Visit our Coronavirus page for library hours, remote teaching and learning resources, and more.

More info
by David Michalski — March 13, 2020
by David Michalski — March 13, 2020

Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies

by David Michalski – March 13, 2020

Use this guide to research the literature in gender studies and sexuality. It aims to provide a list of key journal databases, and primary source collections. If you have questions about the use of these databases, research in Women’s Studies, Gender Studies, Sexuality Studies, cultural studies or the social sciences, or if you need support with social sciences data, I am happy to help, or get you in contact with those who can. Feel free to contact me via email, michalski@ucdavis.edu or make an appointment https://calendly.com/michalski-1/research-librarian-consultation.

David Michalski

Researcher Services
Researcher Services Librarian

michalski@ucdavis.edu

916-392-2189

In this Guide:

Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
Tags: Women, Women's Studies

A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.

LGBT Life (previously GLBT Life) contains indexing and abstracts for LGBT-specific core periodicals, in addition to data mined from over 1400 select titles. LGBT Life contains all relevant data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies database.

This Primary source collection draws from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups to present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more.

Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History

This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.