Open Access Literature Resources for International Agricultural Researchers

by Ruth Gustafson – October 22, 2021

This guide provides links to key resources and search tools for open access (OA) literature which are useful to international agricultural researchers.

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services and Researcher Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

Extensive Multidisciplinary and Multiformat Resources

DOAJ : Directory of Open Access Journals

Administrated by: Lund University, Sweden

The DOAJ “was launched in 2003 at Lund University, Sweden, with 300 open access journals and today contains ca. 9000 open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities.”   This directory is a “community-curated list of open access journals and aims to be the starting point for all information searches for quality, peer reviewed open access material.”

DOAB : Directory of Open Access Books

Administrated by:  DOAB Foundation, National Library in the Hague

“The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of open access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their open access books to DOAB. DOAB is an open infrastructure committed to open science. … The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in open access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in open access and meet academic standards.”

 

PQDT Open : ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Administrated by:  ProQuest LLC

Subset of ProQuest’s database which includes materials which “authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access.”

 

OpenDOAR : The Directory of Open Access Repositories

Administrated by: University of Nottingham, UK.

OpenDOAR is an “authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.”

 

eScholarship

Administrated by:  University of California and powered by the California Digital Library

This UC platform hosts OA content by the university’s researchers and “provides Open-Access scholarly publishing services to
the University of California and delivers a dynamic research platform to scholars worldwide.”

 

Hathitrust

Administrated by:  U.S. Universities/Libraries and large international organizations such as the Internet Archive

HathiTrust is a portal to materials converted through massive digitization projects and is a “partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. …  The primary community that HathiTrust serves is the members (faculty, students, and users) of its partner libraries, but the materials in HathiTrust are available to all to the extent permitted by law and contracts, providing the published record as a public good to users around the world.”   For U.S. publications, anything earlier than 1923 is considered no longer under copyright and should be freely accessible.  HathiTrust was launched “in 2008 as a collaboration of the universities of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (now the Big Ten Academic Alliance) and the University of California system to establish a repository to archive and share their digitized collections.”

 

Internet Archive

Administrated by: Internet Archive

Massive digital projects and archived materials from around the world.

Comprehensive Agricultural Library Catalogs or Meta-catalogs

UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog setting
Replacing UCD Library Catalog on July 27, 2021, the new UC Library Search includes all of the UC library collections.   This setting is specifically for the UC Davis libraries including (for the first time) the holdings of the Law Library. If you Sign in (on top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.  The UCD Library at UC Davis is the largest agricultural library West of the Mississippi.

UC Library Search (replaces MELVYL 10 campus UC-wide Library Catalog)
As of July 2021, this is a single online catalog for the UC system.  Most campuses have added in their separate Law libraries to this system-wide catalog.   Agricultural campuses in the UC system are:  UC Davis (unique programs include Animal Science, Food Science & Technology , and Veterinary Medicine.  Very strong program in Biological & Agricultural Engineering); UC Berkeley (historical, founding agricultural campus going back to the 1868); UC Riverside

NAL Catalog (Books section)

The U.S. National Agriculture Library Catalog to the non-serial collections of the library.

WorldCat is the world’s largest network of library content and services – providing searching of catalogs from  more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.