by Daniel Goldstein — May 10, 2018
by Daniel Goldstein — May 10, 2018

Daniel Goldstein

Research Support
Subject Specialist Librarian

dgoldstein@ucdavis.edu

530-752-2040

In this Guide:

Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.

Coverage: 1967-present
Tags: Asia, History, Latin America

Bibliography consisting of works selected and annotated by Latin American area studies specialists. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion.

Coverage: 1936-
Tags: History, Latin America, Politics

Compiled by noted Latin American scholars, this set of area studies bibliographies represents numerous disciplinary perspectives, including history, sociology, economics, literature, art, anthropology, and political science. Sample topics range from indigenous studies and the Conquest and colonial history and society, to race, immigration, the role of women, significant political events and cultural studies in contemporary Latin America. New bibliographies are scheduled to be added in each Fall and Spring.

 

“The scholarly study of children and young people is a relatively new multidisciplinary effort that spans multiple epistemologies and methodologies, making it challenging for students and scholars to stay informed. From psychology to labor rights, from ethics to education, Childhood Studies is one of the most active fields in academia today. It encompasses the meanings that adults place on children’s innocence or competence, and interrogates the notion of childhood as a social category. . . .   Researchers and practitioners at all levels need tools that help them filter through the proliferation of information sources to material that is reliable and directly relevant to their inquiries. Oxford Bibliographies in Childhood Studies will offer a trustworthy pathway through the thicket of information overload.”

“The study of military history has evolved into a multidisciplinary effort to go beyond the history of military operations to consider broader political, cultural, and social questions. It spans across several disciplines and genres, including sociology and political science, biography, war and battle narratives, the history of technology, foreign affairs and international relations, and various national histories. From ancient military history to contemporary studies of international conflict, a great deal of this work has moved online with the most recent scholarship, research, and statistics appearing in online databases and often only discoverable through online search tools. . . . Oxford Bibliographies in Military History will offer a trustworthy pathway through the thicket of information overload.”

This extensive annotated bibliography focuses on the “interactions between different peoples and cultures on four continents and many islands in the period between Columbus’ voyages to the New World in the late fifteenth century and the end of slavery in the Americas in the late nineteenth century.”

It consists of roughly 250 separate entries, presenting the best in modern scholarship as well as key primary sources. Entries can be geographical (Brazil, the Caribbean), or broadly or narrowly topical (Religion, Sugar).

 

The database includes the full-text content from 24 historic and influential newspapers published in Mexico, Peru, Brazil, Argentina and other Latin American countries. Publication dates range from 1845 to 1922.

This multidisciplinary resource brings together primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean. Digitized content of academic journals and news feeds, reference articles and commentary, manuscripts, ephemera, maps and statistics, and multimedia support research on regional topics ranging from the colonial period to the 20th century.

Coverage: 15th - 20th centuries
Tags: Carribean, Latin America, Multidisciplinary

This full-text collection comprises “the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices” of Great Britain pertaining to Central and South America and the French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean from 1833-1969. The documents range “from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties” and cover a vast array of topics.

The Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 (BETA) presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture published and digitized by Arte Público Press, the oldest and largest publisher of U.S. Hispanic literature in the U.S., covering geographically the fifty states of the Union. The premier collection documents intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized Hispanics from the earliest moments of this country’s history through contemporary times. Currently, the collections comprises approximately 60,000 historical articles, hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. The content is 80% Spanish and 20% English.

Coverage: 19th Century - 20th Century
Tags: Borderland Studies, Chicana/chicano Studies, Cultural Studies, Latina/latino Studies

The collection contains 300 plays and more than 100,000 pages of poetry and prose written by Latin American women authors from 19 countries. Spanning a period from the colonial era to the present day, the literary works, memoirs, feminist essays, and other materials are available full-text in their original language.

HOSLAC is a free database of 200+ primary sources (mostly images) on the history of science in Latin America and the Caribbean. Each image is accompanied by a brief essay that places it in its historical context. Thematic groups of images are also introduced by essays. HOSLAC was produced at the University of New Hampshire with funding from the NSF.

Coverage: Pre-Columbian to the present
Tags: Carribean, History, Latin America, Science

“Executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil’s national government between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available to the end of the first Republic in 1930.”