Ruth Gustafson
Student Services
Student Services and Researcher Services Librarian
530-752-1883
Information Resources for PBI 298, Plant Natural Products
by Ruth Gustafson – August 4, 2021
COVID-19 Related Library Updates
Find the latest information about library resources and services during the COVID-19 response.
Adapting to Elsevier License Expiration
Learn what you can access through the library, and other channels.
Connect to UCD Library resources from your own computer or from off-campus
Your Librarian contact is listed on this guide. To select an appointment, see this online listing to book a Zoom Appointment with Ruth
Take Notes
Document your search process, so you can easily update and build upon it. This useful template for note taking was developed by Carrol Community College.
Manage Citations
Software to organize and automatically reformat your bibliographies. Compare popular citation management products: EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero, and F1000
- Reduce bias in research and publishing by documenting your research plan in advance of your study and submitting it to a registry. Over 240 journals will peer review and provisionally accept your plan before you begin data collection, so your study’s publication doesn’t hinge upon the results.
- Pre-registration templates are also a useful process tool to help you document your research well.
- Raise the Visibility of Author Contributions through the Contributor Roles Taxonomy (CRediT)
Funding for Open Access Publishing
Access up to $1,000 per article from the UCD Library toward publishing fees in fully open access journals.
Find Ebooks, Dissertations, etc.
A new guide to finding electronic books within, and beyond, the UCD Library’s collection.
*Note: Access to electronic books is campus specific. Use the UC Davis library catalog, or E-book collections in the Databases list, to find and access books through the UC Davis Library.
Tips
- Select “Library Catalog Only” to exclude articles from the search (e.g. if you want to find books, not reviews of those books).
- Show only E-books by selecting the “Full Text Online” filter to the right of results list.
- Browse Subject Headings, or search within the full text in Google Books (access to copyrighted materials is restricted, so use the book citation to find the book in a Library catalog).
Dissertations and Theses
Library Home > Databases > Search for “Dissertation” > Proquest Dissertations & Theses
This proprietary database helps you locate dissertations published since 1861 (theses began to be added later), which are usually only held at the institution where the degree was conferred. Sometimes, hard copies are available for interlibrary loan. A digital copy of works published after 1997 is available for purchase (you can suggest the library acquire it for our collection), or for free if the home institution is a UC campus.
Key Reference Works
Ex.
Comprehensive Natural Products Chemistry [print only]
Find Articles and Other Key Resources
Full List of UCDL Subject Guides (accessible from the Library homepage)
Biological and Agricultural Engineering Subject Guide
Agricultural Economics Subject Guide
Food Science and Nutrition Subject Guide
Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory
Expand your search from a key journal to many resources with related content, search for the journal name in Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory and look at the Abstracting and Indexing field (see below) to learn which databases include your journal of interest. The list of databases is not directly linked from there; you will need to search for the database in a library Subject Guide or the Database List. You will quickly come to recognize key databases the UCD Library provides access to, and are always welcome to ask a librarian for help at this step. 
UCD E-Links and Interlibrary Loan
Most literature databases provide a description of articles, or other literature resources, that allows you to find them among thousands of sources. However, there is often another step required to access a full text copy. This extra step is facilitated through the UCD E-links button, found on the item record.
Not all articles will be accessible directly from a database, as UCD E-links can only connect you to material licensed or owned by the library. However, we can borrow material from other libraries, if you put in an Interlibrary Loan request.
Watch how to make an Interlibrary Loan request for articles not available in the library collection.
Google Scholar and Library Licensed Material
You can access library licensed articles directly in Google Scholar if you configure your Google Scholar settings to work with our library subscriptions.
Open your Google Scholar settings, and choose “Library Links” from the menu bar.
Search for and select the following:
California Digital Library – Select California Digital Library – UC-eLinks
University of California, Davis– Select UCD-eLinks
You should see the following:
Find Economic and Yield Data
Global agricultural statistics (FAOStat)
Agricultural production data from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Example: Data > Producer Prices > [choose a crop, year, country]
International Network of Food Data Systems (INFOODS)
Composition data for foods.
Example: Tables and Databases > [choose a user guide to view contents]
US National Agricultural Statistics Service
The NASS Quick Stats Database is the most comprehensive tool for accessing agricultural data published by NASS. It allows you to customize your query by commodity, location, or time period.
Example: survey > crops > field crops > hops
Industry Groups
Industry groups often collect or repackage production and price data relevant to their membership. For example, the California Strawberry Commission releases various reports on the current and historical status of the strawberry market in the U.S., derived from both public and private data sources.
Find more resources in the Agricultural Statistics Research Guide
Find Archival Information
UC Davis Library Special Collections
Here is a list highlighting some archival collections relevant to the plant sciences.
Additional examples:
Wild and domesticated species of plants and animals
University of California Genetic Resources Conservation Program records
Cacao
Basil George David Bartley papers, 1856-2007, bulk 1957-1999
Musk Melons
Oil crops
Grapes
The OAC is a website that provides free public access to detailed descriptions [and in some cases digital copies] of primary source collections (artwork, manuscripts, papers, historic photographs, and so on) maintained by more than 200 libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California — including collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
ArchiveGrid provides descriptions of documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives. The majority of the records are from US institutions, and were harvested from the most comprehensive shared library catalog available to us, WorldCat.
Ex. search for Plant Breeding
Find Genetic Resources and Background Information
**The following lists are examples of each kind of source, and are by no means exhaustive.**
Find descriptions, parentage, and Trademark names of crops
Lists
Published descriptions
Search within “Register of New Fruit and Nut Cultivars” in the journal Hortscience.
library.ucdavis.edu > Journals A-Z > Hortscience > Search Within Journal
Government and international sources of germplasm and descriptions
Genetic Resources Information Network (USDA)
ICARDA: International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas
Find other entities with Library of Congress Subject Headings:
Germplasm Repositories at UC Davis
C.M. Rick Tomato Genetic Resources Center
Phaff Yeast Culture Collection
Community Sources