by Ruth Gustafson — October 3, 2018
by Ruth Gustafson — October 3, 2018

This guide lists resources which are useful for locating literature across a range of topics including biochemistry, biophysics, biotechnology, genetics, and molecular and cellular biology. To access licensed library resources from off-campus, please use the library VPN. Ruth is happy to help if you have questions or need additional assistance.

Ruth Gustafson

Research Support Services
Animal & Ecology Librarian, Shields Library

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as population genetics or molecular chaperones rather than the more specific metapopulation gene flow or Chaperonin GroEL.

  • UC Davis Library Catalog
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

 

  • Understanding Call Numbers

    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

    Date: 2004

More than 25 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental sciences, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.

• Quick Reference Card: BIOSIS Previews, 2010
 Online BIOSIS information 
 Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts

More than 28 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform.

PubMed Tutorial & more
Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]

Coverage: 1946-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine

3

VPN

Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research and conference abstracts.Embase contains over 22 million records spanning 1974-present, with over 1 million records added annually. Each record contains the full bibliographic citation, indexing terms, and codes; and 80% of all citations in Embase include author-written abstracts. The Embase journal collection is international with over 7,500 active peer-reviewed journals more than 90 countries. All MEDLINE records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well as over 5 million records not covered in MEDLINE. Broad biomedical scope covering the following areas:

  • Drug therapy and research, including pharmaceutics, pharmacology and toxicology
  • Clinical and experimental (human) medicine
  • Basic biological science relevant to human medicine
  • Biotechnology and biomedical engineering, including medical devices
  • Health policy and management, including pharmacoeconomics
  • Public, occupational and environmental health, including pollution control
  • Veterinary science, dentistry, and nursing
  • Psychiatry and mental health, including substance dependence and abuse
  • Forensic science
  • Alternative and complementary medicine
Coverage: 1974-current (for EMBASE records); 1966-current (for MEDLINE records)
Tags: Allied Health, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health

Web of Science combines traditional bibliographic searching of journal content across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences with broadly interdisciplinary “cited reference” search capabilities.

Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
Creating Citation Alerts for Current Awareness

Coverage: See above description (varies between 9 indexes)
Tags: Science

Covers over 20,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols. UC CDL/UCD Library subscribes to THIRTEEN major laboratory methods and protocols series including the classic comprehensive work “Current Protocols in Molecular Biology” with other titles being CP in: Bioinformatics; Cell Biology; Cytometry; Human Genetics; Immunology; Microbiology; Mouse Biology; Neuroscience; Nucleic Acid Chemistry; Protein Science; Pharmacology; and Toxicology. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following FIVE protocol titles: “Chemical Biology”, “Essential Laboratory Techniques”, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging”, “Plant Biology” (new as of May 2016 with very little content) and “Stem Cell Biology”.

 

As of March 2018, this is a combined database of 4 protocols or methods resources:  Nature Protocols, Nature Methods, Protocol Exchange, and Springer Protocols.

Together there are over 51,000 searchable protocols and methods.  Please NOTE:  Single protocol resource/tool access will be discontinued on July 25, 2018.

User Guide (2018)

The bulk of SN Experiments is content from Springer Protocols with over 50,000 protocols in  molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols.  These are mainly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

More than 5,200 methods are from the Nature Methods resource; more than 2,500 from Nature Protocols; and more than 900 from the Protocol Exchange — not excluding any overlap between the four tools.

Coverage: 1980-present

Now combined into SPRINGER NATURE Experiments: the three other protocol tools are Nature Protocols, Nature Methods, and Protocol Exchange.   Together there are over 51,000 searchable protocols and methods.  Please NOTE:  Single protocol tool access will be discontinued on July 25, 2018.

Springer Protocols contains more than 51,000 (as of July 2018) molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols, mostly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals. (1980-2018)

Ten-page User Guide

A definitive, interactive source of new and classic research techniques. The database covers specific sections on: Antibodies, Bioinformatics/Genomics, Cell Biology, Chromatography, Computational Biology, DNA Delivery/Gene Transfer, Electrophoresis, Genetics, High-Throughput Analysis, Imaging/Microscopy, Immunology, Laboratory Organisms, Molecular Biology, Neuroscience, Plant Biology, Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR), Proteins and Proteomics, RNA Interference (RNAi)/siRNA, Stem Cells, and Transgenic Technology. Unique to this resource is the ability to submit a protocol. Other unique features include protocol recipes and protocol cautions. {RG 12/11/13}

Coverage: 2006-present
Tags: Biology, Biomedicine, Laboratory Practices, Medicine, Science
Related links: Search Help

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer reviewed, PubMed indexed journal devoted to the publication of biological, medical, chemical and physical research in a video format.

Coverage: Access currently to JoVE General section, Science Education, and all journal subsections; 2006- (General); 2013- (Subsections)
Tags: Bioengineering, Bioinformatics, Biology, Biomedicine, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environmental Science, Immunology, Life Science, Medicine, Neuroscience, Protocols, Psychology

Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. As of 2017, videos are selectively being added to accompany the written methods. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 500 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats.

Coverage: -1955
Tags: Biology, Life Science

A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community.

Coverage: 2011-

Springer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2017. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly.

 

Coverage: 2005-2016
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Taylorfrancis.com is a brand new platform for all academic, science, technology and medical e-Book content from Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, and Garland.

Former CRCnetBASE collections are incorporated in this collection including:  AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed).

NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.

Over 3,000 books with 2013- current publication dates. The Elsevier eBook license comes with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. The collection serves a wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. The current year’s books continue to be added to the collection throughout the year as they are published simultaneously in both online and print.

Coverage: 2013-

Full-text searchable database collection for Wiley eBooks and journals in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences. PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by Wiley but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package. Access for eBooks begins primarily with 2011. Those items available are marked with an unlocked lock icon.NEW books are added monthly.

A collection of computing books that includes the full text of over 300 O’Reilly Press books dating from 2004 to the present. Safari will grow to include all new O’Reilly titles, including the popular In a Nutshell books on important computing topics. The full-text is searchable across titles and searches can be limited to code fragments. Books can also be browsed by topic. Books can be read online, or individual chapter sections can be printed out or emailed. Access is limited to 28 simultaneous UC connections.

Coverage: 2004-present
Tags: Coding, Cyber Security, Digital Media, Forensics, Gaming, Html, Java, Technology
Comprehensive Biophysics - Edward Egelman

Publication Date: 2012

Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics - Stanley Maloy and Kelly Hughes

Publication Date: 2013

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry - William J. Lennarz

Publication Date: 2013