This guide provides a list of major library resources for newspapers and current events at UC Davis.

Roberto C. Delgadillo

Research Support Services
Librarian

rdelgadillo@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752‑8266

The digital Burney Collection provides full text access to almost 1 million pages and approximately 1,270 newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The resource represents the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English and British colonial news media that helps chart the development of the concept of ‘news’ and ‘newspapers’ and the “free press”.

19th Century US Newspapers (NCNP) provides access to over 28 million articles of primary source newspaper content from the 19th-century, featuring full-text content and images from newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history,Western migration and the Antebellum-era among other subjects. Newspapers from all 19th-century U.S. states and territories are included.

A subset of Access World News, Acceda Noticias consists of 36 full-text newspapers and news services in the Spanish language from the United States and selected foreign countries.

Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Access World News also includes a selection of Spanish language newspapers from the United States and other countries. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.

Tags: News

Full-text of seven 19th Century African American Newspapers: Freedom’s Journal, The Colored American (Weekly Advocate), The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, The Christian Recorder. Coverage varies by newspaper.

Full text of sixty-nine historic newspapers from different African cities. Coverage differs per title. Dates range and represents 1800-1920s. This selection is a subsection of Readex’s World Newspaper archive. See link below.

Coverage: 1800-1920s
Tags: Africa, News

Full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for over 600 U.S. newspapers. The “America’s Newspapers” product has been expanded to “Access World News” with many more U.S. and California titles plus hundreds of international news sources.

Tags: News

The CDNC provides full text access to more than 5 million articles and 400,000 pages of 21 significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-2009, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California. The San Francisco Call, the Sacramento Transcript and the Sacramento Daily Union also are included in the CDNC.

Coverage: Coverage varies by title.
Tags: California, News

Search California Newspapers in NewsBank’s “America’s Newspapers” database. Search more than 100 California titles, or search a smaller set of Northern California papers under “Local Papers.” Among the California newspapers included are: Davis Enterprise (1997-), Fresno Bee (1986-current), Modesto Bee (1989-current), Orange County Register (1987- current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), San Jose Mercury News (1985-current) and San Diego Union-Tribune (2000-current).

Tags: News

A full text collection of 13 California Newspapers covering the period between 1850 and 1900. It can be searched separately or in conjunction with the Early American Newspapers Collection (Series 1).

Coverage: 1850-1900
Tags: California, News

Search and retrieve full text of the Davis Enterprise from August 1997 forwards. Excludes advertisements and graphics.

Coverage: August 1997-present
Tags: California, Davis, News

Historic American newspapers from 1690-1900, parts 1 & 2: images and full-text content, drawn from the American Antiquarian Society and from the collections of other institutions and societies. Note: These parts can be searched separately using the following URLs. For Part 1: http://uclibs.org/PID/42513 For Part 2: http://uclibs.org/PID/275700 This search also includes UCD’s subscription to California’s Historical Newspapers which can be searched separately by clicking the link on the upper right of the search screen.

Coverage: 1690-1900
Tags: History, News, United States Of America

A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press in the United States.

Coverage: 1960-present
Tags: Cultural Studies, News, United States Of America

Google has a growing collection of digitized historic and contemporary newspapers mostly from the U.S. and Canada. It’s hard to know exactly what is included, but this link goes to the alphabetical list of papers including the years covered and number of issues scanned.

Tags: News

The database includes the full-text content from 24 historic and influential newspapers published in Mexico, Peru, Brazil, Argentina and other Latin American countries. Publication dates range from 1845 to 1922.

UDNDATA is a newspaper database of the United Daily News Group, the largest news group in Taiwan. UDNDATA covers seven Chinese newspapers in Taiwan, Europe and North America: Lian He Bao 聯合報, Jing Ji Ri Bao 經濟日報, Min Sheng Bao 民生報, Lian He Wan Bao 聯合晚報, Xing Bao 星報 in Taiwan, Ouzhou Ri Bao 歐洲日報 in Europe and Meizhou Shi Jie Ri bao 美洲世界日報 in North America. The online database provides current and searchable full-text articles, as well as searchable images, published on the above seven newspapers. It is not only a major information source in Taiwan, but also an important information sources on overseas Chinese in Europe and North America.

Tags: China, News

The Los Angeles Sentinel is the flagship newspaper of the local African-American community. The database provides coverage from 1934 to 2005.

Current full-text content of the Los Angeles Times.

Coverage: 1985-present
Tags: California, News, United States Of America

Historical coverage of the Los Angeles Times, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue in 1881.

Coverage: 1881-1985.
Tags: California, History, News, United States Of America

Current full-text of the New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review).

Coverage: 1980-present
Tags: New York, News, United States Of America

Historical coverage of the New York Times from 1857-2012, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue.

Coverage: 1857-2012
Tags: New York, News, United States Of America

Historical coverage of the Philadelphia Tribune from 1912-2001, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue.

Current full-text of the Los Angeles Times, New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review), and the Wall Street Journal. For historical backfiles, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

NICNP is provided by Shanghai Wenda Information Co., Ltd., based in Shanghai, China. The database provides internet access to titles, authors, and abstracts of newspaper/journal articles published between 1833 to 1979 in China. NICNP covers various subject areas in social sciences and humanities, such as religion, literature, culture, art, politics, economics, and history.

Coverage: 1833-1992
Tags: China, News

Search and retrieve full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1985 through the previous day. Excludes advertisements and graphics.

Coverage: 1985-present
Tags: California, News, United States Of America

Full-text of the Sacramento Bee newspaper from 1857-1979. In time, coverage will be complete to 1984 where the current online edition begins.

“Pravda was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991, when Boris Yeltsin signed a decree closing Pravda down. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers’ newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. After the collapse of the USSR, nationalist and communist journalists intermittently published a print newspaper and an online newspaper under the name Pravda. Today, Pravda represents the oppositional stance of the Communist Party in the Russian Federation.”

Coverage: 1912-2009
Tags: News, Russia, Soviet Union

The ShunBao (Shen Bao)database is composed of the digitized issues of the Shanghai, China newspaper published from 1872 to 1949. Considered by many to be the longest lasting and most influential newspaper in modern China, the publication covered the major political and social developments for over half a century. The full name of the newspaper was Shenjiang Xinbao (translated as Shenjiang New Post, also known in English as the Shanghai News). Content has not been translated or transliterated from the Chinese script.

Coverage: 1872-1949
Tags: Asia, China, Cultural Studies, News

Searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Tags: News

Current full-text content of the Wall Street Journal.

Coverage: 1985-present
Tags: News

Historical coverage of the Wall Street Journal 1889-1985 with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue.

Coverage: 1889-1988
Tags: News

Historical coverage of the Washington Post from 1877-1997, with both full page and individual article images. Searchable full text back to the first issue.

The “People’s Daily” is the official voice of the central government of the People’s Republic of China. This database provides complete official records of the Chinese government from 1946-2005.

Coverage: 1946-2005
Tags: China, News

Search Palmer’s Index to The Times, 1790-1905 and the Official Index to the Times, 1906-1980. Includes full-text for 1800-1870.

Scanned (not searchable) page images of:

Los Angeles Times (Library ed.)
Wall Street Journal (Eastern ed.)
Washington Post (Final ed.)
New York Times (East Coast, Late ed.)

Other resources may include searchable full-text for these newspapers but not images of the actual printed pages.

Coverage: Coverage begins from 2008 - .
Tags: News

This site is an ever-changing collection of over 700,000 photographs from the Associated Press news service, historic images. Most of the images are contemporary and date from 1995 forwards and all include descriptive captions and source information.

Coverage: 1844-present; current file contains 1995-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

The California Newspaper Project (CNP) identifies, describes and preserves California Newspapers. It provides a searchable online catalog of newspapers held throughout the state. CNP is a participant in the United States Newspaper Program and receives funding from The National Endowment for the Humanities and the California State Library.

The Chronicle’s web site features the complete contents of the latest issue, including daily news, advice columns, blogs and current job listings. Content from 1989 – present can be searched by keyword. The latest edition of The Almanac of Higher Education is linked at http://chronicle.com/section/Almanac-of-Higher-Education/801/. Subscription includes online access to The Chronicle of Philanthropy, http://philanthropy.com/section/Home/172 , 1997 – present; Arts & Letters Daily, http://www.aldaily.com/ ; the ability to set up RSS feeds to receive focused updates (see the Site Map) ; and options to sign up for the delivery of topical newsletters, http://chronicle.com/section/Newsletters/85.

Coverage: 1989 - present
Tags: Education, Universities

This site sponsored by the Library of Congress allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Over a period of approximately 20 years, NDNP will create a national, digital resource of historically significant newspapers published between 1836 and 1922 from all U.S. states and territories. Currently, the site contains selected newspapers from California (The San Francisco Call, Sacramento Record-Union), District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Kentucky, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah, and Virginia and Washington.

Coverage: 1836-1922 some full text papers; 1690 - present is a bibliographic record for newspaper titles.
Tags: News, United States Of America

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Electronic Library includes many resources for the study of current and historical congressional and American government issues. The CQ Researcher is an invaluable source of background information on topical issues since 1991. The Global Researcher is similar to CQ Researcher but with an international orientation. CQ Weekly Report, available starting in 1983, reports in depth on congressional activities and political developments.

Also included is the Politics in America, with information about members of congress and their districts. Additional online books are excellent references about U.S. politics, voting, congress and government.

6

VPN

Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors. Includes full-text of the Wall Street Journal. Coverage in more than 20 languages.

Tags: Business, News

A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.

BANCHE DATI DI PERIODICI DISPONIBILI ON LINE–This is an Italian language list of and links to (mostly)European journal and newspaper collections digitized by libraries and other institutions. It is especially useful for Italian publications.

Search the following Chadwyck-Healey databases: Palmer’s Index to The Times, 1790-1905 (with full text from 1800-1870) the Official Index to the Times, 1906-1980, and the Historical Index to The New York Times, 1851-1922.

Tags: History, News

Extensive listing of links to Latin American newspapers. The list is compiled by Zona Latina, which covers Latin American media and marketing.

One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.

Search Palmer’s Index to The Times, 1790-1905 and the Official Index to the Times, 1906-1980. Includes full-text for 1800-1870.