by Dawn Collings – September 15, 2021
Archives and Special Collections is open by appointment for in person services. Due to the COVID-19 public health crisis, services will be limited and delayed. Additional information regarding appointments and remote services are found in the Covid-19 update. Please submit all questions and requests to firstname.lastname@example.org or leave a message at (530) 752‑1621.
The UC Davis Library Map Collection is an extensive research-level collection of maps, both print and electronic, and a supporting collection of guides, gazetteers, and atlases. It supports a variety of disciplines including agronomy, botany, history, economics, and environmental studies. The collection emphasizes the Central California Valley area and maps of local importance. The collection also contains many topographic maps and maps of agriculture and agricultural-related subjects from areas with similar climate and growing types to those of the Central Valley. Digital geospatial data are collected with an emphasis on the Central Valley, California, and areas related to current and anticipated University research and instruction needs, with an emphasis on data that may be made freely available to the University community.
Back to Archives and Special Collections.
The Map Collection is located on the lower level of Shields Library and is open by appointment on Tuesday 9AM to 12PM. Schedule an appointment HERE. The majority of the collection is open stacks, so you may retrieve the maps for yourself.
If you wish assistance with locating the maps you want, please contact the Map Collection staff at (530) 752‑9786 during the hours the collection is open, or the Special Collections Department at (530) 752‑1621. Click here if you have map related questions.
Due to repeated loss and damage, the Map Collection is non-circulating. Please consult with the Map Assistant at (530) 752‑1621 regarding special loan or copying arrangements.
Our collection is organized by the Library of Congress (LC) classification system.
Map Collection Hours
For more information, see this webpage for Archives and Special Collections.
|The Map room is open by appointment ONLY, Tuesday 9-12pm. |
Materials in the Map collection can be viewed in Archives and Special Collections by appointment ONLY, Monday-Friday, 1:00-5:00 p.m.
See COVID-19 information on Special Collections webpage.
We will be closed through the winter break, Dec. 21-Jan. 2.
|Contact Archives and Special Collections
Programs in agriculture and related areas, subjects emphasized include: agriculture, soils, vegetation, irrigation, land use, and water resources. Also available are maps relating to economics, ethnology, history, nuclear energy, governments, and other subjects. Additional collection emphases are:
- Current topographic maps (1:24,000 scale for California and the western United States of America, 1:250,000 for the United States, and 1:1,000,000 for the world)
- Historic topographic maps of California
- Aerial photography of the Central Valley
- California road maps
- Geological and geophysical maps
- Nautical charts of the west coast of North America
The Map collection emphasizes the Central California Valley (Sacramento and San Joaquin River Valleys) in all scales, formats, and subjects. The collection also emphasizes maps (especially for agricultural-related subjects) of areas with a similar agro-climate to the Central Valley (i.e., Mediterranean) and for major viticulture and wine producing regions. Maps of other regions of the world are available at a smaller scale and on more limited subjects. (e.g., topography, roads).
Except for the USGS topographic map series, all maps in the collection are cataloged. You can use UC Davis Library’s catalog to locate maps on the topic you are interested in by following these easy tips:
- Use the Advanced Search and limit the material type to “Maps.” (This will retrieve all sheet maps and most atlases that meet your criteria.)
- Do a search in subject on the place name (e.g., Davis) you are interested in.
- Use the other field search boxes to limit your search by keywords if you are interested in a specific topic (e.g., soils, irrigation).
- If you do not find what you want, broaden the search by using a broader geographic subject (e.g., Yolo instead of Davis).
If you cannot find what you are seeking, please ask for assistance at the Map staff room.
Cataloged maps are filed by call number in cases in the Map Room. Maps designated “Old Maps” are in a locked case and must be requested at the Map staff room. USGS topographic maps are filed alphabetically by map name within each series. Indexes are available to help you determine the map name.
If the UC Davis Library does not have the map you want, check with the Map Assistant about the possibility of gaining access to maps at the other University of California Campuses. The other Library’s web sites are also a good source of information about their collection and contain many useful links to On-line resources.
The Map Collection has many aerial photography sets of the immediate area (i.e., Yolo, Sacramento, and Solano Counties). Other selected areas of California are also represented in various scales and types of aerial photography/remote sensing.
The Sanborn Fire Insurance maps listed below are available in the UC Davis Shields Library, Map Collection located in the lower level of Shields Library. Most are in black and white on microfilm. Self-service copying and scanning is available. If you have questions about our map collection, please call (530) 752‑1621 or click here.
UC Davis also subscribes to the Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970 for California and Nevada. These may be accessed from campus computers. UC Davis faculty, staff, and students may also access them from off campus by using their campus login and the VPN.