Melinda M Livas
Student Services Librarian
Although EndNote Online is free to all UCD full-time students, some may be interested in other bibliographic management software programs including some that are open-access. Wikipedia has an extensive comparison table for over 35 bibliographic/reference management software products at:
Many of the software vendors also have their own comparison tables or charts.
A simpler version of EndNote Online called EndNote Basic is available freely to all.
From the following EndNote webpage, scroll down to the gray section labeled “Compare features and capacity” to find the table comparing features available in EndNote Basic versus EndNote desktop/Online versions:
For further assistance, feel free to make an appointment with Melinda Livas Book an APPOINTMENT with Melinda
EndNote Online (formerly EndNote Web) facilitates collaborative work and using EndNote Online from any internet-accessible location in the world. After installing a Word plug-in on your computer, you can “Cite While You Write” from EndNote Online.
EndNote Online X9
Author: Clarivate Analytics
Set up for EndNote Online by 1) creating a Web of Science account or by 2) setting up an EndNote Online account directly through EndNote
For NUT 117, you will be doing the first option.
Before you get started with EndNote Online, you will need to add some plug-ins to enable your Exporting features to work and to set up Microsoft Word for the in-text citing or “Cite While You Write” (CWYW) feature.
You can only create one library in EndNote Online but you use the Groups option to set up topical segregations of your library. Your EndNote Online library can contain up to 50,000 references (if you’ve purchased EndNote Desktop and synced with EN online, the reference count is unlimited). You may then have up to 5,000 custom groups in your library. With one large library you can search across the entire library, no matter how many groups you have.
There are several different methods to bring references into your EndNote Online Library. For NUT 117, we will just cover the Direct Export option from the Web of Science interface and searching in BIOSIS Previews or the Web of Science Core Collection database.
Direct Export for BioAg Related Databases
Most UCD licensed BioAg subject databases enable one to *directly* export source bibliographic information from the database into your EndNote Library. This is the most efficient method for building a large EndNote library very quickly.
EndNote Online works directly with Web of Science databases (such as BIOSIS Previews) and with EBSCO databases (such as Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide or SPORTDiscus or Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide)
CLASS EXERCISE: Search BIOSIS Previews and add appropriate references to your EndNote Online Library.
NOTE: Your instructor will also demo using the Capture Reference button to pull records from the PubMed clipboard.
Using your EndNote Online library, take a look at publication styles which are available by going to Format menu and choosing Bibliography.
CLASS EXERCISE: Set up three favorite styles, including your required one for NUT 117, American Journal of Clinical Nutrition
Before requesting help, first search the EndNote (software) KnowledgeBase collection, or look for an appropriate YouTube EndNote training video, online training, or webinar (see links below).
If you still have EndNote questions, your course instructor (listed at the top of this Library Course Guide) is your first person to contact. If your instructor is not available, a team of UCD librarians work with EndNote users and may be contacted by email. See the last link below.
Technical support is also available from the vendor. Years of experience of UCD librarians indicates that the most prompt and useful vendor assistance is provided by phone. If you still need assistance after trying all steps below, please call the EndNote tech help Monday-Friday, 6am-5pm Pacific Time, 800-336-4474 and at the prompt press 4, and then select the “ResearchSoft Products” option.
***Make sure VPN is on***
Use the link above, or,
From the Web of Science database: click on the “Endnote” link (in tool bar at top screen)
From Web of Science:
Log on to Endnote Online
Search Web of Science. Then from the Web of Science results screen:
Select citations to export,
click on the Save to EndNote online link
choose Save to EndNote online
Use Numbers of Records to identify which citations to send, then for Record Content choose: (Author, Title, Source, and Abstract)
Export will happen automatically.
MANAGE MY GROUPS
MY REFERENCES tab
Select references for new library
ADD TO GROUP –> New Group
To create a List of References:
Select FORMAT tab
References: choose library
Bibliographic Style: choose citation style
File Format: choose RTF
Choose: SAVE, EMAIL or Preview & Print
Cite While You Write
Let’s you embed citations in your Word document while using Endnote Online to format them
Allows you to share references with others
Manage My Groups
Manage Sharing: Add email(s)
The Cite While You Write (CWYW) feature in Endnote and Endnote online allows you to create in-text citations and full citations at the end of your paper.
See the video below for instructions on how to install the CWYW Plugin, and use this feature.
Using the CWYW [Cite While Your Write Plug-In]