Neurobiology & Physiology

by Ruth Gustafson – September 16, 2020

This guide lists resources in neurobiology and physiology which are useful for locating literature across a range of topics including:  cardiovascular physiology; cognitive neuroscience; endocrinology; exercise physiology; gastrointestinal physiology; motor systems; muscular and connective tissue physiology; neural homeostasis; neurodevelopment; neuronal and glial cell biology; neuronal signalling; physiogenomics; renal physiology; reproductive physiology; respiratory physiology; sensory systems; and theoretical and computational neuroscience. To access licensed library resources from off-campus, please use the library VPN. Ruth is happy to help if you have questions or need additional assistance.

FOR UCD students, faculty, and staff:  During this COVID-19 time, feel free to book a Zoom appointment with Ruth for assistance in using these resources or for any questions you may have:

Book an APPOINTMENT with Ruth

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as cognitive neuroscience or vertebrate physiology rather than the more specific synaptic plasticity or frog muscular physiology.

  • UC Davis Library Catalog
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

 

  • Understanding Call Numbers

    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

    Date: 2004

BIOSIS Previews is a database designed by biologists for researching the biological sciences literature.
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Coverage: 1902-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine
Related links: PubMed Help

3

VPN
Embase provides essential biomedical evidence from evidence-based content, along with deep biomedical indexing and search forms to assist in building search strategies.
Coverage: 1974-current (for EMBASE records); 1966-current (for MEDLINE records)
Tags: Allied Health, Medicine, Nursing, Pharmacology, Pharmacy, Public Health
PsycINFO is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Medicine, Nursing, Psychiatry, Psychology
Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.

SPORTDiscus is the world’s leading database in sport, health, fitness and sports medicine. SportDiscus has over 1.7 million qualified references from thousands of international periodicals, books, e-journals, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and websites that focus on different areas involving sport, including: sport sciences, engineering, psychology, administration, sociology, history, coaching, training, physical education, physical fitness, health and recreation.

Coverage: 1800-Present
Tags: Athletics
NOTE: There are a limited number of simultaneous users >> please LOGOFF when finished. HAPI is an excellent source for locating or reviewing health and psychosocial measurement instruments. It is an index to journal articles and other sources about measurement tools used in in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI includes citations to questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests.
Coverage: 1985 to date, with many earlier measures
Tags: Medicine, Psychology, Research Methods, Tests And Instruments

Optical Society of America digital publications on optics research, including journals and proceedings papers.

F1000Prime is a “literature awareness tool that is updated continuously and comprehensively and systematically highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological and medical sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of leading researchers. Through immediate rating of individual papers by the authors’ peers, F1000 [Prime] highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than that of the journal in which they appear.

“Faculty of 1000 (F1000) Biology & Medicine are merged into one and now called F1000Prime. Includes over 40 Faculties (Broad subject areas such as biochemistry, ecology or plant biology), which are further subdivided into over 300 Sections. On average, 1,500 new evaluations are published each month. Faculty members are more than 5,000 experts worldwide (assisted by 5,000 associates) and assess articles from more than 3,500 peer-review journals.

OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide.
Coverage: 1000 A.D.-present
Tags: Libraries
"The most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses in the world", according to the publisher.
Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Springer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2019. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly.

 

Coverage: 2005-2019
Tags: Multidisciplinary
Thousands of e-books with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.
Coverage: 2013 - current

Taylorfrancis.com is a brand new platform for all academic, science, technology and medical e-Book content from Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, and Garland.

Former CRCnetBASE collections are incorporated in this collection including:  AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed).

Full-text searchable database collection for Wiley eBooks and journals in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences. PLEASE NOTE: This collection does *not* include ALL books published by Wiley but selected titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen *not* to include textbooks in this package. Access for eBooks begins primarily with 2011. Those items available are marked with an unlocked lock icon.NEW books are added monthly.

Locate the most highly-cited journals in broad disciplines in the sciences and social sciences and view detailed information on each journal.
Coverage: 1997-2018 release; 1996-2017 data
Tags: Multidisciplinary, Science
Related links: Using JCR Wisely
48,000 ebooks, computer manuals, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly.

Covers over 20,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols. UC CDL/UCD Library subscribes to THIRTEEN major laboratory methods and protocols series including the classic comprehensive work “Current Protocols in Molecular Biology” with other titles being CP in: Bioinformatics; Cell Biology; Cytometry; Human Genetics; Immunology; Microbiology; Mouse Biology; Neuroscience; Nucleic Acid Chemistry; Protein Science; Pharmacology; and Toxicology. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following FIVE protocol titles: “Chemical Biology”, “Essential Laboratory Techniques”, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging”, “Plant Biology” (new as of May 2016 with very little content) and “Stem Cell Biology”.

 

This is a combined database of 3 protocols or methods resources:  Nature Protocols, Nature Methods, and Springer Protocols. Together there are over 60,000 searchable protocols and methods.

User Guide

The bulk of SN Experiments is content from Springer Protocols with over 55,000 protocols in  molecular biology and biomedical peer-reviewed protocols.  These are mainly from the classic series Methods in Molecular Biology, formerly published by Humana Press. Other series included are: Methods in Molecular Medicine; Methods in Biotechnology; Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology; and Neuromethods. Also included are protocols from laboratory handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals.

Nature Protocols is associated with the Protocol Exchange which is an open repository through which researchers can share and discuss their protocols.

Coverage: 1980-present
Monographs, technical manuals, handbooks, review volumes, conference proceedings, scholarly journals and videotapes. These examine topics in molecular biology, genetics, development, virology, neurobiology, immunology and cancer biology.
Coverage: 2006-present
Tags: Biology, Biomedicine, Laboratory Practices, Medicine, Science
Related links: Search Help
JoVE publishes novel and gold standard research methodologies in both the physical and life sciences. The format is video to help understand how research methodologies are performed.
Coverage: Access currently to JoVE General section, Science Education, and all journal subsections; 2006- (General); 2013- (Subsections)
Tags: Bioengineering, Bioinformatics, Biology, Biomedicine, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environmental Science, Immunology, Life Science, Medicine, Neuroscience, Protocols, Psychology

Methods in Enzymology is the classic laboratory methods/protocols book series. The complete backfile of the full-text is available back to volume 1 from 1955. As of 2017, videos are selectively being added to accompany the written methods. Direct article/chapter links are provided from core subject databases such as PubMed and BIOSIS Previews. Contains detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques for research in biological and molecular sciences. More than 500 volumes are browse-able by individual volumes online from 1955 to the present or by searching across the collection by title, author, abstract, and keyword. Full-text access to articles is available in HTML and PDF formats.

Coverage: -1955
Tags: Biology, Life Science

A rapidly growing collection of peer-reviewed, life science protocols organized by 11 different fields of study and 10 different organisms. Protocols are organized chronologically with a detailed guide on how to reproduce a given experiment. Each protocol also contains an interactive and moderated Q & A section to facilitate open communication between protocol authors and the research community.

Coverage: 2011-

Open Access to full-text protocols in three categories of “in vivo”, “in vitro” and “in silico” and a general category of other.

Anyone can add their own protocols or review those under development.

Over 200 protocols available.

A website for creating, organizing, and publishing reproducible research protocols.

UC Davis researchers have access to free premium accounts.

More information

From 2009 Edition publication introduction: “This five-volume reference work gathers more than 10,000 entries, including in-depth essays by internationally known experts, and short keynotes explaining essential terms and phrases. In addition, expert editors contribute detailed introductory chapters to each of 43 topic fields ranging from the fundamentals of neuroscience to fascinating developments in the new, inter-disciplinary fields of Computational Neuroscience and Neurophilosophy. Some 1,000 multi-color illustrations enhance and expand the writings.”

Comprehensive Physiology is the most wide-ranging and authoritative collection of review content ever assembled in the physiological sciences.  Includes more than 30,000 pages of classic content digitized from the prestigious Handbook of Physiology series. This seminal series will be continually updated and expanded to capture the current science of physiology for a twenty-first-century readership.
Coverage: Handbook 1977-2008; continually updated
Tags: Physiology, Science

[Available in Print Only]

Classic and comprehensive multi-volume treatise on all aspects of physiology. Contains significant research results with extensive bibliographic references and detailed indexes, authored by physiological scientists worldwide. Divided into 14 sections each with multiple volumes:

Section 1: The Nervous System;
Section 2: The Cardiovascular System;
Section 3: The Respiratory System;
Section 4: Environmental Physiology;
Section 5: Adipose Tissue;
Section 6: The Gastrointestinal System;
Section 7: The Endocrine System;
Section 8: Renal Physiology;
Section 9: Reactions to Environmental Agents;
Section 10: Skeletal Muscle;
Section 11: Aging;
Section 12: Exercise: Regulation and Integration of Multiple Systems;
Section 13: Comparative Physiology;
Section 14: Cell Physiology.

Print set locations:

Shields Library QP 6 .H25;
Carlson Health Sciences & Blaisdell Medical Library QT 104 .H231

Related links: Comprehensive Physiology
Covers the cognitive sciences in the broadest sense. It reviews the common themes of information and information processing, representation, and computation, with in depth coverage of the core areas of psychology, philosophy, linguistics and neuroscience.

This encyclopedia incorporates research on “the behavior of animals and humans and the neurobiological and physiological processes that control it”. This three-volume set covers all areas of behavioral neuroscience with a total of 210 chapters.Topics range from: Addiction; Animal Models of Behavior; Behavioral Genetics; Brain Aging; Brain Structure & Function; Cognitive Neuroscience; Disease & Dysfunction; Developmental Biology; Emotion & Emotional Behavior; Ethology & Neuroethology; Evolution & Comparative Biology; History; Language & Communication; Learning & Memory; Molecular Neurobiology; Motivation & Reward; Motor Systems & Motor Control; Neuroplasticity; Psychoneuroendocrinology; Reproductive, Parental & Sexual behavior; Sensation & Perception; Sleeping, Waking & Arousal; Social Behavior/Cognition; and Stress.

“The Encyclopedia of Computational Neuroscience, published in conjunction with the Organization for Computational Neuroscience, will be an extensive reference work consultable by both researchers and graduate level students. It will be a dynamic, living reference, updatable and containing linkouts and multimedia content whenever relevant.”

2015 edition

Handbook series from Elsevier.  Online access is available from 2006 (volume 16) – present.

Major Reference Works enable researchers and students to build fundamental knowledge in new and interdisciplinary subject areas with in depth and comprehensive works on Neuroscience and Biobehavioral Psychology. Chapters written by world-renowned authors who are experts in the field and reviewed by editorial experts. Ebooks have unlimited, concurrent access for multiple users. New content continually added.
Coverage: 1998 - current

This new three-volume comprehensive work covers all aspects of fish physiology. Volume 1 covers The Senses, Supporting Tissues, Reproduction, and Behavior; Volume 2 covers Gas Exchange, Internal Homeostatis, and Food Uptake; and Volume 3 covers Energetics, Interactions with the Environment, Lifestyles, and Applications. Over 300 articles are arranged by the above three volume themes rather than alphabetically. Topics cover these aspects of physiology: Reproduction, Respiration, Neural(Sensory, Central, Effector), Endocrinology, Renal, Cardiovascular, Acid-base Balance, Osmoregulation, Ionoregulation, Digestion, Metabolism, Locomotion, Toxicology, Air-breathing, Migrations, Temperature, Endothermy and more.

This classic encyclopedia covering scientists from all time periods and all fields of science has been completely revised. This “complete” online version includes all the entries from both the new (2008) edition and the original edition.

Tags: Science

This open-access biomedical image search engine in is Beta test but has good retrievals for most major biomedical topics. Open-i helps “users retrieve not only the MEDLINE citation information, but also the outcome statements in the article and the most relevant figure from it. Further, it is possible to use the figure as a query component to find other relevant images or other visually similar images.”

This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.

Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

3

VPN
Searchable database of digital images.
MIT CogNet is a resource for research in cognitive science, philosophy, neuroscience, linguistics, and psychology.