NPB 68: Biology of Addiction

by Ruth Gustafson – October 3, 2018

Addiction Biology Search Terms
Once you’ve picked a topic, you will need to think of search terms to use for locating articles and other publications. Search the UC Davis Library online catalog (for books, DVDs and more) and use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) and also (for books owned at the medical libraries) the National Library of Medicine (NLM) terms. Each library subject database also has subject lists/thesauri that can help you precisely search your topic, e.g PubMed has MeSH and BIOSIS Previews has Concept Codes and more.

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

  • BioAg Consultation Desk [CLOSED DOWN as of Jan 2015]

The BioAg Reference Desk located on the 3rd Floor of Shields Library is closed down. BioAgEnvi sciences librarians are still located on the 3rd floor of Shields in Room 388 at lower left of this Shields third floor map.

UC Davis has 2 separate health sciences libraries and one life sciences collection in the Shields Library (Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences). Important addiction biology information may also be found as part of the Government Information collection of Shields Library, Lower Level.

  • Biological, Agricultural @ Environmental Sciences, Shields Library:  The BioAgEnvi Sciences print collections are located mainly on the 3rd floor of Shields Library. Some collections in the environmental sciences are located on the 2nd floor in the G classification areas.
  • Blaisdell Medical Library, Medical Education Building, UC Davis Medical Center
  • Carlson Health Sciences Library, Southwest UCD campus
  • Government Information Collection, Shields Library  —  The UC Davis Library is a federal and state depository library with extensive historical and current collections in print, microform and electronic formats. We collect extensively from major international, intergovernmental organizations, selectively from local jurisdictions, and on a very limited basis from foreign governments. Agriculture, forestry, the environment and ecology are areas of strength. We collect comprehensively from the U.S. Congress and California Legislature, along with federal and state laws and regulations. The Library’s collection of technical report literature is extensive. We emphasize statistical data in all collecting areas. Most government documents and maps are listed in the Harvest UC Davis Library Catalog and the UC-wide MELVYL Catalog. Some materials, such as technical reports and historical documents, may require specialized indexes or assistance from Shields reference librarians.

 

Biology of addiction materials may be found at many UCD Libraries. Browsable subject headings that bring up these types of publications include:  Substance abuse ; Substance-Related Disorders;  Alcohol  OR Alcoholism ; Cocaine OR Cocaine Abuse ; Heroin OR Heroin Abuse; Marijuana OR Marijuana Abuse ; LSD (Drug) ; Ecstasy (Drug)

  • UC Davis Library Catalog
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

 

  • Understanding Call Numbers

    Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

    Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

    Date: 2004

Guide provided by the UCD Health Sciences Libraries to their eBook collections including a select list of major texts, organized by medical specialty.   Choose “Selected eBooks by Subject” and scroll to section on “Drugs and Pharmacology”.  Books in this section may contain  information on illegal drugs of abuse as well as legal drugs/substances.

Health Sciences eBooks