In this Guide:

Databases A-Z List

 

Primary Databases

MathSciNet

Covers approximately 1600 mathematical journals as indexed in the American Mathematical Society’s publications Mathematical Reviews (QA 1 M3) and Current Mathematical Publications (Z 6653 C63). Coverage: 1940 – present.

Current Index to Statistics (CIS)

Covers publications in statistics and related fields. CIS is a joint venture of the American Statistical Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics. Coverage: 1974 – present.

arXiv.org

arXiv.org is an e-print repository to over 1 million papers in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Just UC Davis Mathematics arXiv Preprints from 2004-present are also available.

Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics

A database created from the “Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik.” Coverage: 1868-1942

Zentralblatt für Mathematik

Zentralblatt MATH is the world’s most complete and longest running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. The database contains more than 2.0 million entries drawn from more than 2300 serials and journals. While we do not have a subscription to this database, searchers can view up to the first three reviews of each result set. Coverage: 1868 – present.


Secondary Databases

Academic Search Complete

Articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals for the humanities, social sciences, physical and biological sciences, engineering, business and interdisciplinary fields, with over 5,500 full-text periodicals. Also includes indexing for some newspapers, books and primary sources.  Coverage: 1887 – present.

BIOSIS

Contains citations to items in over 6,000 journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology, including bioengineering, and biostatistics. Coverage: 1969 – present.

Compendex

Most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. Coverage: 1884 – present.

INSPEC

Citations from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology. Coverage: 1898 – present.

PubMed

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine’s search service that provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, and other related databases, with links to participating online journals. Coverage: 1950s – present.

Scopus

Scopus indexes, selectively abstracts and provides citation analysis for approximately 20,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers, as well as 2,600 open access journals, published sets of conference proceedings, trade publications, books, patents (from the USPTO, European Patent Office, Japan Patent office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office) and millions of selected web pages. Coverage extends across disciplines in the life and health sciences, the physical sciences, the social sciences and the arts and humanities.

Web of Science                                     

Use Web of Science to find scholarly articles in all disciplines, including chemical engineering and materials science.  This database can also be used to identify articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Coverage: 1900 – present.  Cited Reference Searching:  1900 – present.

ALL Journals  (that UC Davis subscribes to):

Use the  UCD Library Catalog  or  MELVYL catalog to find which journals we subscribe to,  either online or in print.

Online subscriptions:   the catalog will give the link.  NOTE: we sometimes get online content for different years from different sources, R-E-A-D the fine print.
Print subscriptions:    the catalog will give you the call number, location, and indicate whether or not it is checked out.

Electronic Journals A-Z List:

Lists only online journals that UC Davis has an online subscription to.  If we have a print subscription, the journal will not be listed here.

 

LIBRARY CATALOG

(formerly Harvest Catalog) The Library Catalog tells you what the UC Davis library owns, what the call number is, where it is located, and whether or not it is checked out.  If there is an electronic version that we subscribe to, the link will be in the catalog.

Use the catalog to locate books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and any other materials the library owns.

MELVYL UC LIBRARY CATALOG                MELVYL HELP

The MELVYL catalog tells you what all UC campus libraries own, and also searches other institutions.  As with the UCD Library Catalog, MELVYL gives records for books, journals, government documents, dissertations, maps, music scores & recordings, movies, and other materials.
MELVYL does index some articles but is not a good option for searching for articles in the sciences. (Click on the ARTICLES link in this guide to access article databases.)

The REQUEST button:   allows you to request items from other institutions (UC and non-UC).

 


Google Books                          Google Books-Help

Library catalogs only search catalog entries (author, title, subject indexing, etc) not the full text of the book.
Google Books searches full-text of books (only titles that Google has scanned), but you cannot access most of them (because they are still under copyright).

But you can use Google Books to identify titles you might be interested in.
–Use Google Books to search for phrases or topics you are intereted in (works well for technical terms).
–Then search for the title of the book(s) in the UCD Library Catalog or Melvyl


 WorldCat Catalog

OCLC catalog: millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.

Coverage: 1000 A.D. to the present.

 


 

SIAM e-Books

 

MATHnetBASE– Full-text searchable database collection of over 125 handbooks, textbooks and manuals from CRC Press.

 

STATSnetBASE– Full-text searchable database collection of almost 100 statistics handbooks, textbooks and manuals from CRC Press.

 

Frontiers in Mathematics– v.1750 (2000) – present.

 

 

Lecture Notes in Mathematics– v.1750 (2000) – present.

 

 

HISTORICAL MATHEMATICS COLLECTIONS

 

American Mathematical Society Books Online Cornell University Library: Historical Mathematics Monographs
Mathematica Collection from the University of Göttingen University of Michigan’s Historical Math Collection

 




Books
 is a searchable database of books, but not all the content is available for free. To search for full-text books only:

  1. Go to the Advanced Book Search
  2. Specify your search criteria
  3. Make sure you select Search:  Full View Only

HathiTrust is a collection of books digitized by US research libraries. You can search the full-text of over 10 million books, but access to some of the content is restricted. To search for full-text books only:

  1. Use theFull-text Search
  2. Enter your search terms
  3. Limit to: Full View Only   (UC Davis is a partner member of HathiTrust. If you would like to download full PDFs of public domain books, you must login.)
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics

Shields Library QA276.14 .E934 2010

Collins Dictionary of Mathematics

 Shields Library QA5 .B625 2002

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics

Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference QA5 .W45 2003

Dictionary of Algebra, Arithmetic, and Trigonometry

Shields Library QA5 .D4983 2001

Dictionary of Analysis, Calculus, and Differential Equations

Shields Library QA5 .D53 2000

Dictionary of Applied Math for Engineers and Scientists

Shields Library QA5 .D49835 2003

Dictionary of Classical and Theoretical Mathematics

Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference QA5 .D4984 2001

A Dictionary of Statistics

Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference QA276.14 .U67 2008

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences

Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference QA276.14 .E5 2006

The Oxford Dictionary of Statistical Terms

Shields Library HA17 K4 2003

 

World of Mathematics

Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference QA5 .W67 2001

EndNote is citation management software that allows you to store, manage, and format bibliographic citations, and easily change formatting of citations in Word documents.  Available, and free to UC Davis students, faculty & staff (campus has a site license).

Two versions are available:

  • Endnote client/desktop:   Requires installation of software, more powerful, best choice for faculty and grad students.   

    • To download,  log-on to MyUCDavis,
      • RESOURCES > SOFTWARE > Type EndNote in the search box >  Select download link that corresponds to your desktop’s operations system.
    • For installation help, contact Campus IET or your department’s computer support.
  • EndnoteWeb:   Requires online registration. EndNoteWeb allows you to store, share, and organize your research content.

    • Web-based; able to access content 24/7.
    • Perfect for sharing citations with a group.

Citation Generators

These free tools prompt you to enter in the components of a citation, and configure the elements according to APA guidelines. Make sure you verify the accuracy of your results by consulting the Publication Manual!

Citation Builder

Developed by the North Carolina State University Libraries.

KnightCite

This site is maintained by the Hekman Library at Calvin College in Michigan. Select ‘APA’ from the Citation Styles menu.

Son of Citation Machine

Select the type of source you are citing and complete the web form. For books, you can enter an ISBN to populate the form automatically.

NoodleTools Express

This tool is useful if you only need to generate citations for a couple of sources.

    

What is it?

ORCID (Open Researcher and Contributor ID)- distinguishes your research from other researchers by providing a persistent digital identifier.

What it does:

  • resolve name ambiguity
  • seamlessly links to multiple research formats, i.e., grants, manuscripts, etc.
  • ensures that your work is recognized

Sign up for an ORCiD account:

Register in three easy steps: https://orcid.org/

 


 What is it?

Altmetric provides a social media profile for an article, including: blogs, tweets,  Facebook, Google+, CiteULike, Wikipedia, Mendeley, Connotea,  Reddit, and news outlets that have referenced the article.  Includes links to postings and metrics.

What it does: 

  • Provides a collated record of who’s saying what about your published work
  • Helps you to monitor and track early engagement
  • Identifies the most effective channels, i.e., Twitter, Facebook, eBlogger

Sign up for an Altmetrics Bookmarklet: it is FREE!!!

Go to  http://www.altmetric.com/bookmarklet.php.
Grab and drag the ALTMETRICS Bookmarklet to your toolbar.

Altmetrics sells access to three products:   Explorer, Embeddable badges, Altmetric API.

 

CRC Handbook of Mathematical Sciences

Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference QA47 .H32 1988

CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae (32nd ed.)

Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference QA47 M28 2012

CRC Standard Probability and Statistics Tables and Formulae

Shields Library QA273.3 Z95 2000

Handbook of Mathematical Formulas and Integrals

Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference QA47 .J38 2008

NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions

The Digital Library of Mathematical Functions (DLMF) Project was initiated to perform a complete revision of Abramowitz and Stegun’s Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables, published in 1964 by the National Bureau of Standards.

Table of Integrals, Series, and Products

Phy Sci Engr Library Reference QA55 G6613 2000

Shields Library Bio/Ag Reference QA55 G6613 2007

Browse by Subject

Browse by Publication Title