Marine Biology and Oceanography

by Ruth Gustafson – May 18, 2020

This guide lists resources related to marine biology and oceanography which are useful for locating literature across a range of topics.  To access licensed library resources from off-campus, please use the library VPN. Ruth is happy to help if you have questions or need additional assistance.

FOR UCD students, faculty, and staff:  During this COVID-19 time, feel free to book a Zoom appointment with Ruth for assistance in using these resources or for any questions you may have:

Book an APPOINTMENT with Ruth

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as salmon genetics or sea level rise rather than the more specific salmon AHR genes or satellite altimetry of sea level rise.

  • UC Davis Library Catalog
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

 

  • Understanding Call Numbers

    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

    Date: 2004

Essential literature resource for marine, freshwater and brackish water environments and organisms. Comprehensive international scope with input centers from research centers in each country managed by FAO.
Coverage: varies by subfile; 1971-present; earlier for selected core titles
Tags: Aquaculture, Biology, Fish Biology, Marine Biology
Related links: ASFA LibGuide [ProQuest], Setting up Alerts

More than 1 million records. Covers fish, fisheries and aquaculture, including biology, genetics, natural history, behavior, diseases, parasites, limnology and oceanography, habitat management, culture, propagation, fish processing, marketing, and fisheries management. Merged content from thirteen databases including records from the now ceased database Aquatic Biology, Aquaculture, & Fisheries Resources (ABAFR), and from FISHLIT, Aquatic Biology Citations (ABC), the Fishing Industry Research Index (FIRI), Fisheries Review, and a database from the Worldfish Center’s Library. Database producer from South Africa — excellent coverage of African publications.

Organizes, summaries, and indexes worldwide technical literature on the marine and brackish water environments. Oceanic Abstracts covers marine biology and biological oceanography, physical and chemical oceanography, meteorology, geology, geophysics, geochemistry, marine pollution, conservation, environmental protection, fisheries, aquaculture, nonliving resources and technology, ships and shipping, navigation and communications.

Coverage: 1981-present
Tags: Biology, Fisheries, Marine Life, Oceanography, Science

Relational database on fish from around the world including information on: taxonomy, synonym tables, average sizes and weights, environment, climate, importance, resilience, distribution, diagnosis, biology, Red list status, life history, reproduction, ecology, genetics, illustrations, photographs and much more. Developed at the WorldFish Center in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and many other partners, and with support from the European Commission (EC).

BIOSIS Previews is a database designed by biologists for researching the biological sciences literature.
World's oldest continuing database of animal biology - designed to include all records of new species information and naming. Most comprehensive database for wildlife and extensive coverage of field studies. From aardvarks to bees to sloths to wasps to zebras, Zoo Record includes them all.

Indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians; covering all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management. Database producer from South Africa with excellent coverage of African publications.

Coverage: 1935 (& earlier)-present
Tags: Animals, Biology, Ecosystems, Wildlife, Zoology
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Coverage: 1902-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine
Related links: PubMed Help
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Medicine, Nursing, Psychiatry, Psychology
Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) is from the National Technical Information Service (NTIS) within the Department of Commerce. NTRL provides access to government-sponsored research, development and technical reports with full-text access to reports that have been digitized. Searches over 3 million reports with links to over 800,000 full-text reports.
Coverage: 1964-

Provides single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life which is useful for examining impacts of chemicals on the environment. Peer-reviewed literature is the primary source for the database including information on the species, chemical, test methods, and results. Another source of test results is independently compiled data files (such as the Pesticide Ecotoxicity database) provided by various United States and International government agencies. ECOTOX is a unified interface providing access to three U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) ecological effects databases: AQUIRE (all aquatic species including freshwater and marine); TERRETOX (terrestrial animal mainly wildlife); and PHYTOTOX (terrestrial plant). Ecology, Toxicology.

Coverage: 1972-present
Tags: Ecology, Environmental Science, Pollution, Toxicology
SciFinder is the most comprehensive bibliographic database for scholarly research in the field of chemistry. It contains over 52 million citations and indexes over 50,000 journals, covering all aspects of chemistry, including chemical aspects of: biology and life sciences, engineering and materials science, food science, geology, medicine, physics, and polymer science. SciFinder also allows searching of chemical substances, chemical reactions, and includes some property data and spectra. Currently available on 2 platforms: SciFinder N and classic SciFinder.
"The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world", according to the publisher.
Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary
OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
Tags: Libraries

Springer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2019. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly.

 

Coverage: 2005-2019
Tags: Multidisciplinary
Thousands of e-books with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.
Coverage: 2013 - current

Full-text searchable database collection for Wiley eBooks and journals in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences. PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by Wiley but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package. Access for eBooks begins primarily with 2011. Those items available are marked with an unlocked lock icon.NEW books are added monthly.

Taylorfrancis.com is a brand new platform for all academic, science, technology and medical e-Book content from Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, and Garland.

Former CRCnetBASE collections are incorporated in this collection including:  AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed).

The California Department of Fish & Wildlife (DFW) Document Library is an online repository of thousands of DFG related documents from California agencies, contractors, and related non-governmental organizations. In addition to advanced searching for title, author, subject, keywords, and date ranges, all documents in the DFG Document Library are organized by Categories. “Browse By Category” is a convenient way to see all available groupings and learn which DFG function or program is responsible for each category. You may also view a complete list of DFG documents and then link directly to that program’s web page. The majority of documents digitized are from the 2000s with the largest collection of documents on “California Wildlife Habitat Relationships”. NOTE: CA DFG (Department of Fish adn Game) changed to CA DFW (Department of Fish and Wildlife) in January 2013.

Digital repository on coastal and marine topics with electronic versions of Sea Grant Publications under ten categories: coastal hazards; diving safety; education; responsible aquaculture; global warming; HACCP (FDA Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point programs); harmful algae; marine careers; Sea Grant history; and seafood safety/foodborne illnesses. Additional pre-designed workforms facilitate online searching of the entire Sea Grant database for information on either print or online Sea Grant publications on marinas, aquaculture, habitat restoration or education.

“The Aquatic Commons is a thematic digital repository covering the natural marine, estuarine /brackish and fresh water environments . It includes all aspects of the science, technology, management and conservation of these environments, their organisms and resources, and the economic, sociological and legal aspects. It is complementary to OceanDocs, which is supported by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) specifically to collect, preserve and facilitate access to all research output from members of their Ocean Data and Information Networks (ODINS). The records of both repositories are harvested by Avano which aggregates records from marine and aquatic repositories around the World.” {RG 12/11/13}

The Inventory of Marine and Aquatic Repositories (IMAR) is a joint project of IAMSLIC and the International Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) to identify open-access institutional repositories that contain content related to the marine and/or aquatic environments.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries worldwide that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) with access provided to texts “with information on over a 150 million species names.” {RG 12/11/13}

Related links:
Locate the most highly-cited journals in broad disciplines in the sciences and social sciences and view detailed information on each journal.
Coverage: 1997-2018 release; 1996-2017 data
Tags: Multidisciplinary, Science
Related links: Using JCR Wisely
48,000 ebooks, computer manuals, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly.

Covers over 20,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols. UC CDL/UCD Library subscribes to THIRTEEN major laboratory methods and protocols series including the classic comprehensive work “Current Protocols in Molecular Biology” with other titles being CP in: Bioinformatics; Cell Biology; Cytometry; Human Genetics; Immunology; Microbiology; Mouse Biology; Neuroscience; Nucleic Acid Chemistry; Protein Science; Pharmacology; and Toxicology. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following FIVE protocol titles: “Chemical Biology”, “Essential Laboratory Techniques”, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging”, “Plant Biology” (new as of May 2016 with very little content) and “Stem Cell Biology”.

 

This is a combined database of 3 protocols or methods resources:  Nature Protocols, Nature Methods, and Springer Protocols. Together there are over 60,000 searchable protocols and methods.

User Guide

The bulk of SN Experiments is content from Springer Protocols with over 55,000 protocols in  molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols.  These are mainly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

Nature Protocols is associated with the Protocol Exchange which is an open repository through which researchers can share and discuss their protocols.

Coverage: 1980-present
Monographs, technical manuals, handbooks, review volumes, conference proceedings, scholarly journals and videotapes. These examine topics in molecular biology, genetics, development, virology, neurobiology, immunology and cancer biology.
Coverage: 2006-present
Tags: Biology, Biomedicine, Laboratory Practices, Medicine, Science
Related links: Search Help
JoVE publishes novel and gold standard research methodologies in both the physical and life sciences. The format is video to help understand how research methodologies are performed.
Coverage: Access currently to JoVE General section, Science Education, and all journal subsections; 2006- (General); 2013- (Subsections)
Tags: Bioengineering, Bioinformatics, Biology, Biomedicine, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environmental Science, Immunology, Life Science, Medicine, Neuroscience, Protocols, Psychology

Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. As of 2017, videos are selectively being added to accompany the written methods. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 500 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats.

Coverage: -1955
Tags: Biology, Life Science

A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community.

Coverage: 2011-

Open Access to full-text protocols in three categories of “in vivo”, “in vitro” and “in silico” and a general category of other.

Anyone can add their own protocols or review those under development.

Over 200 protocols available.

A website for creating, organizing, and publishing reproducible research protocols.

UC Davis researchers have access to free premium accounts.

More information

Comprehensive 12-volume work on all aspects of coastal and estuarine science.

Includes chapters as follows:
v. 1. Classification of estuarine and nearshore coastal ecosystems
v. 2. Water and fine sediment circulation
v. 3. Estuarine and coastal geology and geomorphology
v. 4. Geochemistry of estuaries and coasts
v. 5. Biogeochemistry
v. 6. Trophic relationships of coastal and estuarine ecosystems
v. 7. Functioning of ecosystems at the land-ocean interface
v. 8. Human-induced problems (uses and abuses)
v. 9. Estuarine and coastal ecosystem modelling
v. 10. Ecohydrology and restoration
v. 11. Management of estuaries and coasts
v. 12. Ecological economics of estuaries and coasts

This new three-volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of fish physiology. Volume 1 covers The Senses, Supporting Tissues, Reproduction, and Behavior; Volume 2 covers Gas Exchange, Internal Homeostatis, and Food Uptake; and Volume 3 covers Energetics, Interactions with the Environment, Lifestyles, and Applications. Over 300 articles are arranged by the above three volume themes rather than alphabetically. Topics cover these aspects of physiology: Reproduction, Respiration, Neural(Sensory, Central, Effector), Endocrinology, Renal, Cardiovascular, Acid-base Balance, Osmoregulation, Ionoregulation, Digestion, Metabolism, Locomotion, Toxicology, Air-breathing, Migrations, Temperature, Endothermy and more.

Extensive, completely revised and updated 17-volume version of the original work published in Germany in 1960. Incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community. Volume 1 covers Lower metazoans and lesser deuterostomes and volume 2 is on Protostomes. Volume 3 is about Insects. Volumes 4-5 are both concerning Fishes. Volume 6 pertains to Amphibians and volume 7 is about Reptiles. Volumes 8-11 are all concerning Birds. Volumes 12-16 are on Mammals and lastly, volume 17 is the cumulative index.

•Each entry by family includes taxonomic placement & brief details including thumbnail description, size, number of genera/species, habitat, conservation status, & distribution map.

•Detailed sections describe: evolution & systematics; physical characteristics; distribution; habitat; behavior; feeding ecology & diet; reproductive biology; conservation status; significance to humans; and end with lengthy species accounts

Coverage: 2003
Tags: Animals, Life Science, Science

The 2nd edition of this 7 volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of biodiversity. “Major themes of the work include the evolution of biodiversity, systems for classifying and defining biodiversity, ecological patterns and theories of biodiversity, and an assessment of contemporary patterns and trends in biodiversity.” Over 320 articles with “approximately 1,800 figures and 350 tables complement the text, and more than 3,000 glossary entries explain key terms”. Topics range from: Agriculture; Conservation & Restoration; Economics of Biodiversity; Environmental Conditions & Effects; Evolution; Extinctions; Genetics; Geographic & Global Issues; Habitats & Ecosystems; Human Effects & Interventions; Invertebrates; Microbial Diversity; Plant Biodiversity; Population Issues; Public Policies & Attitudes; Species Interactions & Interrelationships; Systematics & Species Concept; Techniques & Measurements; Theories & Concepts of Biodiversity; to Vertebrates

WILDLIFE. An electronic encyclopaedia and a library of electronic books and documents providing information on the natural history, health and management of captive and free-ranging wild animals. The Wildpro® Electronic Library contains more than 200 documents ranging in size from single page factsheets or pamphlets to whole books such as the classic 1910 text “Elephants and Their Diseases” (G.H. Evans), the “Field Manual of Wildlife Diseases” (National Wildlife Health Center, USGS) and the Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust’s “Wetlands, Wildlife and Industry: a manual of principles and practice.”

Online version of this 3-volume encyclopedia provides “detailed comparative essays on major biomes and their component ecosystems. Includes entries on land biomes and water biomes and covers climate, elevation, soil, water bodies, vegetation, animal life, food web, plant and animal adaptations, endangered species, human effects on the biome and the effects of the environment on humans’ culture and economy.”

Coverage: 2008
Tags: Ecology

This encyclopedia incorporates research on “the behavior of animals and humans and the neurobiological and physiological processes that control it”. This three-volume set covers all areas of behavioral neuroscience with a total of 210 chapters.Topics range from: Addiction; Animal Models of Behavior; Behavioral Genetics; Brain Aging; Brain Structure & Function; Cognitive Neuroscience; Disease & Dysfunction; Developmental Biology; Emotion & Emotional Behavior; Ethology & Neuroethology; Evolution & Comparative Biology; History; Language & Communication; Learning & Memory; Molecular Neurobiology; Motivation & Reward; Motor Systems & Motor Control; Neuroplasticity; Psychoneuroendocrinology; Reproductive, Parental & Sexual behavior; Sensation & Perception; Sleeping, Waking & Arousal; Social Behavior/Cognition; and Stress.

This classic encyclopedia covering scientists from all time periods and all fields of science has been completely revised. This “complete” online version includes all the entries from both the new (2008) edition and the original edition.

Tags: Science

Geographic database of over 165,000 entries including place-names, physical characteristics and attributes, political properties, economic parameters, and natural and agricultural resources. Global in scope, updated monthly.

Tags: Geography

RESEARCH level handbook with GERMAN as first language. Online continuously updated version of De Gruyter’s Handbook of Zoology covering over 100 years of zoological research. Includes original Handbook material (> 28,000 pages) reordered along taxonomic (instead of bibliographical) categories.  PLEASE NOTE: publication language of the core historical volumes is German. ENGLISH language sections are currently under the Browseable section “Ahead of Print” but are slowly being integrated into the main volumes below. Browseable volumes are organized in 8 larger volume collections as follows:

•Protozoa, Porifera, Colenteratea, Mesozoa (Vol. 1)
•Vermes Amera (Vol. 2)
•Arthropoda ex. Insecta (Vol. 3)
•Arthropoda: Insecta (Vol. 4)
•Solenogastres, Mollusca, Echinoderma (Vol. 5)
•Pisces/Amphibia (Vol. 6)
•Reptilia, Aves (Vol. 7)
•Mammalia (Vol. 8)

A collection of major chemistry reference books.
Tags: Chemistry

Database of field guides that were reviewed and assessed to create a listing of over 5,900 titles. Useful for field researchers who wish to determine if a published, portable guide exists which covers a geographic region and/or type of species, or natural history topic. NOTE: If a field guide you need is not owned by the UC Davis libraries, please contact Ruth Gustafson at ragustafson@lib.ucdavis.edu to purchase the item.

Free online digital media library from US F&WS. Wide assortment of selected images, publications (including historic documents, oral histories and more), video and audio clips, and maps that are in the public domain.

This digital photo collection includes “the work, observations, and studies that are carried on by the scientists, engineers, commissioned officers, and administrative personnel that make up” NOAA.

This “collection spans centuries of time and much of the natural world from the center of the Earth to the surface of the Sun” and “includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton. … The geographic range of NOAA work encompasses polar region to polar region and much of the World’s oceans.”

“Morphbank :: Biological Imaging is a continuously growing database of images that scientists use for international collaboration, research and education. Images deposited in Morphbank :: Biological Imaging document a wide variety of research including: specimen-based research in comparative anatomy, morphological phylogenetics, taxonomy and related fields focused on increasing our knowledge about biodiversity. The project receives its main funding from the Biological Databases and Informatics program of the National Science Foundation (Grant DBI-0446224). “

This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.

Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Portal to UC researchers, centers and research groups including: Center for Aquatic Biology & Aquaculture; California Fish Photo Library; and California Freshwater Fish Laboratory. {RG 12/13/13}

The Census of Marine Life (CoML) is a research program that seeks to assess the diversity, distribution and abundance of ocean life and to explain how it changes over time. The portal provides access to a global network of researchers in more than 45 nations engaged in this ten-year marine life initiative. Includes three major projects: Ocean Biogeographic Information System (OBIS), the History of Marine Animal Populations project (HMAP), and the Future of Marine Animal Populations project (FMAP). Seven studies have been initiated to collect data for these projects: Biogeography of Deep-Water Chemosynthetic Ecosystems (ChEss); Census of Diversity of Abyssal Marine Life (CeDAMaR); Gulf of Maine Program (GoM); Mid-Atlantic Ridge Ecosystems Project (MAR-ECO); Natural Geography in Shore Areas (NaGISA); Pacific Ocean Shelf Tracking Program (POST); and Tagging of Pacific Pelagics (TOPP). {RG 12/10/13}