CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

 

Welcome to Health Statistics Research Guide

The Health Statistics Guide provides links to national as well as international health data on health care, diseases and statistical resources of interest to health professionals.

Bruce Abbott


Nursing, Blaisdell Medical Library

btabbott@ucdavis.edu

916-734-3529

In this Guide:

Best Places To Start


FedStats
A well-organized site for statistical information available from more than 100 U.S. government agency web sites. Statistics can be searched by keyword or browsed by topic or agency.


Kids Count Data Center

 

Annie E. Casey Foundation: Kids Count Data Center

Kids Count Data: By State

Kids Count Data Across State: Rankings, Maps, or Trend Graphs by Topic

 

 

 


Databases

MEDLINE/PubMed
MeSH Terms:

  • Biostatistics
  • “Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (U.S.)”
  • “National Center for Health Statistics (U.S.)”
  • Statistics as Topic
  • Statistics, Nonparametric
  • Vital Statistics
  • “statistics and numerical data”[MeSH Subheading]
  • Incidence
  • Epidemiology
  • Utilization[MeSH Subheading]

Search in Databases A-Z:


Statistics Tutorials


CDC Data & Statistics
CDC’s A-Z list of statistics


Health Maps



General Directories of Statistical Resources


Wolfram|Alpha





CDC Map: Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASDs)



Binge Drinking – CDC TV

Source: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP)
Running Time: (4:23) Release Date: 04/13/2010

 

 

 




Adolescent Health Statistics





Expenditures



Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)

 


 

CDC: National Conversation on Public Health and Chemical Exposures
The goal of this initiative was to develop an Action Agenda with clear, achievable recommendations to help government agencies and other organizations strengthen their efforts to protect the public from harmful chemical exposures.

 


Animal Environmental Health

Canary Database: Yale University Occupational and Environmental Medicine
Yale University Occupational and Environmental Medicine select, curate, and index 1000s of scientific studies from MEDLINE, CAB Abstracts, and Agricola. Users can review the evidence of animals as “early warning” sentinels of human health hazards.

 





Health Disparities Populations


Diverse Populations & Health Websites

  • Healthy People 2020
    Healthy People 2020 challenges individuals, communities, and professionals—indeed, all of us— to take specific steps to ensure that good health, as well as long life, are enjoyed by all.
  • Health Disparities & Minority Health Information Resources
    MEDLINE/PubMed Search and Health Disparities & Minority Health Information Resources
  • Medline Plus: Population Groups
    Locate trusted health information provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health about a variety of population groups.
  • Women’s Health: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services
    Locate information on the federal governments source for women’s health.
  • Minority Women’s Health: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services
    This is the federal governments source for minority women’s health information.
  • Office of Minority Health: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services
    The mission of the Office of Minority Health (OMH) is to improve and protect the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs.
  • National Institutes of Health: Minority Health
    The National Institutes of Health provides information on a select group of minorities.
  • U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
    Find information regarding various populations and their health from the U.S. Department of health and Human Services.
  • Center for Cross-Cultural Research
    The Center for Cross-Cultural Psychology was established for the scientific study of and education about cultural influences on human psychological functioning. Culture is broadly taken to mean shared meanings and understanding (e.g., values, norms, attitudes) held by group members.
  • Intute: Health and Life Sciences – Nursing
    Formerly known as NMAP, Intute offers access to a variety of credible web resources for nursing, midwifery, and allied health. One may search MeSH headings as well as RCN headings. One can also search for information on Medicine, Bioresearch, the History and Medicine and other Life Science related topics.
  • Cross Cultural Health Care Program (CCHP)
    Recognizing the diversity and the different ways to health, the mission of the Cross Cultural Health Care Program is to serve as a bridge between communities and health care institutions to ensure full access to quality health care that is culturally and linguistically appropriate.
  • Transcultural C.A.R.E. Associates
    Transcultural C.A.R.E. Associates is a private organization providing keynote presentations, workshops, seminars, consultations, and training focusing on clinical, administrative, research and education.
  • Association of Clinicians for the Underserved
    ACU is a nonprofit, transdisciplinary organization of clinicians, advocates, and health care organizations united in a common mission to improve the health of America’s underserved populations and to enhance the development and support of the health care clinicians serving these populations.

Health Disparities Data

Best Places to Start


Affordable Care Act


 

 

 











Best Places to Start


CDC: AIDS Dot Map

CDC: AIDS Rates Maps


Local Statistics


International: HIV/AIDS

Best Places to Start


Hospital Information: Maps


Best Places to Start


World Health Organization (WHO) Statistics



Best Places to Start


World Health Organization (WHO)



World Bank DataFinder Mobile Apps 

The new DataFinder app highlights the progress that’s been made at the Bank since the Open Data Initiative was launched in April 2010. For the first time, the Bank’s data are available to users on any of the three major mobile platforms – and in four languages with the following features:

  • Charts and Maps: visually compare countries and indicators
  • Advanced Queries: create, edit and save custom tables
  • Social: share what you create on Twitter and Facebook
  • Current data: pull directly from the World Bank API
  • Multilingual: works in English, French, Spanish, Chinese
  • Cross platform: available on Android, Blackberry, iPhone and iPad

Best Places to Start


European Health Statistics



Datasets, mapping apps, and visualization apps

  • California Health and Human Services Open Data Portal
  • Chronic Disease GIS Exchange (CDC)
    The Chronic Disease GIS exchange is an on-line forum for public health professionals and community leaders to learn and share techniques for using GIS to enhance chronic disease prevention and treatment.
  • Data-Planet statistical datasets
    Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository. Data-Planet Statistical Datasets offers powerful capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views.
  • Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
    Documents variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States, using Medicare data.
  • Diabetes Map
    Interactive maps with global, country, and regional data from the International Diabetes Foundation
  • Eurostat Database
    Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
  • Global Open Data Index
    The Global Open Data Index, an initiative of Open Knowledge International, is at once an index of government open data and an assessment of these indexes
  • Google Dataset Search                                                                                 Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across thousands of repositories on the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful.
  • Google Public Data Explorer
    Makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize, and communicate. As charts and maps animate over time, the changes in the world become easier to understand.
  • HealthMap: Global Disease Alert Map
    Compiles data sources on the current global state of infectious diseases and their effects on human and animal health.
  • Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) Data Visualizations
    Free and easily accessible data provided in innovative ways to visualize complex health issues in the U.S. and abroad.
  • Interactive Atlas of Heart Disease and Stroke (CDC)
  • USDA Food Environment Atlas
  • World Mapper
    A collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest.

Best Places to Start


Kids Count Data Center

 

Annie E. Casey Foundation: Kids Count Data Center

Children and teens not exercising regularly (Percent) – 2011/2012

Children and teens overweight or obese by gender

 

 

 






Best Places to Start




Best Places to Start


FedStats
A well-organized site for statistical information available from more than 100 U.S. government agency web sites. Statistics can be searched by keyword or browsed by topic or agency.



Gender/Ethnic: Health Statistics


CDC FastStats: State and Territorial Data Map




CDC: Travelers’ Health

CDC: Travelers’ Health


ANIMAL HEALTH STATISTICS

Data and Statistics | USDA
Data from ERS, FAS, NASS and WAOB
Food, Agriculture, and Rural Community
Data and statistics on investment and policy strategies related to agricultural production, global food security, poverty, nutrition and human health, natural resources and environmental issues, rural development, local and regional food systems and many other issues.
USDA Animal Health Resources
Statistics and information on animal diseases; animal well-being and stress management; veterinary biologics; animal health research; and bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE).
USDA Open Data Catalog
This catalog is the authoritative source of publicly available USDA data
World Animal Health Information Database (WAHID)
The WAHID Interface is maintained by the OIE (World Organization for Animal Health) and includes data from select countries on disease mapping, veterinarian demographics, animal populations and vaccination figures

.
DEMOGRAPHIC STATISTICS 
.
AVMA Market Research Statistics
American Veterinary Medical Association compiles reports and online statistics on veterinary compensation, pet ownership and demographics, business practices and more.
CVMA Veterinary Demographics (Canada)
Canada Veterinary Medical Association
USDA Animal Production Resources
Statistics and information on range and grassland management; beef, dairy, poultry and pork resources; alternative livestock; animal identification; and animal production research and reports.

.

GENERAL STATISTICS SITES

Data.gov
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
FedStats
Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

.

BOOKS AT CARLSON HEALTH SCIENCES LIBRARY

American Veterinary Medical Association. (2012).
U.S. pet ownership & demographics sourcebook. (2012 ed.).
Schaumburg, Ill.: American Veterinary Medical Association.
Carlson Health Sci Library General Collection SF 411.36.U6 U2 2012

American Animal Hospital Association, issuing body. (2015).
Veterinary fee reference : Vital statistics for your veterinary practice.
(Ninth ed., Vital statistics for your veterinary practice).
Carlson Health Sci Library General Collection   SF 756.4 V5848 2015

Petrie, A., & Watson, P. (2006).
Statistics for veterinary and animal science (2nd ed.).
Oxford ; Ames, Iowa: Blackwell Pub.
Carlson Health Sci Library General Collection SF 760.S73 P48 2006

Sahu, P. (2016).
Applied Statistics for Agriculture, Veterinary, Fishery, Dairy and Allied Fields.
http://dx.doi.org/10.1007/978-81-322-2831-8

American Veterinary Medical Association. (2011).
AVMA report on veterinary practice business measures (2011 ed.).
Schaumburg, Ill.: American Veterinary Medical Association.
Carlson Health Sci Library General Collection   SF 756.47 E25 2011

American Veterinary Medical Association. (2011).
AVMA report on veterinary compensation (2011 ed.).
Schaumburg, Ill.: American Veterinary Medical Association.
Carlson Health Sci Library General Collection   SF 756.47 A86 2011

American Veterinary Medical Association. Membership Field Services Division. (2005).
Economic report on veterinarians & veterinary practices (2005 ed.).
Schaumburg, Ill.: American Veterinary Medical Association.
Carlson Health Sci Library General Collection   SF 756.47 E25 2005

American Veterinary Medical Association. Division of Membership Field Services. Statistical Research Group. (1999).
Veterinary Demographic Data Reports.
Carlson Health Sci Library General Collection   SF756.47 V472

American Veterinary Medical Association. Center for Information Management. (1996).
Veterinary Demographic Annual Reports.
Carlson Health Sci Library General Collection   SF756.47 V472