In this Guide:

Indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews. Covers over 500 journals worldwide. Topical coverage is broad (ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, the philosophies of law, education, history, etc).

Coverage: 1940 - present
Tags: Bioethics, Ethics, Philosophy

2

VPN

PhilPapers uses advanced trawling techniques, along with wide-ranging crowd-sourcing, to monitor all sources of research content in philosophy. Includes journals, books, personal pages, and open access archives. Our index currently includes 1,112,068 research books and articles. Over 5,000 individuals have contributed content to our index.

This is the major bibliographic index for Classical studies, including art, history, philosophy, literature and more.

Use the hard copy edition of the Annee Philologique to search for material published before 1949. It is located at Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference Z7016.A1 A5

Coverage: 1949-current
Tags: Classics

The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Coverage: 1900-present
Tags: Art, Humanities

This database is the combined archive  of two bibliographic indexes, Pascal and Francis. They provide multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.  It was produced and is now hosted as an open access resource by the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.

Coverage: 1972-2015

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

Advanced search page for about 250 online journals published Oxford University Press. Disciplinary focus and coverage vary.

Search interface to the fulltext of journals published by Sage, and subscribed to by the University Library, UC Davis. Contains over 400 titles. Particularly strong in the social sciences, (including cultural studies and management) material sciences, and health sciences. Database can be subdivided by subject “collection”. Coverage varies by title.

A collection of electronic text versions of works by a number of major French philosophers and novelists (e.g. Descartes, Leibnitz, Pascal, Voltaire, Diderot, Rousseau, Corneille, Racine, Moliere,Balzac, Flaubert, de Maupassant, Rostand, Stendhal, and Zola . 288 electronic text versions of public domain works of 101 authors, and a number of dictionaries.

Of special value to scholars with an interest in French language philosophers, historians, and social theorists. Authors represented include Descartes, Bayle, Diderot, Saint-Simon, Voltaire, Sainte-Beuve, Durkheim, Mauss, and Gaston Bachelard. Includes both French originals and a significant number of French translations of works originally appearing in other languages.

Digitized texts are usually downloadable in three file formats (MS Word doc and rtf, and pdf).

Full-Text collection of neuroscience reference sources, and MIT Press books and journals in the brain and cognitive sciences.

Direct access to several million digital objects: film, photos, paintings, sound recordings, maps, manuscripts, books, newspapers, and archival papers. Selected from previously digitized resources available in Europe’s museums, libraries, archives, and audio-visual collections.  French and German cultural institutions are particularly well represented.

NOTE: Users must register and create an account in order to access this resource.

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae [TLG] Digital Library now contains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453..Its’ goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.

 

Periodicals Index Online is a retrospective database (1665-1995); over 300 philosophy titles are included. It also provides access to a smaller set of titles in fulltext electronic form.

Coverage: 1665-1995
Tags: Art, Humanities, Social Science

Companion resource to Periodicals Index Online (PIO), PAO is a fulltext archive of hundreds of historical digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences; about 35-40 of the titles covered are philosophy journals.

Coverage: 1802-1995
Tags: Art, Humanities, Social Science

This is an online version of a PREVIOUS Edition of the Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas (DHI), in five volumes and edited by Philip P. Wiener, was published by Charles Scribner’s Sons, New York, in 1973-74 (Shields Library CB5 .D52). This e-version is made available through the University of Virginia’s Electronic Text Center.

A NEWER Edition is available on paper in the HSSGIS Reference Collection (2nd floor Shields) Call # CB9 .N49 2005

Designed as a dynamic reference work, this continuously updated encyclopedia features entries maintained and updated by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and updates are refereed by the members of an Editorial Board before they are made public. For citation, fixed editions are made on a quarterly basis and stored archivally.

Note: Open (unrestricted public) access to the Encyclopedia has been made possible, in part, with a financial contribution from the University of California Libraries.

Coverage: General, including philosophers, periods, schools, subfields, and topics

This site contains a bibliography of the philosophical literature of India during its classical phase and the secondary material on this literature that is available (for the most part) in English. For purposes of definition, philosophical literature has been deemed to be that which is of philosophical interest throughout, theoretical rather than purely practical in its intended function, and polemical or at least expository in a context where defense of one view among alternatives is appropriate The site is an expanded version of the Bibliography which appeared as Volume I of Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies. There have been three printed editions of this Bibliography: 1st edition 1970, 2nd revised edition 1983, and 3rd revised edition 1995. This electronic version is continuously corrected and updated

Oxford Bibliographies in Philosophy, in contrast to print bibliographies and electronic indexes that simply list citations, combines the features of a high-level encyclopedia and the best features of a traditional bibliography.

Tags: Philosophy

Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.

Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.This website contains information about the initiative, how to set up Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD) programmes, how to create and locate ETDs, and current research in digital libraries related to NDLTD and ETDs.

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,311,795 theses and dissertations.