Government Information: U.S. Federal

by Research Support Services — March 20, 2017

Government Information: U.S. Federal

by Research Support Services — March 20, 2017

The UC Davis is a selective Federal Depository Library.  The Library has a large collection of historical and current U.S. government documents from the Government Printing Office as part of the FDLP.  Federal government resources are received in various formats, including paper, microfiche, CD-ROM, DVD, and via the Internet. These resources are found in various locations in the Library depending on format and subject.

Government documents are listed in the library’s catalog, however, specialized indexes provide more detailed content access as well as access to online documents.  Many U.S. documents are shelved by the call number listed in the library catalog in areas throughout the UC Davis Library locations.   Most congressional publications as well as publications from various Federal agencies are located in the closed stack Government Information Collection on the lower level.  Most USGS and some NASA publications are located in the Physical Sciences and Engineering Library.

Government publications that are located in the Shields Library lower level Government Information closed stacks collection can be retrieved and checked out whenever the library is open.  Publications located in the Government Information stacks can be identified by the “Doc” in front of the call number (SuDoc No.) that you’ll find in the Harvest catalog.  Please ask at the first floor Information Desk when an assistant is available; at other times ask at the Shields Library Circulation Services to have a staff member retrieve a known document by call number.

The Library has access to free and licensed online databases for government information. Databases and reference materials are listed on pages within this guide.

Should you have questions or need suggestions on where to start your research using U.S. federal publications you can email the UCD research support librarians at researchservices@ucdavis.edu.

Research Support Services

Research Support Services

researchservices@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752‑1126

The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is a finding tool for electronic and print publications from legislative, executive and judicial branches of the U.S. government. The CGP is produced by the U.S. Government Printing Office, GPO, and contains records for current and historical U.S. government publications and provides links to online versions when available. CGP is comprehensive from 1976 to the present; older materials will be added. It replaces the old Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications from 1976 to the present. Records for the U.S. government publications from 1976 to present are also included in the UC Davis Library catalog or Melvyl catalog with call no. for the UC Davis collection.

Coverage: 1976 to present; older records being added.
Tags: Government, Law, United States Of America

FDsys from the Government Printing Office provides free online access to official U.S. Federal government documents and information. GPO is the recognized authoritative source for government information and has authenticated the documents on FDsys. Search for official versions of government documents and publications, browse by title, collection, congressional committee, date, and download publications.

Regulations.gov is your source for information on the development of Federal regulations and other related documents issued by the U.S. government. Through this site, you can find, read, and comment on regulatory issues that are important to you.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service.

Related links:

4

VPN

Full-text database of US legal periodicals. Includes the following sections: Law Journal Library (Comprised of Most-Cited Law Journals, Core U.S. Law Journals and International & Non-U.S. Law Journals); Federal Register Library (1936-1989); U.S. Supreme Court Library; and Treaties and Agreements Library, the Statutes at Large (1789-), U.S. Code (1924-)

Coverage: Coverage: Volume 1- Volume preceding current year
Tags: Law

FDsys from the Government Printing Office provides free online access to official U.S. Federal government documents and information. GPO is the recognized authoritative source for government information and has authenticated the documents on FDsys. Search for official versions of government documents and publications, browse by title, collection, congressional committee, date, and download publications.

The Office of the Federal Register (OFR) began publishing the Public Papers of the Presidents series in 1957 as an official publication of United States Presidents’ public writings, addresses, and remarks. Volumes for Presidents Hoover through Clinton (excluding Roosevelt) are under this call number. Indexes for each administration issued under title: The cumulated indexes to The public papers of the Presidents of the United States.
Shields Library J80 .A2

Official White House site presents issue positions, news, Cabinet, appointments, offices and major speeches. Includes biography, video tour and photo essays.