Polls And Polling Information

by Adam Siegel, David Michalski — November 9, 2017

Polls And Polling Information

by Adam Siegel, David Michalski — November 9, 2017

Adam Siegel

Research Support Services
Librarian

apsiegel@ucdavis.edu

530-754-6828

In this Guide:

The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, currently located at Cornell University, is one of the world’s leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from public opinion surveys. The Center’s mission is to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data; to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and abroad. Founded in 1947, the Roper Center holds polling data ranging from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infancy, to the present. Over 650,000 questions of U.S. samples can be searched at the question-level in iPOLL, while RoperExpress offers downloads of over 20,000 datasets from over 100 countries.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world’s largest archive of digital social science data. ICPSR acquires, preserves, and distributes original research data. This site links to training and curricular material, and a database which provides access to publications based on ICPSR data holdings.

Related: Database of publications based on ICPSR data holdings
More information on ICPSR and other social science data are available from the Social Science Data Service

3

VPN

The Field Poll, or the California Poll, was established in 1947 by Mervin Field and has operated continuously as an independent, non-partisan, media-sponsored public opinion news service. They cover a wide range of political and social topics, including:

  • approval of important national and statewide political figures,
  • reactions to significant political events and hot button issues,
  • opinions on California ballot propositions,
  • voter awareness,
  • understanding and predispositions of major campaign issues,
  • party affiliation, and
  • demographics.

Findings of Harris Poll surveys from 1998 onward with analysis and commentary. Also offers the opportunity to participate in online polling, as well as links to Harris Interactive corporate information.

Coverage: 1998-present
Tags: Politics, Science

A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

Coverage: -1923
Tags: Congress, Government

“The Public Policy Institute of California (PPIC) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank. We are dedicated to informing and improving public policy in California through independent, objective, nonpartisan research.

“PPIC delivers actionable, fact-based research to help the state find practical responses to a range of policy challenges.

Our publications range from one-page fact sheets to comprehensive, in-depth reports. The PPIC blog offers timely commentary and analysis.

PPIC houses three policy centers that address topics of major importance to California.

  • The PPIC Higher Education Center advances practical solutions that enhance educational opportunities for all of California’s students—improving lives and expanding economic growth across the state.
  • The PPIC Statewide Survey provides a voice for the public and likely voters on key policy issues facing the state.
  • The PPIC Water Policy Center spurs innovative water management solutions that support a healthy economy, environment, and society.”

“Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.”