NSF LSAMP/CAMP and MURPPS Resources Guide

UC Library Search

UC Library Search connects all 10 University of California campuses through a unified discovery and borrowing system. At UCD, our researchers can also search the collections of Mabie Law Library, which is part of the School of Law.

For full access- remember to sign into your account. 

Use UC Library Search to find books, eBooks, and other research materials.

Feel free to use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are interested in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in UC Library Search.

UC Davis and Beyond-WorldCat Discovery

Search millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.  Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.

What are Literature Reviews?

Peer Review, also known as Refereed. 

Peer-reviewed literature is scholarly/ academic research that is reviewed by one or more experts (i.e. peers) in addition to the editor before being accepted for publication.

Peer-Reviewed vs. Scholarly/ Academic

Not all scholarly literature is peer-reviewed. Scholarly literature is written by experts in the field and is typically published in academic journals. However, the editor reviews the article to decided publication- there is no peer review.

Trade and Professional Publications

Trade and professional literature resembles scholarly literature in that it is written by experts in the field (e.g. specialized journalists or technical writers). Its main purpose is to convey information to other members of the profession or trade.  Articles in trade and professional journals will be more like news stories, reports on research, events, and opinions. Also, they are often published by the professional/trade associations for the field.

Popular, News, or General Interest Publications

Popular literature tends to be written by journalists for magazines and newspapers. Newsweek and New York Times are considered popular literature.

How to Identify Peer-Reviewed Articles:

A selection of databases (many from the Proquest platform)  will include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black symbol indicating the publication is “Refereed.”

Professional societies are great sources for information. They sponsor conferences and publish journals, proceedings, and books. They set professional and educational standards and provide job and career services for their members.

Aeronautical Engineering      

• American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Meeting Papers Database: Index to AIAA meeting papers, containing the most recent discoveries in aerospace and related fields. Full text for meeting papers 1963-present, journals 2002-present.

Automotive Engineering  

• Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Mobilus  is a database of technical papers, magazine and journal articles, books, reports, and standards published by the Society of Automotive Engineers.

• American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Technical Library: Full text technical documents published by the ASAE, including ASAE Standards, Applied Engineering in Agriculture, Transactions of the ASAE, Journal of Agricultural Safety and Health and Annual Meeting Papers and various conference proceedings.

Chemical Engineering

• Electrochemical Society Digital Library:  Searchable online access to the various journals, books, and other collections published by The Electrochemical Society. Includes full-text from the Journal of The Electrochemical Society, Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters, and the ECS Transactions.

Civil Engineering

• American Society of Civil Engineers- Civil Engineering Database (CEDB):  Provides access to 97,000 records of ASCE publications, including journals, proceedings, and standards. Full-text articles beginning in 1997.

Computer Science   

• Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library: ACM is a major Computer Science publisher; use the ACM Digital Library to discover and full-text access ACM journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.

Electrical Engineering   

• Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore:  Provides access to full-text  IEEE transactions, journals, conference proceedings, and standards and IEE/IET journals and conferences.
• Electrochemical Society Digital Library: Searchable online access to the various journals, books, and other collections published by The Electrochemical Society. Includes full-text from the Journal of The Electrochemical Society, Electrochemical and Solid-State Letters, and the ECS Transactions.

Materials Science

• The Materials Research Society Proceedings Library:  MRS Online Proceedings Library features over 50,000 peer-reviewed papers presented at MRS Meetings.

Mechanical Engineering

• American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Library: ASME  conducts one of the world’s largest technical publishing operations in the world, offering thousands of titles including some of the profession’s most prestigious journals, conference papers and proceedings, and ASME Press books. The entire collection can be searched via the ASME Digital Collection.

Physics

• Optics InfoBase:  Optical Society of America’s  digital publications on optics research, including journals and proceedings papers.
• The International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE) Digital Library:  The SPIE Digital Library is a comprehensive, online tool for locating papers on optics, photonics, optoelectronics, and imaging. Subject coverage is broad across optical technology, including astronomy, aerospace, remote sensing, biomedical optics, communications & fiber optics, electronic & medical imaging, lasers, microelectronics & micromachining, nanotechnology, optical physics, chemistry & biology, and signal & image processing.

• IEEE Editorial Style Manual (2017) (citing references begins on page 34)

Also see  Citation Guides: This guide describes what a publication citation is and provides information on the most common disciplinary styles — MLA, APA, Chicago, CSE and more.

EndNote@UCDavis

Using Endnote, citations can be stored, searched, and quickly inserted into research papers in the format of many scholarly journals. Endnote makes identifying and formatting citations for publications a breeze.