smart phonesImage credit: “Texting Congress 3” by Adam Fagan. CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

This guide offers apps and web-based resources for smartphones and mobile devices to support clinicians at the point-of-care.

 

 

 

Amy Studer

Blaisdell Medical Library
Health & Life Science Librarian

acstuder@ucdavis.edu

916-734-0206

Pulse Secure is a free VPN* app for Apple iOS and Android devices. Use Pulse Secure to log into the UC Davis network using either wifi or your telecommunication provider’s services when off-campus. It may be downloaded from iTunes or from Android app providers.

Pulse Secure download, installation instructions, & tech support

After the one-time installation and configuration steps, login to Pulse Secure using UC Davis Computing Account credentials (Kerberos passphrase) prior to navigating to licensed resources.


 *VPN stands for virtual private network.

Many of these resources are licensed either by the UC Davis Library or UC Davis Health. Access is restricted to the current UC Davis community.

Depending on the resource, access via a UC Davis wifi network (not guest) or authentication with the UC Davis Library VPN may be required. In addition, many of these apps require that users register for a personal account to access mobile content. Free resources are indicated in the link title.

UpToDate is a popular point-of-care clinical resource which includes over 10,000 topics in over 22 specialties, plus patient information, calculators, and news. Requires wifi to access content.

For mobile access, first register for a username/password on the UpToDate website in a UC Davis network environment (on-campus or via Pulse Secure). Then download the UpToDate app for either the iPhone or Android devices. Access to devices can be managed in “My Account.” UpToDate requires that you login to your network account once a month to keep your remote access valid.

VisualDx is a web-based clinical decision support system based on images from the physical exam. Includes Differential Builder, a symptom-based approach to diagnosis.

Register for username/password on homepage. Download for iPhone or Android.

Micromedex offers comprehensive drug  and toxicology information.

From homepage, select “download mobile app.” Follow instructions about installing the app. A password (which changes periodically) will be provided, enabling the app.

The free version of Epocrates includes drug information, an interaction checker, pill ID, calculators, and tables. Requires download and account registration.

Sign up for a free account. App is a free download and requires personal account registration.

The Epocrates Plus upgrade offers additional content: clinical practice guidelines, disease information, alternative medicine, ICD-9/CPT codes, infectious disease treatment, and labs.

Essential Evidence Plus is an evidence-based clinical decision support system, web-optimized for smartphones. Includes Essential Evidence Topics, Cochrane Systematic Reviews, EBMG Guidelines, evidence summaries, history and physical exam calculators, diagnostic test calculators, Daily POEMs, Derm Expert Image Viewer, E/M Coding, and other decision support tools.
Access using a UC Davis networked computer (UCDHS-student or UCDHS-prod wifi) or while logged onto the UC Davis Library VPN.

The Access Medicine app is intended for point of service reference and includes the following: quick medical Dx & Rx, Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology, differential diagnosis tool, and diagnostic tests.

Note that it does not offer access to AccessMedicine’s full-text eBooks, except for Fitzgerald’s.

Register for a MyAccess account on the AccessMedicine website while logged in via the VPN or on a UC Davis networked computer. After installing the app, login using your MyAccess account user name and password.

The American Academy of Pediatrics Red Book includes information about active and passive immunization, recommendations for care of children in special circumstances, antimicrobial agents and related therapy, and antimicrobial prophylaxis

From a UC Davis authenticated computer or mobile device, create a personal account with login and password. After installing the app, use the AAP account login to access the content.

Access calculators, textbooks, and drug information from your mobile device.

It is necessary to register on the site for a personal account in order to use the app.

NeoFax provides drug and dosing information for neonatal and pediatric patients. Must be logged onto UC Davis network or VPN to use.
To install, access Micromedex via a computer that is either logged onto the UC Davis Library VPN or a UC Davis network. Select Micromedex NeoFax from the menu and note the “mobile” link to the upper right hand corner of the NeoFax website. There will be app download instructions with an access code on this page. The access code changes periodically.

ACP Clinical Guidelines
The ACP Clinical Guidelines app includes recommendations from American College of Physician’s Clinical Practice Guidelines, Guidance Statements, and Best Practice Advice papers. Provides convenient access to clinical recommendations and rationale, summary tables, algorithms, and high value care advice for all currently active guidelines in an easy-to-read and interactive mobile format.

ACP Immunization Advisor
ACP Immunization Advisor includes guidance to current vaccine indications. Search by age or underlying medical circumstance, or browse the vaccine library to determine vaccines for adult patients. The latest immunization news and updates from ACP are also immediately available from within the application. The content in ACP Immunization Advisor is based on the 2012 ACIP Adult Immunization Schedule.

Canopy Medical Translator
Translates thousands of medical phrases into fifteen languages. Canopy can be configured app to dial your institution’s translation services. Must register with Canopy to enable.

DailyMed
Drug information from the National Library of Medicine about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts).

LactMed
LactMed offers information about drugs/supplements and breastfeeding, including maternal and infant drug levels, possible effects on lactation and on breastfed infants, and alternative drugs to consider.

Medline Plus
Consumer health information for patients and families. Covers diseases, conditions, medications, wellness topics, and the latest news. Available in English and Spanish.

PubMed Mobile (free)
PubMed includes millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. For access to Library-licensed full-text articles, login to Pulse Secure app.


EBSCO Mobile  
Search CINAHLplus, Academic Search Complete, SportDiscus & other databases on your mobile device.

Click on the EBSCO Mobile link and then select one or more databases to navigate to a page with information about EBSCO mobile. Select “iPhone and Android apps,” enter your email when prompted and you will be sent information about app installation and login.


OVID Today  
OVID today app enables users to browse, read, and save articles from library licensed OVID journals.

After installing app, activate the app by registering for a personal account from a UC Davis authenticated device or computer (UC Davis wifi network or Library VPN). You must re-activate every three months by logging onto your personal account from a UC Davis-authenticated computer.


EndNote for iPad (individual purchase)
Sync’s with EndNote Web and EndNote desktop versions. Search PubMed and Google Scholar from within the app and add results to EndNote library, including article pdfs. Read and annotate articles within the app.


Journal Club (free)
Wiki Journal Club (WJC) is a collaborative website providing concise summaries of landmark clinical trials.

This portal provides links to mobile versions of popular NLM resources, including: AIDSInfo, DailyMed, HazMap, LactMed, MedlinePlus, MedlinePlus En Espanol, NLM Drug Information Portal, PhPartners, PubMed Mobile, PubMed For Handhelds, REMM, Water Emergency, & WISER.

This webpage provides links to mobile versions of popular CDC resources, including MMWR, Vital Signs, Preventing Chronic Disease and Emerging Infectious Disease (EID) Journals, Disease of the Week, Image Library, & “Did You Know?” facts.

World Bank Mobile provides statistics about global health, poverty, and gender issues.

Thanks to Francis Francisco for his work in migrating this content to our new website.