Need help accessing an Elsevier journal article?

Click here

Resources listed here are in English or other Western languages.  For resources in Chinese, Japanese or Korean use the East Asian Studies, Languages and Cultures Guide.

Daniel Goldstein

Research Support
Subject Specialist Librarian

dgoldstein@ucdavis.edu

530-752-2040

In this Guide:

Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.

Coverage: 1967-present
Tags: Asia, History, Latin America

The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies contains more than 800,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide beginning in 1971 to present.

Coverage: 1971-present, depending upon the subfile.
Tags: Asia, Literature, Multidisciplinary

The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

Coverage: 1906-current
Tags: History, Islam, Religion

“Oxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies provides an authoritative guide to the key works across the whole field, pointing researchers and practitioners at all levels to the most important scholarship in European languages as well as in Chinese (and Japanese), and giving scholars working in other fields easier access to scholarship on China.”

Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes

“With approximately 300 million adherents around the globe today, Buddhism is one of the largest world religions. The study of Buddhism is a diverse field which combines religion, philosophy, history, art history, philology and textual studies, as well as informing a variety of comparative studies. Besides its interdisciplinary nature, Buddhist traditions vary enormously throughout the world. Because the field comprises so many varied aspects, research and scholarship is wide-reaching in its response to new discoveries, interpretations, and theoretical ideas. . . . Oxford Bibliographies in Buddhism offers a much-needed expert filter that relies on expertise that no algorithm can replicate.”

 

Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes

“As one of the world’s largest religions, Hinduism has become an increasingly important area of study today. Hinduism is related to all the major continuing and connected religions of India. About 80 per cent of India’s massive population regard themselves as Hindu, and there are approximately 30 million Hindus outside of India. The study of Hinduism is diverse—it combines religion, philosophy, history, and textual studies, as well as informing a variety of comparative studies. Because the field comprises so many varied aspects, research and scholarship is wide-reaching in its response to different interpretations. . . . students and researchers alike can rely on Oxford Bibliographies in Hinduism to offer a reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field.”

Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes.

“The field of Islamic Studies is both wide-reaching and dynamic. It includes the range of foundational documents, traditions, institutions, and history of Muslims in various countries and regions throughout the world from the origins of Islam to the present day. This interdisciplinary field therefore includes history, religion, philosophy, anthropology, Arabic language and literature, as well as literatures in other languages including Persian, Turkish, and Urdu, and remains responsive to new discoveries, interpretations, ideologies and theories. . . . Top scholars in the field have contributed on their areas of expertise, so that users will understand how the field is organized and why it developed in the way it did. The articles present a guided tour through the key literature on each topic, providing context for its development, and a balanced overview of the major issues within a given topic.”

All Asia

This full-text primary source collection includes materials on the international relations between Asian countries and the United States and Britain during the 19th century. It contains government reports, diplomatic correspondence, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, NGO papers, and more. Documents are sourced from The National Archives, Kew; The National Archives, United States; and other collections. Most of the collection focuses on China and Japan, but significant material addresses Siam, Korea, the Philippines, Sumatra and Vietnam as well.

NOTE: The link takes you to a gateway site. Select this collection from the options at that site.

From 1935-1967, Time Inc. offered Americans views of significant historical events in their newsreel series The March of Time. Several hundred of these newsreels can be searched and viewed as streaming videos. Transcripts of these commercial, documentary, instructional and public service videos accompany the films. In support of research and teaching, the resource enables users to create, edit, and share playlists or film clips.

Coverage: 1903 - 1967
Tags: Film, History, United States Of America

“Presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land.” Documents “are in a range of languages including French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English. Supporting the manuscripts are relevant secondary texts of translations and editions, as well as full catalogue details.”

This is a full-text collection of the publications of the British philanthropic institutions, the Church Missionary Society and the South American Missionary Society from 1804-2009. Documenting missionary work from the 19th to the 21st century, the periodicals include news, journals and reports offering a unique perspective on global history and cultural encounter. The CMS was active in many African countries, the “Mediterranean, the Middle East, Asia, Oceania and the Americas.

Coverage: 1804-2009
Tags: History, Religion

This collection documents the broad range of nineteenth century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States by reproducing pivotal personal narratives, organizational records and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries and churches.

Empire Online contains several thousand searchable scanned images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. Includes documents from English, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and that from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. Sections also include thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.

Coverage: 1492-present
Tags: Empires, History
Related links: Help using this database

“The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth from 1450-1914.”


South Asia

Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Tags: News

“The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users” It includes books, journals, maps, photographs, statistics and much more.

Tags: Asia, Politics

East Asia

Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines, on topics such as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform, were produced by both Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters. Mostly in Chinese, but SOME PAMPHLETS ARE TRANSLATED INTO ENGLISH.

Tags: China, History

A full-text collection containing “an extensive range of archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. [It includes] Manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps”