Middle Eastern / South Asian Studies Indexes And Resources

by Adam Siegel — March 15, 2017

Middle Eastern / South Asian Studies Indexes And Resources

by Adam Siegel — March 15, 2017

The Middle Eastern / South Asian Studies Program (ME/SA) is an interdisciplinary, multidisciplinary program that brings together students and faculty from many campus departments.   The following is a list of standard indexing and abstracting resources that cover many of the disciplines relevant to ME/SA.

Adam Siegel

Research Support Services
Librarian

apsiegel@ucdavis.edu

530-754-6828

The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.

Coverage: 1906-current
Tags: History, Islam, Religion

“The Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.”

Coverage: 2002-
Tags: Islam, Reference Materials

The Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (EWIC) is an interdisciplinary, trans-historical, and global project. It provides critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim, and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. Coverage includes the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.

Print volumes of the Encyclopedia are available in H/SS Reference, 2nd floor Shields Library, call number HQ1170.E53 2003

This website also touches on the areas of Arabic and Religion (focusing on Western religions). It is particularly intended to be of use for non-Muslim and Muslim students and teachers at all levels as well for members of the general public who wish to get a non-polemical and non-sectarian view of Islam and the diverse perspectives of Muslims (including Sunni Islam, Shi’ism, and Sufism, et al.) and to a lesser extent of Judaism and Christianity.

“The field of Islamic Studies is both wide-reaching and dynamic. It includes the range of foundational documents, traditions, institutions, and history of Muslims in various countries and regions throughout the world from the origins of Islam to the present day. This interdisciplinary field therefore includes history, religion, philosophy, anthropology, Arabic language and literature, as well as literatures in other languages including Persian, Turkish, and Urdu, and remains responsive to new discoveries, interpretations, ideologies and theories. . . . Top scholars in the field have contributed on their areas of expertise, so that users will understand how the field is organized and why it developed in the way it did. The articles present a guided tour through the key literature on each topic, providing context for its development, and a balanced overview of the major issues within a given topic.”

Brill’s Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur’ān. It is an encyclopedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language.

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.

Coverage: 1926-present
Tags: Language, Literature

This database is the combined archive  of two bibliographic indexes, Pascal and Francis. They provide multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.  It was produced and is now hosted as an open access resource by the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.

Coverage: 1972-2015

BASE is one of the world’s most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker is regarded throughout the world as the premier collection of German writing. The Bibliothek deutscher Klassiker series has been in publication since 1981. It covers the works of major authors spanning eleven centuries and includes historical, philosophical, theological, political and art history texts. Collections of essays, speeches and other non-literary material add context and background material. As every individual text is edited to the same high standard, you can rely on the quality and accuracy of each edition and the collection as a whole.

Indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews. Covers over 500 journals worldwide. Topical coverage is broad (ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, the philosophies of law, education, history, etc).

Coverage: 1940 - present
Tags: Bioethics, Ethics, Philosophy

The Ahmadiyya Muslim Community is a religious organization, international in its scope, with branches in over 185 countries in Africa, North America, South America, Asia, Australasia, and Europe. This is the most dynamic denomination of Islam in modern history, with worldwide membership exceeding tens of millions. The Community offers a clear presentation of Islamic wisdom, philosophy, morals and spirituality as derived from the Holy Qur’an and the practice (Sunnah) of the Holy Prophet of Islam, Muhammad (peace and blessings of Allah be on him). The Ahmadiyya Community was established in 1889 by Hadhrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad (1835-1908) in the Punjab, India. He claimed to be the expected reformer of the latter days, the Awaited One of the world community of religions (The Mahdi and Messiah). The Community he started is an embodiment of the benevolent message of Islam — peace, universal brotherhood, and submission to the Will of God — in its pristine purity.

Tags: Islam, Religion

An online exhibit of Islamic art objects drawn from Museums around the world. It is a project of the Museum With No Frontiers.

Tags: Art, Islam

This encyclopedia looks at Islam’s role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion’s history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.

By the University of Southern California Muslim Students Association.

AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research. The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature) and African Women’s literature (African Women). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa). In June 2012 two other bibliographies have been added, on Islam in Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa compiled by Paul Schrijver, and on Kenya Coast compiled by Jan Hoorweg.

The basic principle underlying the organization of any library is to describe the documents it contains so that they may be located.  All libraries create sets of records which describe…

Read More

UC Davis Library Catalog

Browse “Library Search”

UC Davis Mabie Law Library Catalog

Melvyl (UC System) Library Catalog

WorldCat (via FirstSearch) [via VPN]

Karlsruhe Virtual Catalog (European Libraries)

“Library Search”