Visit our Coronavirus page for library hours, remote teaching and learning resources, and more.

More info

Linguistics Indexes And Resources

by Adam Siegel – April 2, 2020

WORKING REMOTELY?
For basic questions, your fastest option is 24/7 Chat Reference.

The basic principle underlying the organization of any library is the imperative to describe the documents it contains so that they may be located.  All libraries create sets of records which describe the documents in their collections.  Catalogs are sets of records to documents that share a location.  Indexes are sets of records to documents that share some other attribute (generally subject matter). Below are the most comprehensive and significant broad disciplinary article indexing databases for international (but English-language-centric) linguistics scholarship.

Adam Siegel

Research Support Services
Researcher Services Librarian

apsiegel@ucdavis.edu

530-754-6828

In this Guide:

The database covers the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
Coverage: 1973-present
Tags: Language
Provides abstracts to sociology articles and the literature of related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. Covers over 1,800 journals, and book reviews. Mainly in English, but Includes materials in 30 languages.
Coverage: 1952-present
Tags: Sociology

3

VPN
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Medicine, Nursing, Psychiatry, Psychology
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education and provides extensive access to educational-related literature.
Coverage: 1966-present
Tags: Education

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.

Coverage: Late 19th century-present
Tags: Anthropology
Index of thousands of publications covering all aspects of Greco-Roman antiquity, including literature, language, history and archaeology. [1949 - 2004]
Coverage: 1949-current
Tags: Classics
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present.
Coverage: 1926-present
Tags: Language, Literature

Containing over 235,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.

Related: Communication Abstracts
HUM & SOC SCI REF P87 C58
Print edition of Communication Abstracts.

Coverage: 1978-present
Tags: Communications, Mass Media
Education Source provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers. Coverage spans all levels of education and includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Coverage: 1880-present
Tags: Education

This database is the combined archive  of two bibliographic indexes, Pascal and Francis. They provide multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.  It was produced and is now hosted as an open access resource by the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.

Coverage: 1972-2015

BASE is one of the world’s most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

“The OED is an historical dictionary of English, covering the language from the earliest times to the present day. Entries contain detailed etymological analysis, illustrated by quotations from a wide range of sources.”

The Blackwell Companion to Phonology is a major reference work drawing together 124 new contributions from leading scholars in the field. Led by a team of renowned international scholars, the Companion represents a diverse range of approaches and methodologies to key phenomena in phonological research. In contrast to other handbooks and reference works currently available for phonology, these volumes focus on phenomena and case studies that highlight past and ongoing debates in the field. Interdisciplinary connections, such as those with the social and computational sciences, are covered, as well as statistical and experimental techniques. The Companion will be a touchstone for future phonological theorists, giving an overview of data and insights which any theory of phonology should be able to cover.

Coverage: 2011
Tags: Language

“Given the vast quantity, it is impossible to list all of the websites for particular languages around the world. This page has links to sites hosted by SIL in different countries where we work. These sites include some of the language data they have published and provide other information about work done there.

“OLAC, the Open Language Archives Community, is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources by: (i) developing consensus on best current practice for the digital archiving of language resources, and (ii) developing a network of interoperating repositories and services for housing and accessing such resources.”

UC Davis Library Catalog

Browse “Library Search”

UC Davis Mabie Law Library Catalog

Melvyl (UC System) Library Catalog

Worldcat [via FirstSearch]  Icon

Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog (European Libraries)

“Library Search”

Subject Guides