This guide lists resources related to evolutionary biology which are useful for locating literature across a range of topics including: evolution of behavior; evolutionary and population genetics; genomes and the evolution of development; history of evolutionary thought; human evolution; phylogenetics and the history of life; selection and adaptation; and speciation and macroevolution. To access licensed library resources from off-campus, please use the library VPN. Ruth is happy to help if you have questions or need additional assistance.

Ruth Gustafson

Research Support Services
Animal and Ecology Reference Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as evolutionary genetics or human evolution rather than the more specific metapopulation gene flow or fossil hominid microstructure.

  • UC Davis Library Catalog
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

 

  • Understanding Call Numbers

    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

    Date: 2004

More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.

Coverage: Late 19th century-present
Tags: Anthropology

3

VPN

F1000Prime is a “literature awareness tool that is updated continuously and comprehensively and systematically highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological and medical sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of leading researchers. Through immediate rating of individual papers by the authors’ peers, F1000 [Prime] highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than that of the journal in which they appear.

“Faculty of 1000 (F1000) Biology & Medicine are merged into one and now called F1000Prime. Includes over 40 Faculties (Broad subject areas such as biochemistry, ecology or plant biology), which are further subdivided into over 300 Sections. On average, 1,500 new evaluations are published each month. Faculty members are more than 5,000 experts worldwide (assisted by 5,000 associates) and assess articles from more than 3,500 peer-review journals.

An International Bibliography that includes citations to the literature of the history of science, technology, and medicine in many languages.

Coverage: 1976-present
Tags: History, Medicine, Science, Technology

The principal index to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives (primarily US and UK). The C19 Index incorporates the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, Poole’s Index to Nineteenth Century Periodicals, Periodicals Index Online and more to provide coverage of over 1.5 million books and official publications, 71,000 archival collections and 16.3 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers.

Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.

Coverage: 1967-present
Tags: Asia, History, Latin America

Web of Science combines traditional bibliographic searching of journal content across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences with broadly interdisciplinary “cited reference” search capabilities.

Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
Creating Citation Alerts for Current Awareness

Coverage: See above description (varies between 9 indexes)
Tags: Science

OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.

Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
Tags: Libraries

Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.

Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Started in 2010, the entire journal is dedicated to protocols, field methods and “promotes the development of new methods in ecology & evolution, and facilitates their dissemination and uptake by the research community.”

Allows searching of the full text “of more than 7,500 of Charles Darwin’s letters” and locating “information on 7,500 more. [Includes] complete transcripts of all known letters Darwin wrote and received up to the year 1869.”

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries worldwide that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) with access provided to texts “with information on over a 150 million species names.” {RG 12/11/13}

Related links:

Journal Citation Reports is an annual publication by Thomson Reuters with each yearly data analysis being completed in the following year. The most recent edition is always published in the summer following the year analyzed. Journal Citation Reports indicates the most frequently cited journals in a field, the highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field. JCR Science Edition contains data from over 7,300 journals in science and technology. JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 2,200 journals in the social sciences.

NOTE: For disciplines that have longer timespans for citation, consider sorting for ranking by using the 5-year Impact Factor sort.

Coverage: 1997-2015 release; 1996-2014 data
Tags: Multidisciplinary, Science

Springer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly.

Coverage: 2005-2017

Coverage: 2005-2016
Tags: Multidisciplinary

A collection of computing books that includes the full text of over 300 O’Reilly Press books dating from 2004 to the present. Safari will grow to include all new O’Reilly titles, including the popular In a Nutshell books on important computing topics. The full-text is searchable across titles and searches can be limited to code fragments. Books can also be browsed by topic. Books can be read online, or individual chapter sections can be printed out or emailed. Access is limited to 28 simultaneous UC connections.

Coverage: 2004-present
Tags: Coding, Cyber Security, Digital Media, Forensics, Gaming, Html, Java, Technology

An “extensive, annotated bibliography of the most important concepts and ideas in the discipline” of evolutionary biology. Articles range from adaptation to tetrapod evolution including “genome sequencing and evolutionary developmental biology”. As the Editor in Chief notes, this field is changing rapidly being at the “nexus of two developments, which jointly allow an understanding of evolutionary processes never before possible. First is the ability to sequence entire genomes, and second is the means to study natural populations over long periods of time.” The Evolutionary Biology Bibliography is kept current as follows: each article receives an annual formal review; and about 50-75 new articles are added each year.

See the list of Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UC Davis subscribes.

The 2nd edition of this 7 volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biodiversity. “Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.” Over 320 articles with “approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms”. Topics range from: Agriculture; Conservation & Restoration; Economics of Biodiversity; Environmental Conditions & Effects; Evolution; Extinctions; Genetics; Geographic & Global Issues; Habitats & Ecosystems; Human Effects & Interventions; Invertebrates; Microbial Diversity; Plant Biodiversity; Population Issues; Public Policies & Attitudes; Species Interactions & Interrelationships; Systematics & Species Concept; Techniques & Measurements; Theories & Concepts of Biodiversity; to Vertebrates

Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1 covers Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes and volume 2 is on Protostomes. Volume 3 is about Insects. Volumes 4-5 are both concerning Fishes. Volume 6 pertains to Amphibians and volume 7 is about Reptiles. Volumes 8-11 are all concerning Birds. Volumes 12-16 are on Mammals and lastly, volume 17 is the cumulative index.

•Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.

•Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

Coverage: 2003
Tags: Animals, Life Science, Science

This encyclopedia incorporates research on “the behavior of animals and humans and the neurobiological and physiological processes that control it”. This three-volume set covers all areas of behavioral neuroscience with a total of 210 chapters.Topics range from: Addiction; Animal Models of Behavior; Behavioral Genetics; Brain Aging; Brain Structure & Function; Cognitive Neuroscience; Disease & Dysfunction; Developmental Biology; Emotion & Emotional Behavior; Ethology & Neuroethology; Evolution & Comparative Biology; History; Language & Communication; Learning & Memory; Molecular Neurobiology; Motivation & Reward; Motor Systems & Motor Control; Neuroplasticity; Psychoneuroendocrinology; Reproductive, Parental & Sexual behavior; Sensation & Perception; Sleeping, Waking & Arousal; Social Behavior/Cognition; and Stress.

This classic encyclopedia covering scientists from all time periods and all fields of science has been completely revised. This “complete” online version includes all the entries from both the new (2008) edition and the original edition.

Tags: Science

This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.

Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

2

VPN

ARTStor is a library of digital images, associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning and scholarship. It contains a searchable database of more than 500,000 digital images, covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

For off-campus access, first register with ARTstor from a computer on campus. Then, you may login from off campus with your ARTstor ID by going directly to www.artstor.org. Or, you may use the Client VPN.

NOTE: Artstor’s site videos (QTVR) are not currently available.