Visit our Coronavirus page for library hours, remote teaching and learning resources, and more.

More info
by Research Assistance — September 19, 2018
by Research Assistance — September 19, 2018

Government Information: U.S. Congress

by Research Assistance – September 19, 2018

Shields Library maintains a large collection of historical and current print, microform, and online congressional documents.  The collections include many congressional committee hearings, committee reports and documents, and the Congressional Record. With different formats, the documents are not all in one place and they are not all listed in the Library Catalog. This guide will point you to helpful resources to identify publications from the U.S. Congress.

In this Guide:

Contains full text of bills, resolutions, hearings, debates, and other legislative documents. Also contains Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Serial Set 1789-present, and legislative histories (through Legislative Insight).
Coverage: 1789-
Tags: Congress, Government

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service.

Related links:

The Government Printing Office provides free online access to official U.S. Federal government documents and information. GPO is the recognized authoritative source for government information and has authenticated the documents on govinfo. Search for official versions of government documents and publications, browse by title, collection, congressional committee, date, and download publications.

4

VPN
Full-text database of US legal periodicals.
Coverage: Coverage: Volume 1- Volume preceding current year
Tags: Law

Bills

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service.

Related links:
Contains full text of bills, resolutions, hearings, debates, and other legislative documents. Also contains Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Serial Set 1789-present, and legislative histories (through Legislative Insight).
Coverage: 1789-
Tags: Congress, Government

Committee Hearings

Contains full text of bills, resolutions, hearings, debates, and other legislative documents. Also contains Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, Serial Set 1789-present, and legislative histories (through Legislative Insight).
Coverage: 1789-
Tags: Congress, Government

Committee Reports and Documents

The Readex/Newsbank U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980) has full text Congressional committee reports and documents originally published in the Serial Set from the 15th through the 96th Congresses, 1817-1980. Also includes the American State Papers (a retrospective collection of materials originating from 1789 through 1838 but published in the second quarter of the 19th century). The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is the bound, sequentially numbered set of volumes of all the Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Many early agency reports were published originally in congressional editions. The Serial Set constitutes an incomparably rich collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history and government.

Coverage: 1817-1980, with American State Papers 1789-1838
Tags: Congress, Government

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service.

Related links:
This collection provides the public with access to research reports produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress. CRS reports provide Congress with both anticipatory and on-demand research and analysis to support their legislative, oversight, and representational duties. All reports adhere to the core values of CRS; they are authoritative, objective and nonpartisan. Reports range in length from several pages to more than one-hundred pages and cover the full breadth of topics of interest to Congress.
Coverage: various
Related links: Index to CRS Reports
An unofficial collection of CRS reports on national security, foreign policy and related topics related topics from the Federation of American Scientists.
Coverage: various

Congressional Record

1

VPN
Full-text database of US legal periodicals.
Coverage: Coverage: Volume 1- Volume preceding current year
Tags: Law

Public Laws

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service.

Related links: