Political Science

by Roberto C. Delgadillo – June 24, 2019

A subject guide for political science highlighting key resources for the discovery of research literature.

Roberto C. Delgadillo

Research Support Services
Student Services Librarian

rdelgadillo@ucdavis.edu

(530) 752‑8266

In this Guide:

Covers international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration policy.
Coverage: 1975-present
Tags: Politics
Related links: Search Tips
Indexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy - journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Electronic Library includes many resources for the study of current and historical congressional and American government issues.

Full-text political science journals available from Sage. Titles go back to 1890. Browse a list of journals or search all full text.

Tags: Politics

U.S. Political Stats contains over 225,000 data series–or data measures over time about people, places, and policies–across 10 distinct political science data categories, aligned with a typical political science curriculum. The data series span as far back as 1982, and are updated on a timely basis in accordance with the collection and publication schedules of original sources. Detailed source information, with links where applicable, is provided for every data series.

One of the largest web-based full-text databases for current news, business and legal information, supporting a broad range of interdisciplinary research, Nexis Uni (known until December 2017 as LexisNexis Academic) provides full-text access to nearly 6,000 individual titles. Includes a wide range of U.S. and foreign newspapers, plus transcripts of television and radio news programs. Business resources include business articles, accounting literature, company financial information. Legal resources include state and federal laws and regulations, a full range of case law, and law review articles.

Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database broadly covering newspapers, magazines and journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Provides full-text for more than 7000 scholarly journals and other sources, including nearly 1100 peer-reviewed business publications. Offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, and accounting. [1965 - present]
Coverage: coverage varies by title with some going as far back as 1886.
Tags: Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing

A comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world’s economic literature compiled from the American Economic Association’s Journal of economic literature and the Index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes. Topics include economic theory and history, monetary theory and financial institutions; labor economics; international, regional, urban economics; and other related subjects.

Coverage: 1969-present
Tags: Business, Economics

EIU Country Profiles and Reports provide objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic and business environment in more than 180 countries. Annual profiles are updated by quarterly reports

Coverage: 1996-present
Tags: Business, Economics

4

VPN
Full-text database of US legal periodicals.
Coverage: Coverage: Volume 1- Volume preceding current year
Tags: Law
Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.
Coverage: 1967-present
Tags: Asia, History, Latin America

The HSDL is a service of the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. The collection includes Over 92,600 documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources including federal, state and local governments; international governments and institutions; nonprofit organizations and private entities.

ISN is an open source digital library of reports, studies, etc. from think tanks, research institutes and NGOs from around the globe. The ISN is hosted by ETH in Zurich.

Comprehensive resource on politics and policy for the academic community. Includes: National Journal (non-partisan weekly journal on politics), Almanac of American Politics, The Hotline (tracks American politics and campaigns with coverage of each day’s events), Ad spotlight (tracks televised political ads), CongressDaily (twice-daily insight on developments and key players in Congress), Markup reports (committee meetings on key bills), Technology Daily, Poll Track (database of over 5,000 public opinion surveys), Earlybird (the morning’s top news stories and editorials), and Daybook (schedules of House, Senate and other events).

Coverage: National journal 1977-; other coverage varies by section.
Tags: Government, Politics, United States Of America

The Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It is particularly suited to trace citations to authors and articles across publications. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world’s leading scientific and technical journals.

Coverage: 1956-present
Tags: Buddhism, Religion, Shin Buddhism

A world wide collaborative of scholars that is devoted dissemination of social science research. It is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

Resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies.
Coverage: 1952-present
Tags: Sociology

A database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.