Health Sciences Libraries Favorites
More than 28 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform.
This catalog allows one to search and explore the UC Davis Library collections. It contains records describing our extensive print and electronic holdings, and can be used (in Browse mode) as an inventory list of what we own or to what we provide access. Note: While our Journal collection is listed here, the articles in our journals are not listed.
References and abstracts on nursing, biomedical, allied health and consumer health literature. Also includes health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based care sheets. Full text is provided for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. Includes PreCINAHL as a companion database.
Citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 11.6 million records as of 08/10/2016.
Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research and conference abstracts.Embase contains over 22 million records spanning 1974-present, with over 1 million records added annually. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms, and codes; and 80% of all citations in Embase include author-written abstracts. The Embase journal collection is international with over 7,500 active peer-reviewed journals more than 90 countries. All MEDLINE records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well as over 5 million records not covered in MEDLINE. Broad biomedical scope covering the following areas:
- Drug therapy and research, including pharmaceutics, pharmacology and toxicology
- Clinical and experimental (human) medicine
- Basic biological science relevant to human medicine
- Biotechnology and biomedical engineering, including medical devices
- Health policy and management, including pharmacoeconomics
- Public, occupational and environmental health, including pollution control
- Veterinary science, dentistry, and nursing
- Psychiatry and mental health, including substance dependence and abuse
- Forensic science
- Alternative and complementary medicine
Large interdisciplinary abstract and citiation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.
BrowZine Journal Engagement Platform is a web-based platform and mobile app that enables users to quickly find, easily follow, and directly access the library’s licensed e-journals on any device.Download BrowZine mobile app
BrowZine visually presents the library’s e-journals in a browsable and readable format with seamless synchronization across devices. Includes a My Bookshelf feature which enables users to add their favorite titles and receive notification of newly published articles (including articles in press). Articles can be saved to My Articles for reading and referencing later.
For expert advice on designing search strategies and publication data management, contact a health sciences librarian.