One Health / Global Disease Biology

by Erik Davis Fausak, Ruth Gustafson – December 28, 2020

The connection between animals, humans, plants and the environment are at the heart of the One Health/Global Disease Biology approach.  This subject guide is geared to help identify useful resources for this multidisciplinary approach.

 

Book an APPOINTMENT with Erik  [For VetMed, human medicine, and zoonoses questions]

Book an APPOINTMENT with Ruth [For ecological, vector biology, animal science, and wildlife questions]

Erik Fausak

Student Services
Student Services Librarian

edfausak@ucdavis.edu

530-752-6204

In this Guide:

Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as cat viral disease* or insect vector* rather than the more specific feline leukemia* diagnosis or insect vector* viral transmission load.  Use the literature databases listed in the categories above to search for very specific (article-level or book-chapter level) topics.

Useful subject headings (sometimes from two subject vocabularies, see information in bullets below on Library of Congress or National Library of Medicine Classification systems) for searches in this area include:  Animals as carriers of disease | Epidemics | Global Health | Insect vectors |  Insects as carriers of disease | Zoonoses.   [ADD MORE HERE … ]

  • UC Davis Library Catalog
    Replacing Harvest on August 18, 2016, the new UC Davis Library Catalog includes the collections of all four UC Davis General Libraries. It does not include the holdings of the Law Library. If you log in (My Account) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

 

Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

Date: 2004

 

Book: Introduction to One HealthIntroduction to One Health 2019
SL Deem, KE Lane-de-Graaf, EA Rayhel
Book: One Health People Animals and the EnvironmentOne Health: People, Animals and the Environment 2019
RM Atlas & SR Maloy
Animals and the Shaping of Modern MedicineAnimals and the Shaping of Modern Medicine 2018
A Woods, M Bresalier, A Cassidy & R Mason Dentiger

Comprehensive Reference works in the GDB/OneHealth area (mostly online but KEY print resources could still be mentioned since some may be accessible temporarily by Hathitrust …)

 

CRC Handbook of Marine Mammal Medicine  (Taylor & Francis, 2018, 3rd ed.)

https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/crc-handbook-marine-mammal-medicine-frances-gulland-leslie-dierauf-karyl-whitman/e/10.1201/9781315144931

 

CRC Handbook Series in Zoonoses. 8-volume set published from 1979-1984

Section A. Bacterial, rickettsial, and mycotic diseases (2 v.).–Section B. Viral zoonoses (2 v.).–Section C. Parasitic zoonoses (3 v.).–Section D. Antibiotics, sulfonamides, and public health <v. 1 >

NOTE: Temporarily accessible online via HathiTrust @ CRC Handbook Series in Zoonoses

 

Encyclopaedia of Medical and Veterinary Entomology  (CABI, 2013)

https://www.cabi.org/cabebooks/ebook/20133229815

 

Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems  (Elsevier, 2015)

https://www.sciencedirect.com/referencework/9780080931395/encyclopedia-of-agriculture-and-food-systems

 

Encyclopedia of Environmental Health.   (Elsevier,  2019, 2nd ed.) 6-volume set

https://www.sciencedirect.com/referencework/9780444639523/encyclopedia-of-environmental-health

 

Encyclopedia of Food Safety  (Elsevier, 2014)  4-volume set

https://www.sciencedirect.com/referencework/9780123786135/encyclopedia-of-food-safety

 

Epidemiology of Plant Diseases  (Springer, 2015)

https://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F1-4020-4581-6

 

Handbook of Global Health  (Springer, 2020)

https://link.springer.com/referencework/10.1007%2F978-3-030-05325-3

 

International Encyclopedia of Public Health  (Elsevier, 2017) 7-volume set

https://www.sciencedirect.com/referencework/9780128037089/international-encyclopedia-of-public-health

 

Routledge Handbook of Health Geography  (Taylor & Francis, 2018)

https://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/routledge-handbook-health-geography-valorie-crooks-gavin-andrews-jamie-pearce/e/10.4324/9781315104584

 

Transmissible Diseases Handbook (EAZA publisher)

https://www.eazwv.org/page/inf_handbook   (Link in UCD LibCat is not working …)

 

Below are links to important One Health Journals that can be browsed in Browzine.