Ruth Gustafson
Student Services
Student Services and Researcher Services Librarian
530-752-1883
UCD Library: Services & Resources for Grant-Writing
by Ruth Gustafson – September 22, 2021
UCD Library : Services & Resources for Grant-Writing
This guide notes key library services and licensed resources for your grant-writing needs in preparing your grant proposals. In addition, comprehensive directories for grant-seeking are noted.
[This resource was originally designed for the May 2021 Office of Research Grant-Writing Bootcamp – Research Development Resource Fair]
Researcher Services
The UCD Library has two major departments that support researchers who are seeking grants and writing proposals for grants.
Researcher Services, Campus-based librarians are here to help you:
- Develop new research projects
- Design rigorous literature search strategies
- Find datasets, statistics, and primary sources
- Create plans for effective data management
- Use tools for managing citations
- Maximize research impact and manage researcher online scholarly presence
Locate, contact, and Zoom with your Researcher Services librarians.
Blaisdell Medical Library, UC Davis Medical Center
Are you located at the Sacramento health system campus & looking for help? Contact bmlref@ucdavis.edu Questions your BML librarians can help you with:
- How do I improve the data management plan for your grant?
- Where can I find open health data sources related to my grant research?
- Are there technology tools available to me for my grant proposal?
- How do I ensure my grant application meets FAIR (findable, accessible, interoperable, reusable) principles for scientific data management and stewardship?
Locate, contact, and Zoom with your BML librarians at Blaisdell Medical Library.
Library Catalogs
Note that the UCD Library has many books (print or online) on proposal and grant writing as well as directories for grantseeking.
Search any of the following Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) for grant/proposal writing resources : Proposal Writing For Grants ; Proposal Writing in Medicine ; Proposal Writing in Research
Other subject headings focused instead on grant-seeking and grants management are: Research Grants – Directories or Research Grants – Handbooks or Research Grants – United States
UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog setting
Replacing UCD Library Catalog on July 27, 2021, the new UC Library Search includes all of the UC library collections. This setting is specifically for the UC Davis libraries including (for the first time) the holdings of the Law Library. If you Sign in (on top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.
NEED a PRINT ONLY ITEM AND CANNOT COME TO CAMPUS? We’ll ship it to you! The UCD Libraries have a COVID-time-only shipping service in place. Just click on the INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link from the item you need and we’ll mail the whole item to you. Make sure you have your correct address listed, when prompted. (NOTE that items located in the Shields Reference Collection are Library Use Only.)
ONLY NEED a chapter or an article from a PRINT ONLY ITEM? Scanning service opened up for all UCD. Use the same INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link but make a note of the specific chapter/article you need and include as much info as you can, especially page number, if available.
If you are in the [UCD] area and would like to return materials, you can deposit returns via the remote book drops or at Shields or Blaisdell Medical Library. Materials may also be mailed back at no cost to you. Contact shieldsinterloan@ucdavis.edu for additional instructions and to receive a postage-paid mailing label.”
OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
Grantseeking Resources
There are three principle sources for finding grants/scholarships for grantseekers:
I. UCD Library print directories/handbooks — often in Reference collections (may cover all disciplines or be discipline-based)
II. Subscriptions to services (e.g. Pivot “Community of Science”) [See next resource just below]
III. Grantseeking Web Guides [See next section below in guide]
I. PRINT LIBRARY REFERENCE RESOURCES — Shields Library Reference (All Subjects Reference Collection), 2nd floor Shields Library (Northwestern area behind Consultation/Reference desk)
Some titles are specifically for grants for individuals. The following titles are in the Reference collection so cannot be checked out but photocopies can be made from it. When in the UCD Library Catalog and bring up these records, notice all of the linkable subject headings below that may be useful to find additional print tools, such as Endowments — United States — Directories.
1) Foundation grants to individuals / Phyllis Edelson, editor. Edition 19th ed. Published [New York] : Foundation Center, c2010. Call no. Shields Library Reference LB2336 .F598 2010 Lib Use Only
Contents Introduction — Federal laws and grants to individuals — Scholarships and grants to individuals : where to find them — Glossary — Abbreviations — Resources for individual grantseekers : a bibliography — Resources of the Foundation Center — Foundation Center cooperating collections — Descriptive directory — Appendix — Indexes. Subject Endowments — United States — Directories. Learning and scholarship — United States — Directories. Student loans — United States — Directories. Endowments — Directories. Scholarships — Directories. Student loans — Directories. Charitable uses, trusts, and foundations.
2) Scholarships, grants & prizes 2020 /[Mark D. Snider, editor].. Lawrenceville, NJ : Peterson’s, c2019. Shields Library Reference LB2337.4 .P475 2020 Lib Use Only
3) Annual register of grant support. New Providence [etc.] R.R. Bowker [etc.] UCD Shields Library Reference Q180 U5 A15 2020 (latest issue) Lib Use Only
4) The Grants register. Chicago : Palgrave Macmillan, c1969- UCD Shields Library Reference LB2338 G75 latest edition 2018 [This has an European focus] Lib Use Only
NOW online for 2020 The Grants Register: the complete guide to postgraduate funding worldwide
5) Directory of financial aids for women. Santa Barbara, Calif. : Reference Service Press, 1978-. Shields Library Reference HQ1381 .S36 Current issue- 2017/2019 Lib Use Only
II. Subscriptions to services
Pivot (Previously Community of Science Pivot) ![[Restricted]](https://bigsys.lib.ucdavis.edu/img/lock.gif "Restricted to UCD Campus or VPN/Proxy Users Only")
URL: https://pivot.proquest.com/funding_main
UCD Office of Research subscribes to the licensed CoS (Community of Science) Pivot tool
Grantseeking Web Guides
Author: MSU Libraries | Michigan State University
Michigan State University Library provides an excellent guide to Granting resources. The main body of the guide leads one to a variety of categories such as: Grants and Related Resources Background Info; Researching Potential Funders; Grants for Nonprofits (By Subject Categories); Grants for Individuals (By Academic Level, Population Group, and Subject); Funding for Business or Economic Development; Federal Funding Tools and Links; and National Grant Makers.
Grant Writing Links and Resources [UC Davis]
Author: Office of the Vice Provost – Academic Affairs
The UC Davis Office of Vice Provost–Academic Affairs and Professor Suad Joseph of the Department of Anthropology and Program in Women and Gender Studies have provided this information on grantsmanship to assist UC Davis faculty with understanding the fundamental components of a proposal, networking with potential granting agencies, and learning about available resources.
Funding Opportunities [UC Davis]
Author: Office of Research
Provides categories on UCD specific funding opportunities and others as follows: Limited Submissions Program; Customize Your Funding Search; Research Funding System (Open Opportunities); Links to Funding Programs; Weekly Research Funding Updates
Candid (previously Foundation Center website)
Candid is Foundation Center and GuideStar resources merged together. Candid does have *selected* resources free on the web. You can locate foundations by state, or ranked by assets and total giving. The Foundation Center is the primary national clearinghouse on grant-making by private, charitable, community and corporate foundations.
Data Management Services
Research Data Services
Includes data discovery and selection; data extraction, formatting and visualization; and more
https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/service/research-data-services/
Data Management Plan Information
https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/guide/data-management-publishing-and-preservation/
Managing Your Data: Project Checklist
https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/guide/managing-your-data-a-project-checklist/
Subject Guides - locating subject databases
There is a library subject guide matching most research areas at UC Davis. Use these guides to determine the key subject databases for your grant’s literature searches.
This browsable list is organized by broad disciplinary categories: Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Biological Sciences, Engineering & Transportation, General & Multidisciplinary Sources, Government Information, Health Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences.
Managing Citations for Grant Reference Lists
Use the following quick guide to browse the various library webpages on citation management software.
Open Access Publications and Repositories
Your granting agency may require you to deposit an open-access preprint of your funded research or to publish in an open access publication. UCD librarians are happy to help your review your options. Here are some helpful UCD Library webpages to consult:
Provides details on Federal Public Access Policies and more.