by Daniel Goldstein — January 11, 2019
by Daniel Goldstein — January 11, 2019

This guide contains resources that focus exclusively on women’s history.  It should be used in conjunction with other HISTORY SUBJECT GUIDES and the WOMEN & GENDER STUDIES SUBJECT GUIDE where many other relevant resources may be found.

Daniel Goldstein

Research Support
Subject Specialist Librarian

dgoldstein@ucdavis.edu

530-752-2040

In this Guide:

An interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women’s Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), and several major bibliographies.

Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
Tags: Women, Women's Studies

This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.

This database includes searchable full text historical documents, a number of document projects based around key questions, teaching tools, plus book, film and website reviews.

Viva indexes articles from 180 historical and women’s studies journals. Articles are in English, French, German, Dutch, Scandinavian languages, and, occasionally Spanish.

“This digital archive includes 150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women’s organizations, publications and web pages of women’s non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century.

It also includes photographs and videos of major events and activists in the history of women’s international social movements. Finally, we have commissioned from leading contemporary scholars 30 essays exploring themes illuminated by the primary documents in the archive.”

Women and social movements in modern empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women’s Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications. Identifying relevant works in this mass of material is further complicated by the interdisciplinary nature of much of the scholarship. In order to help researchers find current articles and essays quickly and easily, librarians and scholars began compiling the Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index in July 1996. Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies.

A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.

A searchable, full-text collection of books and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women’s rights. The texts, collected between the late 1800s and 1945 are in fifteen different languages and cover four centuries

Coverage: 1543-1945
Tags: History, Women

This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.

Includes the full text of diaries and letters of more than 100 women from the 18th and 19th centuries, with biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography on women’s narratives.

Coverage: 1675-1950
Tags: History, United States Of America, Women's Studies

This is a searchable, full-text collection of 5 leading American women’s magazines. Better Homes and Gardens; Chatelaine; Good Housekeeping; Ladies’ Home Journal; and Parents Magazine.

Coverage: 1887-2005
Tags: Women, Women's Studies

The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. Search by advertisement, article, editor, and more or browse each issue by date.

Coverage: 1892 to present
Tags: Fashion

Provides free access to over 3000 digitized books,pamphlets and magazines as well as archival and manuscript material including institutional records and personal diaries. All the material pertains to women in the U.S. economy from 1870-1930.