The basic principle underlying the organization of any library is to describe the documents it contains so that they may be located.  All libraries create sets of records which describe the documents in their collections.  Catalogs are sets of records to documents that share a location.  Indexes are sets of records to documents that share some other attribute (generally subject matter).  Below are among the most comprehensive and significant indexing databases for legal literature and scholarship.  Further guidance may be found at the Mabie Law Library.

Adam Siegel

Research Support Services
Librarian

apsiegel@ucdavis.edu

530-754-6828

In this Guide:

Provides detailed indexing from 1789 forwards for publications of Congress: documents, reports, hearings. Modules licensed include: Proquest Congressional digital U.S. Congressional hearings collection from 1824-1979; and Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions from 1789-present. Full text for congressional committee documents and reports is included from 1990 to current. Selected hearing testimony and transcripts are available from 1988. Congressional Research Service Reports module included from 2004-2010. For full text historical serial set (committee documents & reports) from 1817-1980 see U.S. Congressional Serial Set by Readex. Formerly titled LexisNexis Congressional.

FDsys from the Government Printing Office provides free online access to official U.S. Federal government documents and information. GPO is the recognized authoritative source for government information and has authenticated the documents on FDsys. Search for official versions of government documents and publications, browse by title, collection, congressional committee, date, and download publications.

Congressional Research Service Reports 2004-2010. Part of the Proquest Congressional selection of databases licensed by UCD. For dates either before or after those contained in this set, see free sites.

Coverage: 2004-2010
Tags: Congress, Government

The hearings collection is included in Proquest Congressonal. The Digital Hearings Collections Part A (1824-1979) contains full-text, searchable, pdf versions of Congressional committee hearings, including both published and unpublished hearings.

Coverage: 1824-1979
Tags: Congress, Government

The Readex/Newsbank U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1980) has full text Congressional committee reports and documents originally published in the Serial Set from the 15th through the 96th Congresses, 1817-1980. Also includes the American State Papers (a retrospective collection of materials originating from 1789 through 1838 but published in the second quarter of the 19th century). The U.S. Congressional Serial Set is the bound, sequentially numbered set of volumes of all the Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Many early agency reports were published originally in congressional editions. The Serial Set constitutes an incomparably rich collection of primary source material on all aspects of American history and government.

Coverage: 1817-1980, with American State Papers 1789-1838
Tags: Congress, Government

Regulations.gov is your source for information on the development of Federal regulations and other related documents issued by the U.S. government. Through this site, you can find, read, and comment on regulatory issues that are important to you.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC’s Congressional Research Service.

Related links:

A collection of annual reporting on the actions and opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court with clear, in-depth analysis of every decision made by the nation’s highest court since the 1989-1990 term and the justices who ruled on them.

Tags: Government

Official site for California legislative information. Links to bill information and status, California law, and legislative publications.

Tags: Law

This California Code of Regulations (CCR) site contains the text of the regulations that have been formally adopted by state agencies, reviewed and approved by the Office of Administrative Law, and filed with the Secretary of State. The CCR consists of 28 titles and contains the regulations of approximately 200 regulatory agencies.

UC Davis Library Catalog

Browse “Library Search”

UC Davis Mabie Law Library Catalog

Melvyl (UC System) Library Catalog

Worldcat [via FirstSearch]  Icon

Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog (European Libraries)

“Library Search”

Subject Guides

Most people use the library for the following:

 

1. To find a book they already know they want;

2. To research a question they’ve already formulated;

3. To learn more about a topic they’re interested in.

 

To find a book you already know you want, use the library catalog.

To research a question you’ve already formulated, use the appropriate catalog or index. [hint: in the sciences, start with the appropriate subject index; in the humanities, start with the library catalog.]

To learn more about a topic you’re interested in, use the appropriate subject guide, or contact your subject librarian.