In this Guide:

This database features 160 full-text journals; more than 160 full-text books. Indexing and abstracts for nearly 560 journals; selected coverage of nearly 290 journals; Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914; more than 37,400 images from the MPTV Image Archive.cations.

Tags: Film

IIPA Full Text draws content from more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. The database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. Full text contents are selective.

Coverage: 1864-present
Tags: Music

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

Coverage: 1880-2000
Tags: Business, History

Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover; 200 others selectively for articles on film and television. The freely available online version covers 1976-2001 only, while the print version covers the early 1970s and years after 2001.

Related: Print edition with current issues available in Humanities/Social Sciences Reference, 2nd Floor Shields Library, PN1993.F484.

Coverage: 1976-2001
Tags: Film

This essential tool for film studies, created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world’s foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward.

The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.

Coverage: 1972-present
Tags: Film

The Film Indexes Online portal allows for cross-searching of the AFI Catalog and the Film International Index databases. Combined, these two databases search for cast, character, director, and keyword information for thousands of films.

Tags: Film

Provides indexing of 115,000 films and biographical information for almost 57,000 personalities. FII also includes brief bibliographies and coverage of international film awards, as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.

Coverage: http://uclibs.org/PID/44296
Tags: Film

The American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog is the most authoritative resource of American film information for the years 1893 – 1971, including summaries, technical and cast information, and bibliographies.

Coverage: 1893-1971
Tags: Film

6

VPN

ARTStor is a library of digital images, associated information, and software tools designed to enhance teaching, learning and scholarship. It contains a searchable database of more than 500,000 digital images, covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

For off-campus access, first register with ARTstor from a computer on campus. Then, you may login from off campus with your ARTstor ID by going directly to www.artstor.org. Or, you may use the Client VPN.

NOTE: Artstor’s site videos (QTVR) are not currently available.

Containing over 235,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.

Related: Communication Abstracts
HUM & SOC SCI REF P87 C58
Print edition of Communication Abstracts.

Coverage: 1978-present
Tags: Communications, Mass Media

The Music & Performing Arts Online portal brings the International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) and the International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) together in one site, enabling users to search both resources simultaneously. Together, these databases offer coverage of music, theatre, dance, television, film, and other performing arts.

Tags: Music

The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities. Researchers can use the video to study a wide range of problems, such as tests of algorithms for automatic segmentation, summarization, and creation of surrogates that describe video content; the development of face recognition algorithms; or creating and evaluating interfaces that display result sets from multimedia queries. Because researchers attempting to solve similar problems will have access to the same video content, the repository is also intended to be used as a test collection that will enable systems to be compared, similar to the way the TREC conferences are used for text retrieval.

Tags: Film

The Media History Digital Library is a non-profit initiative dedicated to digitizing collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. Their collections feature extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines.

 

Coverage: 1904-1973
Related links: ,

Current full-text of the Los Angeles Times, New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review), and the Wall Street Journal. For historical backfiles, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2011. The “Access World News” database contains both the daily and Sunday Times, 1985-present.

Coverage: 1785-2011
Tags: News

Searchable database of citations and digitized images of the pages of more than 1100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

Coverage: 1741-1940s
Tags: Art, Humanities, Multidisciplinary, Science, Social Science

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

This site sponsored by the Library of Congress allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Over a period of approximately 20 years, NDNP will create a national, digital resource of historically significant newspapers published between 1836 and 1922 from all U.S. states and territories. Currently, the site contains selected newspapers from California (The San Francisco Call, Sacramento Record-Union), District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, and Virginia and Washington.

Coverage: 1836-1922 some full text papers; 1690 - present is a bibliographic record for newspaper titles.
Tags: News, United States Of America

The University of California eBooks Collection includes about 2,000 titles and is made available through a partnership between the University of California Press and the California Digital Library’s eScholarship program. About 25% of the titles are available to the general public; the rest are for University of California faculty, staff, and students only.

Coverage: 1982-2004
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Here are the online collections in the Library of Congress’ that contain motion pictures. Topics include the history of film itself, advertising, newsreels, and more. They span the Twentieth Century ending with material related to the September 11, 2001 attack.

Tags: Film, History

CineFiles contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the PFA Library’s extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present.

CineFiles currently includes documents on the films of more than 150 major international directors, materials describing silent Soviet cinema, and PFA’s unique collection of exhibitor manuals, among other documents.

Related: PFA Library & Film Study Center

Tags: Film

Metacritic compiles reviews of movies, DVDs, television, and more from both critics in major newspapers and site users. Based on the combined reviews, it also “scores” a given film based on its critical reception.

This internet engine searches for reviews of over 30,000 films from a variety of (mostly free) sites. Older films are reviewed, but by contemporary critics. The site also gives up-to-date listing of top ten box office films.

ATLA indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in more than 60 languages. Subject coverage includes Religious Studies, Biblical explication, Archaeology & Antiquities, Church History, Human Culture & Society, Missions & Ecumenism, Pastoral Ministry, Philosophy & Ethics, Theology, and World Religions.

Coverage: 1949-Current
Tags: Religion

Provides streaming video access to the 60 Minutes news show archive for the third and fourth decades of this long-running show, plus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. Includes transcripts of the videos for ease of citation, and a citation export feature. Topics include international and national news, politics, women’s studies, society and culture, and many more