Subject Specialist Librarian
This guide contains resources that focus exclusively on archival research. It should be used in conjunction with other HISTORY SUBJECT GUIDES where additional archive-related resources and full-text collections may be found.
The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. It includes searchable finding aids for collections held in these institutions as well as a large selection of scanned images and documents from these collections.
ArchiveGrid is a database designed specifically for locating archival collections held in libraries, museums and other institutions. It combines all the archival records in WorldCat with others pulled from various archives Web sites. Included are all of the item records added to the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) after 1987, as well as many records from earlier years. (NUCMC includes records added before 1987, especially of smaller archives, that are not found in ArchiveGrid.)
“The Archives Portal Europe provides access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent.”
“The Archives Hub enables you to search across descriptions of archives held at over 250 institutions across the UK. “
This is a good starting place when you want to identify European Archives of interest for your research.
This page provides a list of links to international archives with moving image collections.