David Michalski

Research Support Services
Social and Cultural Studies Librarian

michalski@ucdavis.edu

530-752-2086

In this Guide:

The Berg Fashion Library is an online portal with comprehensive coverage of dress and fashion around the world. It provides access to interdisciplinary and integrated image, book and journal content. Berg Fashion Library includes the full text of the 10 volume Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, and other Berg fashion monographs, images from the Victoria & Albert Museum fashion collection, article links to the journals Fashion Theory, Fashion Practice, and Textile.

Tags: Fashion

The Library has online access to the Encyclopedia through the Berg Fashion Library

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.

Coverage: Late 19th century-present
Tags: Anthropology

Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

Coverage: 1963-present
Tags: Sociology

An interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women’s Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), and several major bibliographies.

Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
Tags: Women, Women's Studies

The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. Search by advertisement, article, editor, and more or browse each issue by date.

Coverage: 1892 to present
Tags: Fashion

“Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database.”

Coverage: coverage varies by title with some going as far back as 1886.
Tags: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

Art & Architecture Source (formerly Art Source) includes full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on “a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.”  It also includes “a collection of over 63,0000 images”  It indexes publications from the late 1920s to the present.

Art history is a vast discipline, geographically, historically, and intellectually. This bibliography serves as a guide to the key works in all areas of the discipline

Tags: Art, History

10

VPN

ARTStor is a library of digital images, associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning and scholarship. It contains a searchable database of more than 500,000 digital images, covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

For off-campus access, first register with ARTstor from a computer on campus. Then, you may login from off campus with your ARTstor ID by going directly to www.artstor.org. Or, you may use the Client VPN.

NOTE: Artstor’s site videos (QTVR) are not currently available.

Check out these guides from prominent Fashion Libraries
The links on these pages may be geared to the institution’s own patrons, but they may still be useful when seeking to better understand the literature and its organization

FIT: Fashion Institure of Technology Library Research Guides
66 Guides Related to Fashion Research
http://fitnyc.libguides.com/

UCLA’s Fashion and Costume Guide
From the Arts Library at UCLA
http://guides.library.ucla.edu/costume

Kent State Library Fashion Guide
Has a good list of museums and theatrical costume links
https://libguides.library.kent.edu/clothinghistory

Rhode Island School of Design Textile Guide
From the Fleet Library
http://risd.libguides.com/c.php?g=207020&p=1365771

Search the UC Davis Library Catalog for Books on Fashion, Costume and Textiles with these suggested subject headings; they are Library of Congress subject headings and will work in the  UC Davis Catalog, Melvyl, Worldcat and other library catalogs for subjects related to clothing, fashion, textiles, etc.:

  • Art — Handbooks, manuals etc.
  • Beauty Personal
  • Beauty personal — blacks
  • Beauty personal — psychological aspects
  • Body image
  • Body image — adolescence
  • Body image — cross cultural studies
  • Body image disturbance
  • Body image in men
  • Body image in women
  • Clothing — cold weather
  • Clothing and dress
  • Clothing and dress — religious aspects
  • Clothing and dress — social aspects
  • Clothing care labels
  • Clothing factories
  • Clothing trade
  • Clothing workers
  • Collective bargaining — clothing industry
  • Consumption (economics)
  • Consumption (economics) — History
  • Consumption (economics) — social aspects
  • Consumption (economics) — United States
  • Costume
  • Costume — Asia
  • Costume — bibliography
  • Costume — religious aspects
  • Costume — moral and ethical aspects
  • Costume — pictorial works
  • Costume — political aspects
  • Costume — psychological aspects
  • Costume — sex differences
  • Costume — social aspects
  • Costume — symbolic aspects
  • Costume — United States
  • Costume and civilization
  • Costume Design
  • Costume designers
  • Costume design — history
  • Costume design — pictorial works
  • Costume history — 19th century
  • Costume history — 20th century
  • Costume history — medieval 500-1500
  • Costume in art
  • Costume in literature
  • Costume jewelry
  • Costumes
  • Culture — economic aspects
  • Decoration and ornament
  • Design–social aspects
  • Dress accessories
  • Dressmaking
  • Dressmaking — Patterns
  • Ethnic costume
  • Export marketing
  • Fashion and art
  • Fashion designers
  • Garment cutting
  • Hair — Social Aspects
  • Hairdressing
  • Hairdressing of African Americans
  • Hairdressing of Blacks
  • Hairstyles
  • Hat Trade
  • Hats
  • Headgear
  • Home economics
  • Jewelry
  • Jewelry, ancient
  • Knitting
  • Men’s clothing
  • Millinery
  • Millinery workers
  • Pattern books
  • Pleats (sewing)
  • Sewing
  • Sewing
  • Shawls
  • Shoes
  • Sweatshops
  • Tailoring (women’s)
  • Tailoring — Pattern design
  • Tailors
  • Textile fabrics
  • Textile industry
  • Textile printing
  • Textiles
  • Underwear
  • Uniforms
  • Wearable art
  • Wigs
  • Women clothing workers
  • Women consumers
  • Women designers
  • Women fashion designers
  • Women’s clothing industry