LEADR-AveE_College of Engineering

by Melinda M. Livas – February 4, 2022

This course guide is designed to assist LEADR- and AveE College of Engineering Students.

Feel free to email me, [mmlivas@ucdavis.edu] or we can set up a virtual appointment via Zoom.
Select the link below and find a date that works for you.

__________________________________________________________________________

Melinda M Livas

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

mmlivas@ucdavis.edu

530-752-5248

In this Guide:

Your topic should be something that interests you!
If you don’t already have a topic, you can look at popular engineering and science articles to get some ideas. Here are some good sources to help get you started:

General Science:

Engineering:

  • Annual Reviews  Icon
    Annual Reviews provide comprehensive, critical reviews, written by leading scientists across a range of disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.

UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog Setting

UC Library Search, the new Library catalog includes all of the UC library collections.  This setting is specific for the UC Davis libraries including (for the first time) the holdings of the Law Library. If you Sign in (on the top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

BrowZine

BrowZine visually presents the library’s e-journals in a browsable and readable format with seamless synchronization across devices. Includes a My Bookshelf feature which enables users to add their favorite titles and receive notification of newly published articles (including articles in press).  Articles can be saved to My Articles for reading and referencing later.

 

Peer Review, also known as Refereed. 

Peer-reviewed literature is scholarly/ academic research that is reviewed by one or more experts (i.e. peers) in addition to the editor before being accepted for publication.

Peer-Reviewed vs. Scholarly/ Academic

Not all scholarly literature is peer-reviewed. Scholarly literature is written by experts in the field and is typically published in academic journals. However, the editor reviews the article to decided publication- there is no peer review.

Trade and Professional Publications

Trade and professional literature resembles scholarly literature in that it is written by experts in the field (e.g. specialized journalists or technical writers). Its main purpose is to convey information to other members of the profession or trade.  Articles in trade and professional journals will be more like news stories, reports on research, events, and opinions. Also, they are often published by the professional/trade associations for the field.

Popular, News, or General Interest Publications

Popular literature tends to be written by journalists for magazines and newspapers. Newsweek and New York Times are considered popular literature.


How to Identify Peer-Reviewed Articles:

A selection of databases (many from the Proquest platform)  will  include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black symbol indicating the publication is “Refereed.”

  • Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory
    Reports if a journal is peer reviewed or “refereed”. To the left of the journal title, look for a referee icon. Will also tell you journal circulation and publisher.

 

Compendex [via Elsevier, Engineering Village]

1

VPN
Compendex is the broadest and most complete engineering literature database available in the world with over 22 million indexed records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines.
Web of Science Core Collection [via Clarivate Analytics]

2

VPN
Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.
AccessEngineering [via McGraw Hill]

3

VPN
AccessEngineering provides engineering reference information such as handbooks and manuals. Also included are online features, such as instructional, faculty made videos, calculators, interactive tables and charts, as well as personalization tools allowing users to organize crucial project information as they work.
Scopus [via Elsevier]

4

VPN
Large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.
Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823
Tags: Art, Biology, Humanities, Multidisciplinary, Science, Social Science
Related links:
INSPEC [via Elsevier]

5

VPN
Inspec provides engineering research information on physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, mechanical, production engineering, information technology and more. Inspec is on the Engineering Village platform and can be searched together with Ei Compendex.
SciFinder [Registration Required] [via American Chemical Society]

6

VPN
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 52 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. Currently available on 2 platforms: SciFinder N and classic SciFinder.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts [via Proquest]

7

VPN
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage on earthquake's effects on buildings and other structures, geological formations and how seismic and tsunamic phenomena relate. Subject coverage includes: geotechnical earthquake engineering, performance-based seismic engineering, disaster planning, earthquake resistant design and analysis, engineering seismology, risk and reliability seismic engineering, soil dynamics, and structural dynamics.

STANDARDS AND SPECIFICATIONS

Standards and specifications are documents that describe and/or recommend a set of rules and conditions for how materials and products should be manufactured, defined, measured, or tested.

Professional societies are great sources for information. They sponsor conferences and publish journals, proceedings, and books. They set professional and educational standards and provide job and career services for their members.

Aeronautical Engineering      

Automotive Engineering   

Biological & Agricultural Engineering

Chemical Engineering

  • Electrochemical Society Digital LibrarySearchable online access to the various journals, books, and other collections published by The Electrochemical Society. Includes full-text from the Journal of The Electrochemical Society, Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters, and the ECS Transactions.

Civil Engineering

Computer Science   

Electrical Engineering   

Materials Science

Mechanical Engineering

  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Library: ASME  conducts one of the world’s largest technical publishing operations in the world, offering thousands of titles including some of the profession’s most prestigious journals, conference papers and proceedings, and ASME Press books. The entire collection can be searched via the ASME Digital Collection.

Physics

  • Optics InfoBase:  Optical Society of America’s  digital publications on optics research, including journals and proceedings papers.
  • The International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE) Digital Library:  The SPIE Digital Library is a comprehensive, online tool for locating papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. Subject coverage is broad across optical technology, including astronomy, aerospace, remote sensing, biomedical optics, communications & fiber optics, electronic & medical imaging, lasers, microelectronics & micromachining, nanotechnology, optical physics, chemistry & biology, and signal & image processing.

 

Citing Your References and Creating a Bibliography

Also see  Citation Guides: This guide describes what a publication citation is and provides information on the most common disciplinary styles — MLA, APA, Chicago, CSE and more.

 

 

Introduction

Although EndNote Online is free to all UCD full-time students, some may be interested in other bibliographic management software programs including some that are open-access. Wikipedia has an extensive comparison table for over 35 bibliographic/reference management software products at:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_reference_management_software

What is EndNote Online?

EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web) facilitates collaborative work and using EndNote Online from any internet-accessible location in the world. After installing a Word plug-in on your computer, you can “Cite While You Write” from EndNote Online.

Quick Reference Guide — EndNote Online

EndNote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents.  Available, and free to UC Davis students, faculty & staff (campus has a site license).

Two versions are available:

  • Endnote client/desktop:   Requires installation of software, more powerful, best choice for faculty and grad students.   

    • To download,  log-on to MyUCDavis,
      • RESOURCES > SOFTWARE > Type EndNote in the search box >  Select download link that corresponds to your desktop’s operations system.
    • For installation help, contact Campus IET or your department’s computer support.
  • EndnoteWeb:   Requires online registration. EndNoteWeb allows you to store, share, and organize your research content.

    • Web-based; able to access content 24/7.
    • Perfect for sharing citations with a group.

_______________________________________________________

EndNote Online Cite While You Write (CWYW)

EndNote Online: CWYW Plug-in Internet Explorer

EndNote Online: CWYW Plug-in MacOS

EndNote Online’s Cite While You Write (CWYW) feature inserts EndNote commands into Word’s Tools menu (or on an EndNote tab in Word 2007 and 2010 for Windows). This provides you with direct access to your EndNote Online references while writing in Microsoft Word. CWYW commands enable EndNote Online to implement bibliographic formatting to the document that is currently open in Word.

 

These subject guides created by UCD librarians are intended to provide an introduction to finding information in a variety of engineering subjects.  They include a selective list of reference books, encyclopedias, and handbooks, as well as suggested databases for finding articles.

Engineering : This guide is intended to provide an introduction to finding information in Engineering.  Please see more specific subject guides below for specific engineering disciplines.