FST003V: Deconstruct a Beer Resources

Welcome! Use this guide to identify reputable sources for your Deconstruct a Beer assignment. For a comprehensive listing of scholarly search tools, visit the UC Davis Library website.

In this Guide:

If you are a UC Davis student and you are off-campus, make sure you download and use the VPN for http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/icons/1763/lock.gif resources.

Brewing Materials and Processes: A Practical Approach to Beer Excellence Icon

E-book edited by Charles Bamforth.

Bamforth, C. (2016). Brewing materials and processes: A practical approach to beer excellence. Retrieved from http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/book/9780127999548

Handbook of Brewing Icon

E-book includes chapters on barley, malt, water, hops, yeast, beer styles, quality, packaging and more.

Priest, F.G. & Stewart, G.G. (2006). Handbook of Brewing. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press. Retrieved from http://dx.doi.org/10.1201/9781420015171

Essays in Brewing Science Icon

E-book edited by Charles Bamforth and Michael Lewis.

Lewis, M., & Bamforth, C. (2006). Essays in brewing science. New York, NY: Springer. Retrieved from http://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F0-387-33011-9

Brewmaster's Art: The History and Science of Beermaking

This 7 hour, 7 CD set is available in the Shields Library Media Collection at the Circulation Services Desk, call number Shields Library Media CD252

How is Beer Made?

Documentary film (44 minutes) produced by the History Channel that discusses the history of beer and brewing.

Technology Brewing and Malting

Location: Shields Library’s Bio/Ag Viticulture and Enology Collection, call numberĀ TP570 .K813 2004

Kunze, W., & Manger, H. (2004). Technology brewing and malting (3rd international ed.). Berlin: VLB.

If you are a UC Davis student and you are off-campus, make sure you download and use the VPN for http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/icons/1763/lock.gif resources.

Barley & Malt

American Malting Barley Association

Collection of documents includes Know Your Malting Barley Varieties; Barley Variety Surveys; Harvesting, Drying, and Storing Malting Barley.

Barley and Malt Icon

From the e-book Handbook of Brewing (2nd edition) Icon. Includes an overview of 6 components of barley grain and descriptions of malt production/varieties.

Malting Barley - Malting Process

Video (3:51) explaining the malting process. From the Canadian Malting Barley Technical Centre (CMBTC), a non-profit organization which offers technical support to the malting barley and brewing industries.

Malts and Malting Icon

From the e-book Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Icon. Describes the stages in the malting process.

Raw Materials Icon

From the e-book Essays in Brewing Science Icon by Michael Lewis & Charles Bamforth. See p.80-91 for details about the malting process and types of malt.

UK Malt: The Maltsters' Association of Great Britain

Includes information about growing barley and how malt is made.

Hops

Hop Growers of America

Search for information about different hop varieties, how hops are used in brewing, and statistics on hop production.

Yakima Chief Hopunion - Hop Varieties

Browse descriptions of over 120 types of hops grown around the world.

If you are a UC Davis student and you are off-campus, make sure you download and use the VPN for http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/icons/1763/lock.gif resources.

Brewing Materials and Processes: A Practical Approach to Beer Excellence Icon

E-book edited by Charles Bamforth. See chapters:

Bamforth, C. (2016). Brewing materials and processes: A practical approach to beer excellence. Retrieved from http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/book/9780127999548

Brewing Yeast and Fermentation

Location: Shields Library’s Bio/Ag Viticulture and Enology Collection, call number TP580 .B68 2001

Boulton, C., & Quain, D. (2001). Brewing yeast and fermentation. Ames, Iowa: Blackwell Science.

Brewing Yeast Fermantation Performance

Location: Shields Library’s Bio/Ag Viticulture and Enology Collection, call number TP580 .B74 2003

Smart, K. (2003). Brewing yeast fermentation performance (2nd ed.). Malden, MA: Blackwell Science

Beers (2018)Resources on Beer Styles
BrewDog Elvis JuiceBrewers Association Beer Style Guidelines
Detailed descriptions of ale styles and lager styles, updated annually.
Budweiser
Cantillon Lou Pepe Kriek
Gordon Biersch HefeweissenBeer Style Guidelines
Published by the Beer Judge Certification Program in 2015.
Guinness
Hoegaarden Wit
Michelob Ultra Beer Styles
Browse for descriptions of a variety of styles, compiled by BeerAdvocate, an online beer community and magazine.
Miller Genuine Draft
Pilsner Urquell
Sierra Nevada Bigfoot The Brewers of Europe
The Brewers of Europe is an industry association that represents brewers from many European countries. Their site includes overviews of beer styles as well as country profiles.
Sierra Nevada Pale Ale
Young's Chocolate Stout

If you are a UC Davis student and you are off-campus, make sure you download and use the VPN for http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/icons/1763/lock.gif resources.

Brewing Process

Beer: Quality, Safety and Nutritional Aspects Icon

E-book with chapters on malting and brewing; beer quality; the nutritional aspects of beer; and assuring the safety of beer.

Baxter, E., & Hughes, P. (2001). Beer: Quality, safety and nutritional aspects. Cambridge, UK: Royal Society of Chemistry.

Standards of Brewing: A Practical Approach to Consistency and Excellence

Location: Shields Library’s Bio/Ag Viticulture and Enology Collection, call numberĀ  TP570 .B185 2002

Bamforth, C. (2002). Standards of brewing: A practical approach to consistency and excellence. Boulder, Colo.: Brewers Publications.

American Society of Brewing Chemists (ASBC)

The American Society of Brewing Chemists is responsible for developing standardized methods to ensure the quality and consistency of beer. See Publications and Tools.

Institute of Brewing and Distilling (IBD)

Focuses on training and development of brewers and distillers. Search the Learning and Resource Centre for resources about many topics.

Additional Resources

Journal of the Institute of Brewing Icon

Search for scholarly articles in the Journal of the Institute of Brewing about brewing methods, procedures, raw materials.

Useful Brewing Calculations

From the Beer and Wine Journal. Includes calculations for strike water, heating rate, water absorption and first wort volume and more.

British Beer and Pub Association

Find information about the brewing process, news and statistics.

Brewers Association

A not-for-profit trade association. Includes over 2,800 U.S. brewery members, 45,000 members of the American Homebrewers Association, plus members of the allied trade, beer wholesalers, retailers and individuals.

Beer Institute

The Beer Institute is a trade organization that represents over 4,000 U.S. breweries. Search content related to Economic Impact, Responsibility and Industry Statistics.

California Craft Brewers Association

The CCBA is a non-profit trade association that represents the craft brewing industry in California.

Craft Brewing Business

A trade website and e-newsletter focused on commercial craft brewing.

Consult these resources to format citations in APA Citation Style.