included are: Richmond Dispatch (Virginia), Charleston Mercury (South Carolina), New Orleans Times Picayune (Louisiana), Boston Herald, New York Herald, Columbus State Journal (Ohio), The Kentucky Daily Journal, Memphis Daily Appeal.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This is one of 6 groups of modules that are available for a limited time. Some of the individual modules will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.-------------The 11 modules in this resource detail U.S. foreign relations throughout the world from prior to World War I through the Vietnam War. Two of the modules draw on British Governmental sources, the remainder derive from the U.S. government.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This is one of 6 groups of modules that are available for a limited time. Some of the individual modules will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.-------------The 4 modules gathered here cover WOMEN'S POLITICAL AND REPRODUCTIVE RIGHTS AND SUFFRAGE; WORKING WOMEN IN WORLD WAR II; MARGARET SANGER.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This is one of 6 groups of modules that are available for a limited time. Some of the individual modules will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.-------------This resource consists of 11 modules covering a diverse array of 19th and 20th century topics including. THOMAS EDISON; IMMIGRATION (1880-1930); CHILDREN; THE SUPREME COURT AND OTHER FEDERAL COURTS AND CASES; PROGRESSIVE AND RADICAL POLITICS; 20TH CENTURY PRESIDENTS; THE NEW DEAL; WORLD WAR TWO; THE COLD WAR; VIETNAM WATERGATE AND MORE.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This is one of 6 groups of modules that are available for a limited time. Some of the individual modules will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.-------------This resource consists of 6 modules pertaining to Southern Law, Industry, Plantation records in the long 19th Century as well as Confederate and Union War materials and Reconstruction.

NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.

NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper collection is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.---------This is a collection of 22 full- and partial-run English language newspapers. Most were published in Shanghai, the remainder from Guangzhou and Beijing.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper collection is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020. ----------------- The collection contains 8 New York papers including the Daily Worker and Daily World, as well as one paper, The Ohio Socialist, from Cleveland.

NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
Coverage: 1912-2010
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
Coverage: 1884-2010
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
Coverage: 1894 - 2015
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
Coverage: 1893 - 2010
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.

Western and Midwestern, Southern Newspapers

NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.--------------UCDavis already has permanent access to the 1874-1922 segment of this paper.
Coverage: 1874 - 2003
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020. ------------includes several papers that merged or changed names over time.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.------------This trial extends UCDavis's existing subscription to this paper, adding 1923-2007. Full coverage is not available via our existing subscription link which goes only through 1922.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.

Eastern and Southeastern Newspapers

One of nine African American newspapers available through ProQuest. The Atlanta World was founded in 1928, became the Daily World in 1932, and is still published today. Keep in mind, this database does not include the full run of the title.

This database provides full text search of articles, classified ads, display advertisements, bylines, headlines, obituaries and more, and is cross-searchable with all other ProQuest titles.

 

NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.------------
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.

NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
Coverage: 1838-2010
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.--------------contains several different, overlapping titles.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.
NOTE: Available through 4/30/2021. This newspaper collection is among a group of resources that are available for a limited time. Some of them will become a permanent part of the UCDavis library collections based on interest and use in 2020.---------------This collection includes overlapping years of the Manchester and London Guardian newspapers, as well as the London Observer.