Health Sciences Libraries: Tutorials

by Amy Studer, Bruce Abbott, Matthew Conner – September 10, 2021

Courtesy of the National Library of Medicine

This guide points to short tutorials about health sciences information resources for faculty, students, researchers, clinicians, and staff. Key databases are covered, as well as the steps necessary to access information from the UC Davis Library.

Amy Studer


Health Sciences Librarian

acstuder@ucdavis.edu

916-734-0206

In this Guide:

To access online library-licensed resources (online articles, eBooks, online databases), you may use an on-campus UC Davis networked computer or UC Davis authenticated wifi network (not a guest wifi network), without any additional authentication required.

For off-campus access, or guest access while on-campus, you must have the Library VPN app (Pulse Secure) correctly installed and configured on your computer or mobile device (one-time set-up). Then, prior to each library resources session, you must log onto Pulse Secure using your UC Davis Kerberos credentials.

Members of the UC Davis Health community may have additional off-campus access options.

Complete instructions & download information

Help! I’ve tried and it is not working

Note: As of September 2021, a single sign-in option (Shibboleth) for off-campus access is available for selected content vendors. Additional information

UCDH offers alternative methods of access to library resources. In our experience, some of the UCDH technology environments work better than others for accessing library resources. Here are some of the options with our recommendations.

VPN/client nameRecommended for access to library resourcesLogin credentialsComments & more information
Library VPN (Pulse Secure)YesUCD CAS (Kerberos)https://www.library.ucdavis.edu/service/connect-from-off-campus
UCDH Guest Wifi
UCD Guest Wireless
NoNoneFor access to library-licensed resources, must use in combination with the Library VPN (Pulse Secure)
UCDH Prod WifiYesUCDH CitrixOnsite at UCDH only
UCDH VPN (Cisco AnyConnect)YesUCDH Citrixhttps://health.ucdavis.edu/remoteaccess/downloadclient.html
UCDH Citrix Application or health system terminalNoUCDH CitrixUse to access EMR, "The Insider", or UCDH Intranet

If no other option is available, access using IE11 provides a slightly improved user experience

https://health.ucdavis.edu/remoteaccess/downloadclient.html
UC Davis VPNNoUCD CAS (Kerberos)
UC Davis EduroamYesUCD CAS (Kerberos)Wireless access for UCD main campus -- not available at UCDH

https://itcatalog.ucdavis.edu/service/eduroam

 

View the 7-minute video orientation to Blaisdell Medical Library:

Finding Full-Text Articles in PubMed

To maximize the discovery of library-licensed full-text articles in PubMed, navigate into PubMed using a special link that is enabled for “Get it at UC”. Note: you can bookmark it!

Image of the "Get it at UC" link button

A Google search for PubMed will not lead you to this special link; however, it is available on the UC Davis Library website and the Clinical Resources Center.

“Get it at UC” gives you more options for navigating to library-licensed full-text articles. For those articles that are not immediately available, “Get it at UC” leads you to an easy interlibrary loan request feature.

 


New PubMed User Guide 

 

New PubMed Essentials: Quick Tours

These brief interactive tutorials from the National Library of Medicine [NLM] provide an introduction to PubMed using the new PubMed interface (launched in 2020).

What is in PubMed? 3 min(s)
PubMed: Find articles on a topic 1 min(s)
PubMed subject search: How it works 4 min(s)
PubMed: Using the advanced search builder 3 min(s)
PubMed: Find articles by author 2 min(s)
PubMed: Find articles from a citation 2 min(s)
PubMed: Find articles by journal 2 min(s)
PubMed: Find the latest treatments for a disease or disorder 2 min(s)
PubMed: Get the full text for an article 2 min(s)
PubMed: Save searches and set e-mail alerts 2 min(s)

Setting Up Custom PubMed Filters

A more advanced tutorial from Bruce Abbott, one of UC Davis’s own medical librarians, on how to customize PubMed for your use.

Video Link

 

 

APA PsycINFO [ProQuest LibGuides]

How do I export all my search results in ProQuest (up to 10,000)?  Instructions are applicable to PsycINFO, even though the demo database is MEDLINE hosted by ProQuest.

The Cochrane Library Training Hub offers publisher-created (Wiley) user guides, quick training videos, and webinars. In some cases, free registration is required.

 

Introduction to Searching – 2:39 min

Refining Research Results – 3:29 min

Selecting & Exporting – 3:08 min

A 21 page CAB Direct Quick Guide and numerous other guides and tutorials are available on CABI’s website under Product Training.

Introduction to Searching – 2:37 min

Refining Research Results – 3:29 min

Selecting & Exporting – 3:08 min

Additional tutorial videos can be found on CABI’s website under Product Training, Global Health on CAB Direct.

Navigating the Homepage – 2:46 min

Smart Searches – 1:50 min

A 24 page VetMed Resource User Guide is available, as are additional resources, from VetMed Resource Help.

Scopus Tutorials and Training materials can be found by clicking on the question mark (?) icon in the Scopus Database.

In addition, there are short videos on a variety of topics posted on the YouTube Channel for Scopus training videos.

Web of Science You-Tube Channel

 

Web of Science — Advanced Search Video [~ 6 minutes]


Additional tutorial videos on search tips, exporting records and more can be found on the Web of Knowledge Training Site.

There are quite a few citation management tools available.

This handout provides an overview for three of the more common software programs — EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero — including links to tutorials and downloads.

EndNote

For information about the current status of the UC Davis EndNote software site license:

  1. Go to https://software.ucdavis.edu.
  2. Sign in using your UCD Kerberos account.
  3. Once logged in, search “EndNote” in the search box.

For additional questions about the UC Davis EndNote software site license, please contact the IT person for your Department.

Clarivate Analytics provides extensive resources about how to use EndNote software, including videos and written instructions. View a selection of beginning EndNote videos below.

The UC Davis Library also provides EndNote support documentation, especially related to using the software at UC Davis — On the library homepage, use the library search tool to perform a site search on “EndNote”. Content will be found in Guides and Pages.

UC Davis Library EndNote Guide: Provides tips on how to:

    1. Set EndNote preferences;
    2. Export a citation from Google Scholar; and,
    3. Partially automate retrieval of full-text article pdfs with the EndNote Find Full-Text feature. Requires one-time configuration step; then requires logging onto the Library VPN (Pulse Secure) prior to each session for remote access.

OpenURL_path: https://search.library.ucdavis.edu/openurl/01UCD_INST/01UCD_INST:UCD?


EndNote x8 Online Guide (PDF)

More EndNote Basic training 


How to Use EndNote in 6 minutes (Mac)


How to Use EndNote in 5 Minutes: Windows


EndNote x8 on Windows: The Short Course


EndNote x8 on Macintosh: The Short Course

Google Scholar


Activate “Get it at UC” in Google Scholar:

Get it at UC button

Allows you to access the full-text journal articles that are subscribed to by California Digital Library and UC Davis.    

  1. On the Google Scholar homepage
  2. Click on the SETTINGS link.
  3. Click on LIBRARY LINKS (left toolbar)
  4. Check  OpenWorldCat – Library Search
  5. Search for University of California, Davis
  6. Check  University of California, Davis — Get it at UC
  7. Click SAVE

Now when you search in Google Scholar, you should see Get it at UC buttons on the right side of your search results. Click on these to navigate to the full-text article or the article ordering form.


Researching WriteLikeProfessor

James Carey, UC Davis

at 1:57min – Google Scholar


Google Search: Beyond the ordinary

Dan Russell, Google

 


Print resources


 

Using Google Scholar and other Google resources for education

Daniel Russell, Google