In this Guide:

Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on American and Canadian history, including ethnic history and relations, from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals published worldwide.

Coverage: 1964-present
Tags: Canada, History, United States Of America

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.

Coverage: Late 19th century-present
Tags: Anthropology

A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.

Coverage: 1960-present
Tags: Cultural Studies, News, United States Of America

The Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLAIB) covers international scholarly materials on all languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore from around the world. It includes citations to items from journals, series, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. MLAIB does not index book reviews.

Coverage: 1926-present
Tags: Language, Literature

Full-text reputable consumer health information compiled by the National Library of Medicine from authenticated sources including the various U.S. Government agencies involved with health care. Many free and reliable full-text sources are incorporated including drug information, dictionaries and directories.

Tags: Medicine

The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Education Source is the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

Coverage: June 1983-present
Tags: Education

The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports from 1993 forward.

Coverage: 1966-present
Tags: Education

PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.

Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Psychology

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

Coverage: 1963-present
Tags: Sociology

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

This database features 160 full-text journals; more than 160 full-text books. Indexing and abstracts for nearly 560 journals; selected coverage of nearly 290 journals; Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914; more than 37,400 images from the MPTV Image Archive.cations.

Tags: Film

The e-Duke Scholarly Collection provides access to current issues of 29 electronic journals from Duke University Press. The list includes 18 titles previously available from Project Muse, in addition to other titles still currently updated in Muse.

Advanced search page for about 250 online journals published Oxford University Press. Disciplinary focus and coverage vary.

Search interface to the fulltext of journals published by Sage, and subscribed to by the University Library, UC Davis. Contains over 400 titles. Particularly strong in the social sciences, (including cultural studies and management) material sciences, and health sciences. Database can be subdivided by subject “collection”. Coverage varies by title.

This full-text collection documents “interactions between American Indians and Europeans [in the U.S., Canada, and Mexico] from their earliest contact, . . .[through] the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century.” The documents are drawn from Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library. Also includes maps and images, scholarly essays to provide context and bibliographies to suggest further reading.

EENA contains full text letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters, centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico. Includes information on the peoples, places, environment, flora and fauna encountered. Of note are more than 9,000 Audubon prints from “The Birds of America” as well as the complete contents of the three-volume “The Quadrupeds of North America”.

Empire Online contains several thousand searchable scanned images of original documents relating to Empire Studies. Includes documents from English, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese and German points of view, and that from indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. Sections also include thematic essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies.

Coverage: 1492-present
Tags: Empires, History
Related links: Help using this database

A catalog and online archive of the indigenous languages of California, western North America, and the Americas

Tags: Language

“The Indian Claims Commission was created by the Act of August 13, 1946 (605 Stat. 1060, 25 USC 70a et seq.) to hear claims of ‘any Indian tribe, band, or other identifiable group of American Indians’ against the United States. The Act provides broad grounds for recovery, including claims based on ‘unconscionable consideration’ for tribal lands which were taken and ‘claims based on fair and honorable dealing not recognized by any existing rule of law or equity.'” (From the Index to Indian Claims Commission Decisions.)

A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.

Coverage: 1960-present
Tags: Cultural Studies, News, United States Of America

Fulltext collection of books, pamphlets and periodicals published in the United States 1639- 1800. All aspects of 17th and 18th century life in America and Europe (especially England). Based on Charles Evans’’ American Bibliography listing all known publications of the period; developed from the microform set of those titles, Evans Early American Imprints Series I.

Coverage: 1639-1800
Tags: History, United States Of America

This is a full-text collection of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the United States in the first decades of the 19th century. When the collection is complete in 2007 (the first installment was released in August 2004), it will contain 36,000 primary sources on all aspects of early 19th century America. For 17th and 18th Century American material see Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800). Evans.

Coverage: Begun in August 2004, there will be monthly updates through July 2007.
Tags: History, United States Of America

4

VPN

Provides full-image reproductions of Harper’s Weekly from 1857-1912, one of the most important weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century.

Coverage: 1857-1912
Tags: History, United States Of America

The California Newspaper Project (CNP) identifies, describes and preserves California Newspapers. It provides a searchable online catalog of newspapers held throughout the state. CNP is a participant in the United States Newspaper Program and receives funding from The National Endowment for the Humanities and the California State Library.

A full text collection of 13 California Newspapers covering the period between 1850 and 1900. It can be searched separately or in conjunction with the Early American Newspapers Collection (Series 1).

Coverage: 1850-1900
Tags: California, News

Searchable database of citations and digitized images of the pages of more than 1100 American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

Coverage: 1741-1940s
Tags: Art, Humanities, Multidisciplinary, Science, Social Science

Aims to list monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world. The bibliography consists of 71 volumes beginning in 1920 and issued annually in printed volumes. Also available in the database Literature Online (LION).

Coverage: 1920-present
Tags: Literature

Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Coverage: 1900-present
Tags: Art, Humanities

3

VPN

Large interdisciplinary abstract and citiation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools.

Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823
Tags: Art, Biology, Humanities, Multidisciplinary, Science, Social Science

HAPI Online is the searchable Web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.

“Based on Joseph Sabin’s landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900’s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.”

The Film Indexes Online portal allows for cross-searching of the AFI Catalog and the Film International Index databases. Combined, these two databases search for cast, character, director, and keyword information for thousands of films.

Tags: Film

Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.

Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.This website contains information about the initiative, how to set up Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD) programmes, how to create and locate ETDs, and current research in digital libraries related to NDLTD and ETDs.

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,311,795 theses and dissertations.