Plant Sciences / Plant Biology / Plant Pathology

by Leyla R Cabugos – October 21, 2020

This guide is to help you find information and resources related to the study of plants. Feel free to reach Leyla by phone, email, in person (when the library is open). She also conducts web meetings in Zoom by appointment.

Need help in a hurry? Your fastest option is Ask A Librarian 24/7 chat
Note that while you will get librarian help, it may be from someone outside of UC Davis, as this service is staffed collaboratively by libraries nationwide.

To access resources from off-campus, make sure you are connected to the library VPN.

Leyla Cabugos

Research Support Services
Researcher Services Librarian

lrcabugos@ucdavis.edu

530-752-5691

In this Guide:

COVID-19 Related Library Updates

Find the latest information about library resources and services during the COVID-19 response.

Access VPN

Connect to UCD Library resources from your own computer or from off-campus

Contact Your Librarian

Leyla Cabugos   Feel free to reach out by phone, email, or to set up a web meeting in Zoom.

Need a basic question answered ASAP? Your fastest option is Ask A Librarian 24/7 chat. Note that this service is staffed collaboratively by libraries nationwide, so the librarian you talk with may not be at UC Davis.

Take Notes

Document your search process, so you can easily update and build upon it.  This useful template for note taking was developed by Carrol Community College.

Manage Citations

Software to organize and automatically reformat your bibliographies. Compare popular citation management products: EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero, and F1000

Methods Pre-Registration

Funding for Open Access Publishing

Access up to $1,000 per article from the UCD Library toward publishing fees in fully open access journals.

UCD E-links

Most literature databases provide a description of articles, or other literature resources, that allows you to find them among thousands of sources.  However, there is often another step required to access a full text copy. This extra step is facilitated through the UCD E-links button, found on the item record.

Not all articles will be accessible directly from a database, as UCD E-links can only connect you to material licensed or owned by the library. However, we can borrow material from other libraries, if you put in an Interlibrary Loan request.

Watch how to make an Interlibrary Loan request for articles not available in the library collection.

BIOSIS Previews is a database designed by biologists for researching the biological sciences literature.

Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals & conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records.

HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted *below* the UC-eLinks button).  These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports – 80% of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.

Coverage: 1910-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Ecology, Plants, Science
Related links: Database Guide[OvidSP]
Scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Navigate the full citation network.
PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Published by the National Agricultural Library, the Agricola database describes publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture
AGRIS covers all aspects of agricultural sciences and technology, including grey literature not available through normal publication and distribution channels, such as unpublished scientific and technical reports, theses, conference papers and government publications.
Coverage: 1975-present
Tags: Agriculture, Crops, Horticulture, Irrigation, Pomology, Soils
Catalog of the National Forest Service Library Network
Coverage: 1800-Present
Tags: Forestry

Treesearch is an online system for locating and delivering publications by Research and Development scientists in the US Forest Service. Publications in the collection include research monographs published by the agency as well as papers written by Forest Service scientists but published by other organizations in their journals, conference proceedings, or books. Research results behind these publications have been peer reviewed to ensure the best quality science. As of 12/19/2013, Treesearch contains >41,000 publications.

Tags: Forestry

Electronic books licensed or purchased by the UC Davis Library appear in the library catalog. You can also find them using publisher search interfaces, below, some of which allow you to search within books.

Google Books allows full text searching of books scanned from many libraries.  If the books are in copyright, you will only be able to read a preview, but you may be able to find the title in the library, or request a chapter through document delivery.

Highlighted titles

Frodin, David G.. Guide to Standard Floras of the World : An Annotated, Geographically Arranged Systematic Bibliography of the Principal Floras, Enumerations, Checklists and Chorological Atlases of Different Areas, Cambridge University Press, 2001. ProQuest Ebook Central, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/ucdavis/detail.action?docID=164753. 

 

Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences published by Elsevier.
CABI ebooks now provides access to over 532 agricultural titles (more than 9,000 individual chapters). The archives from 2000-2007 includes 400+ titles (with over 6,500 individual chapters). This collection is divided into six core subject collections: Agriculture; Animal and Veterinary Sciences; Human, Food and Nutrition Sciences; Plant Sciences; Environmental Sciences; and Leisure and Tourism.
Coverage: 2000-present
Tags: Agriculture, Animals, Environmental Science, Plants, Science

Springer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2019. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly.

 

Coverage: 2005-2019
Tags: Multidisciplinary

Covers over 20,000 updated, peer-reviewed protocols. UC CDL/UCD Library subscribes to THIRTEEN major laboratory methods and protocols series including the classic comprehensive work “Current Protocols in Molecular Biology” with other titles being CP in: Bioinformatics; Cell Biology; Cytometry; Human Genetics; Immunology; Microbiology; Mouse Biology; Neuroscience; Nucleic Acid Chemistry; Protein Science; Pharmacology; and Toxicology. Includes basic, alternate, and support protocols with literature cited and information on suppliers for standard materials and preparation information for reagents and solutions. IMPORTANT NOTE: UC Davis does *NOT* license the following FIVE protocol titles: “Chemical Biology”, “Essential Laboratory Techniques”, “Magnetic Resonance Imaging”, “Plant Biology” (new as of May 2016 with very little content) and “Stem Cell Biology”.

 

Monographs, technical manuals, handbooks, review volumes, conference proceedings, scholarly journals and videotapes. These examine topics in molecular biology, genetics, development, virology, neurobiology, immunology and cancer biology.
Coverage: 2006-present
Tags: Biology, Biomedicine, Laboratory Practices, Medicine, Science
Related links: Search Help
JoVE publishes novel and gold standard research methodologies in both the physical and life sciences. The format is video to help understand how research methodologies are performed.
Coverage: Access currently to JoVE General section, Science Education, and all journal subsections; 2006- (General); 2013- (Subsections)
Tags: Bioengineering, Bioinformatics, Biology, Biomedicine, Chemistry, Developmental Biology, Engineering, Environmental Science, Immunology, Life Science, Medicine, Neuroscience, Protocols, Psychology
Safari Tech Books Online

Electronic books and videos on computer and web programming, databases,  statistics, and office software.

Plant Science Manuscript Collections in the UC Davis Library

The UC Davis Library selectively collects the records of UC Davis faculty and other individuals or organizations whose work may be of continued research interest.  This guide is a static list of some of these collections, which are available for use in the Special Collections reading room in Shields Library.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Turfgrass Information File
TGIF provides bibliographic and descriptive records of all types of works related to turfgrass culture. TGIF was established in 1983 by the UnitedStates Golf Association (USGA) Turfgrass Research Committee and the Michigan State University Libraries, and is now maintained by the Turfgrass Information Center, a division of MSU Libraries.

Coverage: 1895 – present
Tags: Horticulture

Sources of vegetation and land cover data

CALVEG maps

California vegetation data in tabular and geospatial formats from the US Forest Service. This resource includes vegetation classification keys and descriptions with mid-level species detail for each CALVEG Zone.

VegBank

Database of vegetation plots, plant community and species data operated by Ecological Society of America’s Panel on Vegetation Classification.

The Nature Conservancy: Maps & GIS Data

Interactive maps and downloadable conservation data from The Nature Conservancy.

Map and GIS Resources

Map and GIS Resources

The UC Davis Library provides resources and services for those studying and applying spatial information. These include physical map collections, GIS resources and tools and services, and a vast array of geographic and cartographic material across the UC Davis Library.

Genetic and Molecular Data

Repbase

A database of representative repetitive sequences from eukaryotic species. According to its producer, Repbase is being used worldwide as the reference standard for annotating the presence of repetitive DNA in genomic data. Newly identified repetitive DNA elements reported in the monthly e-journal, Repbase Reports, are stored and shared in the Repbase database.

The Arabadopsis Information Resource (TAIR)

The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) maintains a database of genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana . Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community. Gene product function data is updated every week from the latest published research literature and community data submissions. TAIR also provides extensive linkouts from data pages to other Arabidopsis resources.

Images

USDS ARS Image Gallery

A variety of agricultural images that are typically in the public domain.

JSTOR Global Plants

Collection of more than 2 million digitized plant type specimens from herbaria around the world including UC Davis. Also contains photographs, artwork and links to taxonomic literature. Search or browse by resource type, geography, collection or herbarium.

USDA NRCS PLANTS Database Image Gallery

Images of wild and domestic plants.

Please check images for conditions of use.

National Agricultural Library Digital Collections

Digitized resources from the National Agricultural Library.

A rights category for each item specifies its copyright status and the conditions for use.

Wikimedia Commons

Many free to use and public domain media items categorized by topic.

Flickr: Creative Commons

Flickr is a social photo sharing website. Using the advanced search it is possible to find photos that are available for use under a Creative Commons license.

Calphotos

CalPhotos is a large collection of photos of plants, animals, fossils, people, and landscapes from around the world. A variety of organizations and individuals have contributed photographs to CalPhotos.

Contributors maintain copyright;  follow the usage guidelines provided with each image.

Highlight: The Docuseek2 collection contains documentaries on life science and environmental topics from Bullfrog Films.

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer thousands of award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. Collections include titles from the DEFA Film Library, ArtMattan Films, HBO, Frameline, Ruscico, Pragda, BBC, Flicker Alley, National Film Board of Canada, First Run Features, Cinema Libre Studio, New Day Films, and the Criterion Collection/Janus Films. Please note: only documentaries and Criterion Collection are available at this time.
Coverage: 2000 - present
Documentaries from leading film producers and distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, the BBC, the National Film Board of Canada, CBC, Television Trust for the Environment, MediaStorm, Terra Nova Films, KimStim, and Scorpion TV, and other independent filmmakers from around the world.