SAS/PLS 12: Plants and Society

by Sheena M Campbell – November 15, 2021

Sheena Campbell

Student Services Department
Student Services Librarian

scampbell@ucdavis.edu

530-752-3058

In this Guide:

Guides & Tutorials 

Resources to help you find, evaluate and use information.

Citation Styles

Find resources to help you follow the APA, MLA or CSE style guidelines for formatting and citing information sources.

Citation Managers

Software to organize and automatically reformat your bibliographies. Compare popular citation management products: EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero, and Sciwheel

Note-taking

Document your search process, so you can easily update and build upon it.  This useful template for note taking was developed by Carrol Community College.

Search the Library Catalog for Print & eBooks:

  • UCD Library Catalog Search
    If you Sign in (on top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.

 


ACCESSING PRINT BOOKS

UC Davis has a life sciences collection on the 3rd floor of Shields Library (Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences) and the Carlson Health Sciences Library.

  • Biological, Agricultural & Environmental Sciences, Shields Library:  The BioAgEnvi Sciences print collections are located mainly on the 3rd floor of Shields Library. Some collections in the environmental sciences are located on the 2nd floor in the G classification areas.
  • Carlson Health Sciences Library, Southwest UCD campus: The veterinary science collection is also located in the Carlson Health Sciences Library.

How to find books in the library:

 

 

Watch a 2 min video describing the peer review process

How to tell if a source is peer-reviewed

Look for limits/filters

Many databases allow you to specify that you want to search only in “peer-reviewed” or “refereed” sources.

Visit the journal’s webpage

Search online for your journal’s title. Sections like “about this journal” or “editorial policies” generally mention whether the journal is peer-reviewed/refereed.

Check a directory 

Use the Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory to find key information about a journal, including whether it has a peer-review process.


Image of the "Get it at UC" link button

Most literature databases provide a description of articles, or other literature resources, that allows you to find them among thousands of sources.  However, there is often another step required to access a full-text copy. This extra step is facilitated through the “Get it at UC”  button, found on the item record.

By clicking on the “Get it at UC” button a search will be conducted through all of the Library’s databases and collections to locate a copy of the article that you can access in the full-text. Not all articles will be accessible in this way, as “Get it at UC” button can only connect you to material licensed or owned by the library.

However, we can borrow material from other libraries, if you put in an Interlibrary Loan request. If we do not own a journal or book,  you can make an Interlibrary Request that the item be sent to you for free from another UC library — often using Web delivery if the item is an article or book chapter.

Google Scholar

If there is a record of a journal article on the open internet, you can use Google Scholar to find it. Accessing the article may require you to go through your library subscription, or to find a physical copy in the library.

You can access library licensed articles directly in Google Scholar if you configure your Google Scholar settings to work with our library subscriptions.

  • Step 1: Open your Google Scholar settings, and choose “Library Links” from the menu bar.
  • Step 2: Search for and select the following: University of California, Davis- Select “Get it at UC

search for an select University of California Davis Get it at UC

 

 

 

Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems

Chapters provide background information on various aspects of climate change and agriculture, with links to additional sources.

Agricultural Statistics Guide

Find global and national agricultural data.

Climate Change Projections

From the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

California Agricultural Statistics

From the California Department of Food and Agriculture.

California Agricultural Export Statistics

From the University of California, Davis, Agricultural Issues Center.

California Climate Change Projections

From Cal-Adapt.

Agricultural Economics Resources

From the Agricultural Issues Center at UC Davis.

California Climate Hub

From the US Department of Agriculture.

UN Climate Programme: Science & Data Portal

Real-time data tools and platforms to key reports, publications, fact sheets, interactives, and more.