The basic principle underlying the organization of any library is the imperative to describe the documents it contains so that they may be located.  All libraries create sets of records which describe the documents in their collections.  Catalogs are sets of records to documents that share a location.  Indexes are sets of records to documents that share some other attribute (generally subject matter). Below are the most comprehensive and significant article indexing (and corpus) databases for international Italian Studies scholarship.

Adam Siegel

Research Support Services
Librarian

apsiegel@ucdavis.edu

530-754-6828

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.

Coverage: 1926-present
Tags: Language, Literature

This database is the combined archive  of two bibliographic indexes, Pascal and Francis. They provide multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.  It was produced and is now hosted as an open access resource by the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.

Coverage: 1972-2015

BASE is one of the world’s most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

BANCHE DATI DI PERIODICI DISPONIBILI ON LINE–This is an Italian language list of and links to (mostly)European journal and newspaper collections digitized by libraries and other institutions. It is especially useful for Italian publications.

This e-book repository includes digital copies of out-of-copyright editions of works by many Italian authors, and makes them available for free download. It also chairs a nominal fee for access to in-copyright materials.

The basic principle underlying the organization of any library is to describe the documents it contains so that they may be located.  All libraries create sets of records which describe…

Read More

UC Davis Library Catalog

Browse “Library Search”

UC Davis Mabie Law Library Catalog

Melvyl (UC System) Library Catalog

WorldCat (via FirstSearch) [via VPN]

Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog (European Libraries)

“Library Search”