This guide offers guidance on information resources for nursing and physician assistant (PA) clinicians and graduate students, covering clinical and research search strategies.

Bruce Abbott

BML
Librarian

btabbott@ucdavis.edu

916-734-3529

In this Guide:

  • PubMed
    Citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Coverage: 1946-present
    Tutorial on Using PubMed for Nurses
  • Ovid MEDLINE 
    This is Ovid’s search interface to the MEDLINE database. See the information on PubMed above. MEDLINE is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Coverage: 1946-present
  • CINAHL Complete  (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
    References and abstracts on nursing, biomedical, allied health and consumer health literature. Also includes health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based care sheets.Coverage: 1982-
  • Embase
    Source: Elsevier Embase is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research and conference abstracts. Embase contains over 22 million records spanning 1974-present, with over 1 million records added annually. The Embase journal collection is international with over 7,500 active peer-reviewed journals more than 90 countries. All MEDLINE records produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) are included, as well as over 5 million records not covered in MEDLINE.Coverage: 1974-current (for EMBASE records); 1966-current (for MEDLINE records)
  • Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) Database of Evidence Based Practice 
    The Joanna Briggs Institute’s Evidence Based Practice database of systematic reviews complements those found in the Cochrane Library. The Joanna Briggs Institute, an international not-for-profit research and development organization, “develops evidence in various formats for nursing, allied health and medical professionals as well as support information for consumers.” It was established in Adelaide, South Australia in 1996, and collaborates internationally with over 70 entities world-wide. What is included in the Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database: The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database is a comprehensive range of resources including over 3,000 records across seven publication types: *Evidence Summaries — Literature reviews that summarize existing international literature on common healthcare interventions and activities *Evidence-Based Recommended Practices — Database of procedures that describe and/or recommend practice on various clinical topics *Best Practice Informa
  • Scopus
    Scopus, a large interdisciplinary resource, indexes, selectively abstracts and provides citation analysis for approximately 20,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 5,000 international publishers, as well as 2,600 open access journals, published sets of conference proceedings, trade publications and millions of selected web pages. Scopus’ 50 million records consist of: 29 million records, including references, going back to 1995 (84% include abstracts)and 21 million pre-1996 records going back as far as 1823. Scopus also cross-searches 25.2 million patents from five patent offices (US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office) Coverage extends across disciplines in the life and health sciences, the physical sciences, the social sciences and the arts and humanities. Scopus also provides tools designed to support research collaboration and assess journal quality.
  • SportDiscus [via EBSCO]
    PLEASE NOTE: only 4 simultaneous user access — please EXIT when finished.SPORTDiscus is the world’s leading database in sport, health, fitness and sports medicine. SportDiscus has over 1.5 million qualified references from thousands of international periodicals, books, e-journals, conference proceedings, theses, dissertations, and websites that focus on different areas involving sport, including: sport sciences, engineering, psychology, administration, sociology, history, coaching, training, physical education, physical fitness, health and recreation.Coverage: 1830-Present
  • Web of Science [via Web of Knowledge]
    Provides access to the content from three Thomson Reuters ISI (Institute for Scientific Information) Citation Databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index.Coverage: 1900-present [Science 1899-, Social Sciences 1900-, Arts & Humanities 1975-]
  • Google Scholar
    Google Scholar searches for scholarly literature on the web, including “peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports..from a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities.” Often articles cited in Google Scholar results are available to UC Davis users through electronic journal and database subscriptions that the Library has licensed and paid for.
  • Cochrane Library
    A collection of databases containing the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness, the Cochrane Review Methodology Database and information about the Cochrane Collaboration
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments [via Ovid] (HAPI)
    HAPI is an index to journal articles and other sources about measurement tools used in in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI includes citations to questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests.Coverage: 1985 to date, with many earlier measures
  • PsycINFO [via Proquest]
    PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.Coverage: 1840-present
  • PAIS International Database [via Proquest]
    Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy – journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.Coverage: 1972-present
  • Dissertation Abstracts International / Dissertations & Theses [via ProQuest]
    Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations (for non-UC dissertations provides free access to 20% of the document, and allows purchase of remaining content). Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.
  • Dissertations & Theses at University of California
    This is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations & Theses International. It is comprised only of those dissertations and theses completed in the UC System. Access to the full text of the dissertations and theses is available through this database.
  • Open Access Theses and Dissertations
    OATD currently indexes over 1.5 million open access international graduate theses and dissertations.
    Metadata from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
  • Nursing Commons
    Open Access repository containing theses, dissertations, DNP capstone projects, and other content from selected institutions
  • Global Health [via OvidSP]
    “Global Health brings together the resources of two internationally renowned databases – the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS. Global Health provides an alternative, complementary point of reference with a broad analysis of foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material.”
  • UpToDate
    UpToDate is a point of care clinical medicine database, providing coverage of over 8500 topics in 17 medical specialties and includes over 97,000 pages of text. From the “About UpToDate” webpage: “Our physician editors and authors review and update our content continuously. An updated version of UpToDate is released every four months.”
  • ProQuest Statistical Insight
    ProQuest Statistical Insight combines Index and abstract records previously available from print indexes: American Statistics Index (ASI) from 1973, and Index to International Statistics (IIS)from 1980. ProQuest Statistical Insight enables searching indexes and tables for statistics produced by the U.S. government and major international organizations. The database includes some statistical tables as well as abstracts, or summaries, of statistical publications. The Library has many of the publications indexed in print or electronic format.
  • Compendex [via Engineering Village 2]
    Relevant to nursing for informatics related issues such as the technical aspects of the EMR, decision support applications, etc.Most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature (including computer science and informatics), containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences.Coverage: 1884-present
  • ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) [via Proquest]
    The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports from 1993 forward.Coverage: 1966-present
  • LexisNexis Academic 
    One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles

Clinical Medicine Book Collections

  • AccessMedicine
    AccessMedicine.com is an innovative online resource that provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted sources. To keep pace with the changing practice of medicine, AccessMedicine delivers the latest medical advances and knowledge in a digital aggregation with online desktop, PDA, iPod, and MP3 compatible device solutions.
  • OVID Books
    A collection of books from Lippincott, Williams, & Wilkins, including medical, nursing, and basic sciences titles.
  • STAT!Ref
    STAT!Ref provides access to the latest editions of medical, chemical and pharmacological texts, dictionaries and indexes. Users are able to cross-search the entire library and results are displayed as hot links leading to detailed information in full-text book format with tables and graph.

 Library catalogs

  • UC Davis Library Catalog Search
    Use to search local UC Davis Library Catalog (select Library Catalog tab). Does not include UC Davis Mabie Law Library holdings.
  • UC Melvyl Catalog
    Use to find books, journals, and other items in the collections of all ten UC campuses, and worldwide.
  • WorldCat [via First Search / OCLC]
    OCLC catalog of millions of records for books, journal titles and materials in other formats from approximately 12,000 libraries worldwide

Link to: UC Davis Library Search

Library Search: Top 6 Things To Know

  1. We are changing library search to make it easier to find what you need with fewer clicks.
  2. There are 3 main tabs — Everything includes content provided by UC Davis as well as hundreds of millions of citations; Library Catalog searches the items provided by UC Davis; Course Reserves shows you items on reserve for various classes.
  3. You can easily and intuitively limit your search, using the filters provided in the left navigation bar. Ask Your Librarian for more tips about getting the most from library search.
  4. It’s easy to limit searches by campus library location.
  5. Once you identify an interesting item, there is clear information about whether it is available online or at a campus library.
  6. The My Account section is used to check the status of items you have on loan or requested. This is also where you go to personalize things like how many results are displayed per page.

Library Search FAQs


Selected Clinical Nursing Titles

Nursing Theory Websites


Nursing Related Legislation on the Web


MetaCollections of Links and Resources on Nursing

  • Essential Nursing Resources — from ICIRN
    Note: opens as a PDF.Essential Nursing Resources (ENR) is the premier product of the Interagency Council on Information Resources in Nursing. The ICIRN first created a research tool for nurses and librarians beginning in 1967 and has, since that time, provide a tool listing important and helpful references and resources for nurses and librarians.
  • Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library-online repository
    The Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library – online research repository is committed to providing knowledge resources to help advance nurses and patient care. The repository is dedicated to bringing the latest research on nursing knowledge important to all nurses – clinicians, researchers, educators and students.

History of Nursing Websites

Tools for managing citations: Endnote

The campus has a licensed subscription to Endnote, which is a bibliographic manager program that is available as software and as a web-based version. Many people use Endnote because of its compatibiilty with Microsoft Word. The libraries offer help and classes on Endnote.

Please note:  When you download EndNote, follow the accompanying instructions precisely.


EndNote Training

Take a few minutes to watch some introductory videos from the EndNote | Thomson Reuter’s website:

UC Davis Library’s EndNote:  Getting started guide by Librarian Cory Craig provides a web-based overview to basic EndNote functions, illustrated with screenshots.  Includes custom settings for UC Davis to enable finding full-text.

  • EndNote Version x7 Instruction Guide
    This pdf offers detailed instructions for getting started with EndNote x7. Screenshots of the EndNote Windows interface are provided. Includes UC Davis custom settings for finding full-text.
  • Mac EndNote Interface
    The Mac EndNote interface is a little different from the Windows. This two page pdf provides a simple guide to the EndNote icons and menu items on the Mac.

UCe-Links

Configure UC-eLinks within EndNote to access Library licensed journals and full-text while on campus

To use UC-eLinks from within EndNote, make the following modification:

1. Open EndNote.
On the top menu, select Edit / Preferences / Find Full Text (tab)
or mac version: Endnote / Preferences / Find Full Text

2. In the OpenURL Path text box, enter
http://ucelinks.cdlib.org:8888/sfx_local
(check all 4 boxes)
Click OK

How to use UC-eLinks from within EndNote

In your EndNote Library, highlight a citation.
On the top menu select: References / URL/ OpenURL Link
to reach the UC-eLinks menu to locate the full text of the article.


Google Docs and Endnote

How to use EndNote with Google Docs

1. Have your document open in Google Docs.
2. Have an EndNote library open.
3. Drag and drop citation to the place in the document where it is wanted.
(It will appear in Google Docs document unformatted {Adler,2006 #578})
4. When finished adding citations, download as a MS Word doc.
5. Open with MS Word if not already open.
6. In MS Word, select EndNote menu so that EndNote commands are visible.
7. Select the style needed and click on ‘Update Citations and Bibliography’
(command wording may differ in different MS Word versions).

The crucial piece of this is that everyone adding citations to the Google Docs document needs to use the same EndNote library because part of the citation identification is the record number.  The library could be in Dropbox or on a server to which everyone has access.


Configure Google Scholar

Google Scholar: set preferences for UC-eLinks & EndNote

by Bernadette Swanson

http://scholar.google.com or go right to the Scholar Settings: http://scholar.google.com/scholar_settings

Use the preferences links down the left side of the page: 
Search Results
Language
Library Links

 


Search results:

check box for:

  • Bibliography Manager: show links to import citations into ENDNOTE
    (not BibTex).
  • Make any other changes to Search results settings

 

 


Library Links:

  • By default you will see OpenWorldCat – Library Search (that is the backend to our Melvyl Catalog System)
  • Search for California Digital Library –UC-eLinks and select the checkbox
  • If University of California Davis – UC-eLinks is not already selected, then search for it and select the checkbox.
  • You should have three Library links as shown below (Open WorldCat, University of California Davis and California Digital Library).
  • Save when you have complete your selections.

Configure Scholar Preferences to work with UC-eLinks and EndNote

Now you should see the UC-eLinks link on the right side of your search results, and the ‘Export to EndNote’ link below each of your search results.


EndNote.com

EndNote Technical Support

EndNote Telephone Help Desk
hours M-F 6am-5pm PST
1 800 336 4474, prompt 4, option 1.

Video Training
www.endnote.com/training
www.youtube.com/endnotetraining

General Nursing Associations

  • American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN)
    The American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) is the national voice for America’s baccalaureate and higher-degree nursing education programs.
  • Commission on Graduate of Foreign Nursing Schools: CGFNS
    CGFNS International (Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools®) is an internationally recognized authority on credentials evaluation and verification pertaining to the education, registration and licensure of nurses and healthcare professionals worldwide.
  • Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
    The Foundation is dedicated to advancing environmental conservation and cutting-edge scientific research around the world, as well as helping to improve quality of life in the San Francisco Bay Area.
  • Immunization Action Coalition
    The Immunization Action Coalition works to increase immunization rates and prevent disease by creating and distributing educational materials for health professionals and the public that enhance the delivery of safe and effective immunization services.
  • International Council of Nurses (ICN)
    ICN is “is a federation of national nurses’ associations (NNAs), representing nurses in more than 128 countries. Founded in 1899, ICN is the world’s first and widest reaching international organisation for health professionals.
  • NursingCenter
    NursingCenter is your portal to more than 800 continuing education activities and thousands of clinical articles from 50 leading nursing journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, including the American Journal of Nursing, Nursing2008, Nursing Management, The Nurse Practitioner, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, and many more specialty journals.
  • NYU School of Medicine: Center for Immigrant Health
    The Center for Immigrant Health’s mission is to facilitate the delivery of linguistically, culturally, and epidemiologically sensitive healthcare services to newcomer populations. The Center strives for the elimination of ethnic and racial disparities in healthcare.
  • Sigma Theta Tau International: Honor Society of Nursing
    In 1922 six nurses founded Sigma Theta Tau at the Indiana University Training School for Nurses, now the Indiana University School of Nursing, in Indianapolis, Ind, USA. The founders chose the name from the Greek words Storgé, Tharsos and Timé meaning “love,” “courage” and “honor.”
  • The Joint Commission
    An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission accredits and certifies nearly 15,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. Joint Commission accreditation and certification is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to meeting certain performance standards.

California Nursing Associations

  • Association of California Nurse Leaders (ACNL)
    The Association of California Nurse Leaders is the nursing leadership organization that advances professional nursing practice, influences health policy and improves the health of our communities.
  • California Board of Registered Nursing
    The California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) regulates the practice of registered nursing and certified advanced practice nurses in order to protect the public. The Board exists to protect the health and safety of consumers and promote quality registered nursing care in California.
  • California Institute for Nursing & Health Care (CINHC)
    Founded in 2002, the California Institute for Nursing & Health Care (CINHC) is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to developing solutions to a critical nurse shortage and related nursing issues that affect the health of all Californians.
  • California School Nurses Organization (CSNO)
    The California School Nurses Organization (CSNO) was formally organized in 1950 after 2 years of meetings for “the promotion of comprehensive and constructive school health programs.
  • Coalition for Nursing Careers in California
    CNCC is an independent coalition of health care organizations, hospital administrators, and nurse educators and faculty working together to address the long term nursing shortage in California.

National Nursing Associations

  • American Nurses Association (ANA)
    The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the only full-service professional organization representing the nation’s 2.9 million registered nurses (RNs) through its 54 constituent member associations. The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues.
  • American Nurses Association (ANA) – California
    ANA\C, a constituent member of ANA, leads the profession of nursing in fulfilling it’s commitment to excellence in practice, education, research, and social policy.
  • National Association of School Nurses (NASN)
    The National Association of School Nurses improves the health and educational success of children and youth by developing and providing leadership to advance school nursing practice.
  • National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)
    NINR “supports clinical and basic research to establish a scientific basis for the care of individuals across the life span.” Information and publications on topics such as end-of-life care, pediatrics, women’s health, and geriatric care are accessible. Also includes information about diversity programs, conference listings, and other related links.
  • National League for Nurses (NLN)
    Dedicated to excellence in nursing education, the National League for Nursing is the preferred membership organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education. NLN members include nurse educators, education agencies, health care agencies, and interested members of the public.
  • National Network for Immunization Information (NNii)
    The mission of the National Network for Immunization Information (NNii) is to provide the public, health professionals, policy makers, and the media with up-to-date, scientifically valid information.
  • NCMHD: National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities
    “The mission of the National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD) is to promote minority health and to lead, coordinate, support, and assess the NIH…”

Nursing Specialties

  • Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association (ASTNA)
    “The Air & Surface Transport Nurses Association (also known as National Flight Nurses Association) is a nonprofit member organization whose mission is to advance the practice of transport nursing and enhance the quality of patient care.”
  • American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN)
    “AACN is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world, representing the interests of more than 500,000 nurses who are charged with the responsibility of caring for acutely and critically ill patients.”
  • American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA)
    “Founded in 1931, the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA) is the professional association for more than 37,000 Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (CRNAs) and student nurse anesthetists.”
  • American Association of Occupational Health Nurses (AAOHN)
    “AAOHN is dedicated to advancing and maximizing the health, safety and productivity of domestic and global workforces by providing education, research, public policy and practice resources for occupational and environmental heath nurses.”
  • American College of Nurse Midwives (ACNM)
    “The mission of ACNM is to promote the health and well-being of women and infants within their families and communities through the development and support of the profession of midwifery as practiced by certified nurse-midwives, and certified midwives.”
  • American College of Nurse Practitioners (ACNP)
    “…a national, non-profit membership organization whose mission is to ensure a solid policy and regulatory foundation that enables Nurse Practitioners to continue providing accessible, high quality healthcare to the nation.”
  • American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC)
    “ANCC’s internationally renowned credentialing programs certify nurses in specialty practice areas, recognize healthcare organizations for nursing excellence through the Magnet Recognition Program®, and accredit providers of continuing nursing education.’
  • American Psychiatric Nurses Association (APNA)
    “The American Psychiatric Nurses Association, APNA, is a professional membership organization of nearly 5,000 members committed to the specialty practice of psychiatric mental health nursing, health and wellness promotion…”
  • Association for Death Education and Counseling (ADEC): The Thanatology Association
    ADEC is one of the oldest interdisciplinary organizations in the field of dying, death and bereavement. Its nearly 2,000 members include a wide array of mental and medical health personnel, educators, clergy, funeral directors and volunteers.
  • Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN)
    The Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) is the national association committed to improving patient safety in the surgical setting.
  • Association of Rehabilitation Nurses (ARN)
    “ARN’s mission is to promote and advance professional rehabilitation nursing practice through education, advocacy, collaboration, and research to enhance the quality of life for those affected by disability and chronic illness.”
  • Emergency Nurses Association (ENA)
    “The mission of the Emergency Nurses Association is to advocate for patient safety and excellence in emergency nursing practice.”
  • Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association (HPNA)
    “Established in 1986, the Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association is the nation’s largest and oldest professional nursing organization dedicated to promoting excellence in hospice and palliative nursing care.”
  • National Association of Orthopedic Nurses (NAON)
    “The National Association of Orthopaedic Nurses (NAON) is a non-profit, volunteer-run organization that exists to enhance the lives and careers of Orthopaedic Nurses.”
  • National Gerontological Nursing Association (NGNA)
    The National Gerontological Nurses Association (NGNA) was founded in 1984, and is dedicated to the clinical care of older adults across diverse care settings.”
  • Oncology Nursing Society
  • Society of Pediatric Nurses (SPN)
    “To date, SPN is the only broad-based pediatric nursing organization founded for all nurses involved in the care of children and families.”
  • Visiting Nurse Associations of America (VNAA)
    “Our mission is to support, promote and advance the nation’s network of VNAs who provide cost-effective and compassionate home healthcare to some of the nation’s most vulnerable individuals, particularly the elderly and individuals with disabilities.”

Comprehensive lists of nursing organizations

Nursing Journals


State Nursing Association Journals

Nursing Clinical Practice Guidelines

  • National Guideline Clearinghouse
    Find clinical practice guidelines based on scientific evidence.
  • CDC
    Browse or search for guidelines on various topics.
  • Evidence Reports (AHRQ)
    Reports on which agencies and organizations can base clinical guidelines, performance measures, and quality improvement tools.
  • U.S. Preventive Services Task Force
    Evaluates clinical research to assess the merits of preventive measures, including screening tests, counseling, immunizations, and preventive medications.
  • NCCN Guidelines in Oncology
    From National Comprehensive Cancer Network.
  • NIH Consensus
    Evidence-based consensus statements addressing controversial issues important to healthcare providers, policymakers, patients, researchers, and the general public.
  • AHA: CPR & ECC
    American Heart Association Guidelines for CPR and ECC.
    See Also:  Available through the Citrix Desktop; login to Citrix and navigate to the CRC.
    • Nursing Consult
      Browse guidelines by specialty, patient age or authoring organization.
  • PubMed search on nursing practice guidelines (in English)
  • GERIATRIC NURSING RESOURCES FOR CARE OF OLDER ADULTS
    This site from the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing offers hundreds of evidence-based resources for nurses and other caretakers of the elderly. Readers may like to begin by selecting View Resources, which directs to a list of more than two dozen types of resources, including Apps, Journals, Listservs, Marketing Materials, and many others. The site can also be searched using the drop down menu of evidence-based geriatric topics, such as Advanced Directives, Sleep, and Substance Abuse, among others. The content of the topics, however, is the most essential aspect of the site. Selecting Critical Care from topics list, for instance, navigates to an impressively informative article by Michelle C. Balas, PhD and colleagues, in which the authors explain parameters of assessment, nursing care strategies, and other details of critical care. These geriatric nursing resources are as reliable as they are readable. [CNH

The EVIDENCE PYRAMID is often used to illustrate the development of evidence. At the base of the pyramid is animal research and laboratory studies – this is where ideas are first developed. As you progress up the pyramid the amount of information available decreases in volume, but increases in relevance to the clinical setting.

Meta Analysis – systematic review that uses quantitative methods to synthesize and summarize the results.

Systematic Review – summary of the medical literature that uses explicit methods to perform a comprehensive literature search and critical appraisal of individual studies and that uses appropriate statistical techniques to combine these valid studies.

Randomised Controlled Trial – Participants are randomly allocated into an experimental group or a control group and followed over time for the variables/outcomes of interest.

Cohort Study – Involves identification of two groups (cohorts) of patients, one which received the exposure of interest, and one which did not, and following these cohorts forward for the outcome of interest.

Case Control Study – study which involves identifying patients who have the outcome of interest (cases) and patients without the same outcome (controls), and looking back to see if they had the exposure of interest.

Case Series – report on a series of patients with an outcome of interest. No control group is involved.  (Definitions from CEBM)


Other Levels of Evidence

NHMRCHow to Use the Evidence: Assessment and Application of Scientific Evidence

Joanna Briggs Institute – Levels of Evidence – One of four levels of evidence are assigned to all conclusions drawn in JBI Systematic Reviews.

Centre for Evidence Based Medicine (UK)Levels of Evidence (March 2009)

Physicianassistantedu.org 

This website is comprised of licensing guides, details on pursing a speciality area of practice, earning a certificate of added qualification (CAQ), preparing for the PANCE exam and salary data that will help individuals get in to and advance in their career.

Elsevier’s ClinicalKey for Nursing AND Clinical Skills

  • ClinicalKey for Nursing
  • Clinical Skills
    Over 1,300 skills are featured within Adult, Pediatric, and specialties such as Perioperative, Maternal/Newborn, Neonatal Intensive Care, Oncology, Respiratory Care, and others.

Clinical Resources Center Website

Cardiovascular Nursing: Scope And Standards Of Practice 1st_Edition
Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements 2nd_Edition
Essential Guide to Nursing Practice, The: Applying ANA’s Scope and Standards in Practice and Education 1st_Edition
Faith Community Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice 2nd_Edition
Forensic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice 1st_Edition
Genetics and Ethics in Health Care: New Questions in the Age of Genomics Health 1st_Edition
Gerontological Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice 3rd_Edition
Guide to the Code of Ethics for Nurses: Interpretation and Application 1st_Edition
Holistic Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice 2nd_Edition
Home Health Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice 2nd_Edition
Hospice and Palliative Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice 4th_Edition
Magnet Hospitals Revisited: Attraction and Retention of Professional Nurses 1st_Edition
NDNQI Case Studies in Nursing Quality Improvement 1st_Edition
Nursing Administration: Scope and Standards of Practice 2nd_Edition
Nursing and Health Care Ethics: A Legacy and a Vision 1st_Edition
Nursing Informatics: Scope and Standards of Practice 1st_Edition
Nursing Professional Development: Scope and Standards of Practice 1st_Edition
Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice 2nd_Edition
Nursing’s Social Policy Statement: The Essence of the Profession 3rd_Edition
Pediatric Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice 1st_Edition
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice 2nd_Edition
Public Health Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice 2nd_Edition