by Sheena M Campbell — March 30, 2022
by Sheena M Campbell — March 30, 2022

PLS 100C: Environmental Interactions of Cultivated Plants

by Sheena M Campbell – March 30, 2022

Sheena Campbell

Student Services Department
Student Services Librarian

scampbell@ucdavis.edu

530-752-3058

In this Guide:

  • Search the Library Catalog for Print & eBooks:

    • UCD Library Catalog Search
      If you Sign in (on top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

     


    ACCESSING PRINT BOOKS

    UC Davis has a life sciences collection on the 3rd floor of Shields Library (Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences) and the Carlson Health Sciences Library.

    • Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences, Shields Library:  The BioAgEnvi Sciences print collections are located mainly on the 3rd floor of Shields Library. Some collections in the environmental sciences are located on the 2nd floor in the G classification areas.
    • Carlson Health Sciences Library, Southwest UCD campus: The veterinary science collection is also located in the Carlson Health Sciences Library.

    How to find books in the library:

     

Peer Review

A process through which manuscripts submitted to a journal are evaluated for quality — by one or more subject experts in addition to the editor — before being accepted for publication.

ProQuest article databases (such as PsycINFO, GeoRef or Ag & EnviSci database) include a checkbox to limit to “Peer Reviewed” articles. For journals retrieved from other databases, use the online Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to locate your journal and then look for the black and white striped symbol indicating the publication is “Refereed” or peer-reviewed.

  • Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory  Icon

    The standard source for information on virtually every active and ceased periodical, annual, irregular publication, and monographic series published throughout the world (plus thousands of newspapers). Indicates whether a publication is a refereed (peer-reviewed) title.

    NOTE: search by journal or publication title, NOT article title. Ulrich’s provides information on the entire publication (journal, magazine, newspaper, annual review) NOT on the work within.

Finding an Article with a Citation

If you want to find an article using its citation (a structured description of an item), one way is to find the journal in which it’s published, using Journals A-Z on the library homepage. Depending on the journal or vendor, you may need to locate the journal archive, then use the year, volume number and/or page numbers to find the article. Here’s a breakdown of the structure of a citation:

  • Journal name
  • Volume number
  • Issue number
  • Page range
  • Year of publication

 

What is EndNote Online?

EndNote Online citation management software is free to UC Davis students. Access EndNote Online through the Web of Science database.

  • Web-based: access it from any computer.
  • Collect references from databases such as PubMed, Web of Science, Google Scholar and many more.
  • Format papers and create bibliographies for your paper with the Cite-While-You-Write MS Word plug-in.
  • Easily switch between citation styles in your paper and bibliography.
  • Collaborate by sharing folders of citations.

How do I set up my EndNote Online account?

To register for EndNote Online:

  1. Go to the database: Web of Science
  2. Click ‘EndNote’ (tab menu on the top of the page)
  3. Click ‘Register’
  4. Complete the User Registration
    • Note: you do not have to use your UC Davis email address/password

How to Use my EndNote Online Account?

The most important thing to remember about downloading/uploading citations to add to your EndNote Online Library that you will be working with RIS files

For Guides and Tutorials from EndNote:

  • EndNote Knowledge Base

Cite-While-You-Write