Global Learning

by Melissa Browne – April 9, 2020

Use the resources on this guide to start your research on topics connected to global learning and global education.

What is Global Learning?
“Global learning helps students develop their capacity to be informed, open-minded, and responsible people, who are responsive to diverse perspectives. Global learning prepares us to address the world’s most pressing issues collaboratively, equitably and sustainably. Global learning helps students understand that pressing issues must be faced in an interdisciplinary way given the complexity of environments and competing needs and interests.”

One of the Provost’s Priorities is Global Education For All: “Committed to educating the next generation of problem solvers and change makers, UC Davis is working towards Global Education for All—a goal aiming to provide 100% of our undergraduate, graduate, and professional students with global learning opportunities that change their lives and our world.”

In particular, the Global Learning Outcomes underscore “[g]lobal learning opportunities at UC Davis, [which] focus on cultivating skills, knowledge, networks and attitudes tied to building global awareness, embracing linguistic and cultural diversity, and extending global engagement. A specific global learning opportunity may emphasize one or more outcomes.”

For more information on Global Education For all and global learning initiatives, explore UC Davis Global Affairs.

Melissa Browne


Student Services Librarian

mabrowne@ucdavis.edu

530-754-5962

In this Guide:

UC Davis Library Catalog
Search for books and other items available in or through the UC Davis Library.


WorldCat Catalog
Search for books and other items available at other UC Libraries, as well as academic libraries worldwide.

If you are off campus, make sure you download and launch the VPN

     ☞ HELP! I’ve tried and it’s not working. Check our FAQ or submit a Technical Support Request

Education Source provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Coverage: 1880-present
Tags: Education
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and provides extensive access to educational-related literature.
Coverage: 1966-present
Tags: Education
Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy - journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
Provides abstracts to sociology articles and the literature of related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. Covers over 1,800 journals, and book reviews. Mainly in English, but Includes materials in 30 languages.
Coverage: 1952-present
Tags: Sociology

If you are off campus, make sure you download and launch the VPN

     ☞ HELP! I’ve tried and it’s not working. Check our FAQ or submit a Technical Support Request

Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
Tags: News

One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, Nexis Uni (known until December 2017 as LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.

3

VPN

Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors. Includes full-text of the Wall Street Journal. Coverage in more than 20 languages.

Tags: Business, News

Extensive listing of links to Latin American newspapers. The list is compiled by Zona Latina, which covers Latin American media and marketing.

UDNDATA is a newspaper database of the United Daily News Group, the largest news group in Taiwan. UDNDATA covers seven Chinese newspapers in Taiwan, Europe and North America: Lian He Bao 聯合報, Jing Ji Ri Bao 經濟日報, Min Sheng Bao 民生報, Lian He Wan Bao 聯合晚報, Xing Bao 星報 in Taiwan, Ouzhou Ri Bao 歐洲日報 in Europe and Meizhou Shi Jie Ri bao 美洲世界日報 in North America. The online database provides current and searchable full-text articles, as well as searchable images, published on the above seven newspapers. It is not only a major information source in Taiwan, but also an important information sources on overseas Chinese in Europe and North America.

Tags: China, News

The Centre for Research on Globalisation (CRG), based in Montreal, is an independent research and media group which publishes news articles, commentary, background research and analysis on a broad range of globalization and anti-globalization issues, focussing on social, economic, strategic and environmental processes by writers, scholars, journalists and activists. Their data bank includes a classification by author, and by country for articles published after 2004. Previously published material is also searchable by keyword. Also of interest is an archive of audio-video material. Contains English and French material, as well as Spanish and Portuguese translations.

Coverage: 2001-present
Tags: Globalization, Science

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

UNESCO promotes collaboration among nations through education, science and culture in order to further universal respect for justice, for the rule of law and for the human rights and fundamental freedoms.

OECD iLibrary is OECD’s Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD, and hosts all content so users can find – and cite – tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters.

Coverage: 1998-present, plus retrospective statistical data
Tags: Multidisciplinary

EIU Country Profiles and Reports provide objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports

Coverage: 1996-present
Tags: Business, Economics

The human development data utilized in the preparation of the Human Development Index (HDI) and other composite indices featured in the Human Development Report are provided by a variety of public international sources and represent the best and most current statistics available for those indicators at the time of the preparation of this annual report. Calculations of HDI values and country rankings are the sole responsibility of the Human Development Report Office.