Background Notes include facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty.
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Law Library of Congress: Guide to Law Online – Nations of the World
The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.
This index offers constitutions, charters, amendments, and other related documents. Nations of the world and states are listed alphabetically, and each nation’s or state’s name is linked to its constitutional text posted somewhere on the Internet.
China Data Online is the primary data source for China studies. It includes (1) China Statistical Databases; and (2) China Census Databases; It provides easy access to the various statistical yearbooks published by the National Bureau of Statistics of China, comprehensive statistics, and Census data of economy and population at national, provincial, city, county, and even township levels.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers – 18th, 19th and 20th Century [via ProQuest]
“The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world.” HCPP now includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing. HCPP includes all the “sessional papers” of the British Parliament: bills, reports of committees, papers presented by Royal Commissions and government departments, treaties and international agreements, command papers, and statistics. It also includes the full text from “Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament,” from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, from 1803 to 2005.
This resource aggregates the statistical abstracts of more than 50 countries and makes the content available through a single-search interface. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere.
Also includes data from the United Nations Demographic Yearbook, World Development Indicators, and Key Figures on Europe.