Visit our Coronavirus page for library hours, remote teaching and learning resources, and more.

More info

German Studies Indexes And Resources

by Adam Siegel – April 7, 2020

WORKING REMOTELY?
For basic questions, your fastest option is 24/7 Chat Reference.
Many publishers are currently providing emergency access to their online products.   Please contact me about access to resources you do not see here.

The basic principle underlying the organization of any library is to the imperative to describe the documents it contains so that they may be located.  All libraries create sets of records which describe the documents in their collections.  Catalogs are sets of records to documents that share a location.  Indexes are sets of records to documents that share some other attribute (generally subject matter). Below are the most comprehensive and significant broad article indexing (and corpus) databases for international German Studies scholarship.

Adam Siegel

Research Support Services
Researcher Services Librarian

apsiegel@ucdavis.edu

530-754-6828

In this Guide:

The Melvyl catalog allows users to search for documents held by the UC Davis and other UC libraries.  When configured for “Libraries Worldwide,” the catalog allows users to find documents (books, media, reports, etc.) held by libraries throughout North America and Europe.

Index of thousands of publications covering all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity, including literature, language, history and archaeology. [1949 - 2004]
Coverage: 1949-current
Tags: Classics
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present.
Coverage: 1926-present
Tags: Language, Literature

This database is the combined archive  of two bibliographic indexes, Pascal and Francis. They provide multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.  It was produced and is now hosted as an open access resource by the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.

Coverage: 1972-2015

BASE is one of the world’s most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

Als zentrales nationales Portal soll die DDB perspektivisch die digitalen Angebote aller deutschen Kultur- und Wissenschaftseinrichtungen miteinander vernetzen.

The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker is regarded throughout the world as the premier collection of German writing. The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker series has been in publication since 1981. It covers the works of major authors spanning eleven centuries and includes historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material. As every individual text is edited to the same high standard, you can rely on the quality and accuracy of each edition and the collection as a whole.

Open-access collection of digitized books and other content held by the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek (München). Collections include incunabula, first editions of German classics, digitized newspapers and journals, maps, scores, and other realia.

Schillers Werke is the electronic edition of the Nationalausgabe of Schiller’s works. The Nationalausgabe was established in 1940 as the definitive edition of his works, letters and conversations. The series is currently edited by Norbert Oellers, one of the world’s leading scholars of German literature. The Nationalausgabe is published in electronic form with the support of and under licence from Verlag Hermann Böhlaus Nachfolger Weimar GmbH & Co.

Critically-edited (Latin and premodern German language) primary sources for the study of German and central European history from late antiquity to 1500 CE.

Related: Hard copy volumes are located on the Lower Level of Shields at DD3 M8 P6.

Open access site with fulltext of 45 German language periodicals from the Enlightenment.

Coverage: 18th and 19th century
Tags: Germany, History, Literature, Science

The Regesta Imperii are a fundamental collection of primary sources for the study of European history, and an inventory of all archival and historiographic sources of the monarchs of the Holy Roman Empire ,from the Carolingian Age (9th century CE)to the time of Maximilian I(d. 1519). They include, as well, key records for the study of the papacy in the early and high middle ages.

Die Regesta Imperii sind ein Quellenwerk zur europäischen Geschichte.Sie sind das Inventar aller urkundlichen und historiographischen Quellen der römisch-deutschen Könige von den Karolingern bis zu Maximilian I. sowie der Päpste des frühen und hohen Mittelalters. Schnittstelle auf Deutsch.

Coverage: 9th CE century to 1519 CE
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all areas of philosophy.
Coverage: 1940 - present
Tags: Bioethics, Ethics, Philosophy

A free service of the Technical University of Munich. At somewhere near 500,000 entries LEO is the online dictionary of choice for users of the above-named languages(substantial one volume hardcopy dictionaries contain between 120,000 and 150,000 entries, so a source like this is comparable to significantly larger multivolume dictionaries). Currently expanding its coverage beyond French and English to include Spanish, Italian, Chinese, Portuguese, Russian, and Polish, making it even more valuable to comparativists.

The German Literary Expressionism Online database contains 151 journals, yearbooks, collections and anthologies from the early 20th century in full text. Many of the most important literary figures of the 20th century made their first literary appearances in periodicals. They included Hugo Ball, Johannes R. Becher, Gottfried Benn, Georg Heym, Klabund, Else Lasker-Schüler, Georg Trakl, and Franz Werfel. Authors, philosophers, theologians, politicians, historians, art historians, psychologists, and many others not belonging to the central circle of expressionists, such as Martin Buber, Gerhart Hauptmann, Theodor Heuss, Hugo von Hofmannsthal, Gustav Landauer, Rainer Maria Rilke, and Arthur Schnitzler, also wrote for the new journals. Included in the database are journals with literary aspirations, such as “Der Sturm” and “Die Weissen Blätter,” as well as journals with political objectives, such as “Die Aktion.” The database serves as a source on German literature of the Modern era and can be used for the study of the history of art, theatre, film, dance and music between 1910 and 1930. Materials contained in the database are presented as online facsimiles, with a variety of search possibilities, including full text. A scholarly introduction and short bio-bibliographical articles on the 350 Expressionist authors represented complete the database.

Coverage: early 20th century
Tags: Germany, Language, Literature
This open-access online corpus of German literature contains over 10,000 works from over two thousand German-language authors.

UC Davis Library Catalog

Browse “Library Search”

UC Davis Mabie Law Library Catalog

Melvyl (UC System) Library Catalog

Worldcat [via FirstSearch]  Icon

Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog (European Libraries)

“Library Search”

Subject Guides