LEADR- Summer Bridge

by Melinda M. Livas – November 18, 2021

This course guide is designed to assist LEADR Summer Bridge students with accessing library resources such as books,  peer-reviewed articles, databases, conference proceedings and much more.

Shields Library is closed, however, I am working remotely, and available to assist you with your research needs.

Feel free to email me, [mmlivas@ucdavis.edu] or we can set-up a virtual appointment via Zoom.
Select the link below and find a date that works for you.
Use my personnel Zoom link to attend our virtual meeting, after you find a date- [https://ucdlibrary.zoom.us/my/mmlivas]
________________________________________________________________________________________

Melinda M Livas

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

mmlivas@ucdavis.edu

530-752-5248

In this Guide:

UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog Setting

UC Library Search, the new Library catalog includes all of the UC library collections.  This setting is specific for the UC Davis libraries including (for the first time) the holdings of the Law Library. If you Sign in (on the top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

Books  is a searchable database of books, but not all the content is available for free. To search for full-text books only:

  1. Go to the Advanced Book Search
  2. Specify your search criteria
  3. Make sure you select Search:  Full View Only

HathiTrust is a collection of books digitized by US research libraries. You can search the full-text of over 10 million books, but access to some of the content is restricted. To search for full-text books only:

  1. Use the full-text Search
  2. Enter your search terms
  3. Limit to: Full View Only   (UC Davis is a partner member of HathiTrust. If you would like to download full PDFs of public domain books, you must log in.)

Professional societies are great sources for information. They sponsor conferences and publish journals, proceedings, and books. They set professional and educational standards and provide job and career services for their members.

Aeronautical Engineering      

Automotive Engineering  

Chemical Engineering

  • Electrochemical Society Digital Library:  Searchable online access to the various journals, books, and other collections published by The Electrochemical Society. Includes full-text from the Journal of The Electrochemical Society, Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters, and the ECS Transactions.

Civil Engineering

Computer Science   

Electrical Engineering   

Materials Science

Mechanical Engineering

  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Library: ASME  conducts one of the world’s largest technical publishing operations in the world, offering thousands of titles including some of the profession’s most prestigious journals, conference papers and proceedings, and ASME Press books. The entire collection can be searched via the ASME Digital Collection.

Physics

  • Optics InfoBase:  Optical Society of America’s  digital publications on optics research, including journals and proceedings papers.
  • The International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE) Digital Library:  The SPIE Digital Library is a comprehensive, online tool for locating papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. Subject coverage is broad across optical technology, including astronomy, aerospace, remote sensing, biomedical optics, communications & fiber optics, electronic & medical imaging, lasers, microelectronics & micromachining, nanotechnology, optical physics, chemistry & biology, and signal & image processing.

 

Also see  Citation Guides: This guide describes what a publication citation is and provides information on the most common disciplinary styles — MLA, APA, Chicago, CSE and more.


EndNote@UCDavis

Using Endnote, citations can be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals. Endnote makes identifying and formatting citations for publications a breeze.