Population Data and Resources

by Beth Callahan — March 20, 2017

Population Data and Resources

by Beth Callahan — March 20, 2017

This guide is a starting point for finding commonly requested population data and resources series from government agencies, universities and commercial services.  Related bibliographic databases covering demography are also included.

Beth Callahan


Interim AUL for Academic Services & Head of Research Services

bacallahan@ucdavis.edu

530-752-6166

American Factfinder is the Census Bureau’s data access point. It provides tools to look up, view and deliver data, reports, tables, maps and fact sheets on United States population, economy and industry statistics. Large and small scale geographies, eg., states, counties, places, census tracts and blocks can be searched. Data sets are from the Decennial Census, American Community Survey, Annual Population Estimates, Economic Census, and annual economic surveys. All data sets and statistics may be freely downloaded or viewed online.

Coverage: Data sets are current and include 2000 Census and some 1990 Census data and American Community Survey data.
Tags: Census, Economics, Social Science, United States Of America
Related links: American FactFinder: How do I find all the Census Tracts in a Place?

Neighborhood Change Database (NCDB) gives users instant access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 at the census tract level. The All years normalized to 2010 selection allows you to compare data for various years. The data for years 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 are recalculated and normalized, and the report uses the 2010 tract ID (FIPS code). This allows you to compare data for various years within the exact same boundary definitions. By selecting “All years normalized to 2010” you can do actual apples-to-apples comparisons of historic data in 2010 tract definitions.

Coverage: 1970-2010
Tags: Census, Government

The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) is a project to create and freely disseminate a database incorporating all available aggregate census information for the United States between 1790 and 2000. Census Tract Shapefiles are available for select areas for the 1940 – 1990 census.The NHGIS consists of three major components: 1)Collect and enrich historical and contemporary U.S. Census summary data; 2)Incorporate these data into a Geographic Information Systems framework; 3) Create a web-based system for access to both census data and the metadata. Free access, but requires you to register and login to use.

Coverage: United States; 1790 - 2011
Tags: Census, Geography, History, Medicine

This site allows users to examine, manipulate and map data from the U.S. Censuses from 1790-1960. It is a powerful and easy-to-use resource produced by the Geospatial and Statistical Data Center at the University of Virginia Library.

The Population Reference Bureau website provides global population handbooks, serials, and reference publications, as well as data analysis tools for understanding and communicating population and health trends.

Coverage: Contemporary
Tags: Demography, Government

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) is the world’s largest archive of digital social science data. ICPSR acquires, preserves, and distributes original research data. This site links to training and curricular material, and a database which provides access to publications based on ICPSR data holdings.

Related: Database of publications based on ICPSR data holdings
More information on ICPSR and other social science data are available from the Social Science Data Service

Statistical data from the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, profiles on legal permanent residents, and on naturalized citizens, mapping information available in pdf as well as downloadable data formats. Statistics include numbers of immigratants, status, country of origin, etc. Data available from 2000, with archived information from the Yearbook of Immigration Statistics back to 1996.

8

UNdata is an internet-based data service which brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point from which users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN System.

Related links: ,

The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series consists of microdata samples from United States (IPUMS-USA) and international (IPUMS-International) census records. The records are converted into a consistent format and made available to researchers through a web-based data dissemination system.

Coverage: 1850-present
Tags: Census, Government

Billed as “the world’s largest bibliographic database on population, family planning, and related health issues. POPLINE provides citations with abstracts for over 275,000 records representing published and unpublished literature in the field.” Maintained by the Population Information Program at the Johns Hopkins University School of Hygiene and Public Health and is funded primarily by the United States Agency for International Development.

This U.S. Census Bureau site is the entry point to the 2000 Census data as well as more current American Community survey data, economic statistics, and geographic and map products. It includes links to the “American FactFinder and to “Quick Facts” summary profiles for places, counties, and states.

Related: See also American Factfinder.

Coverage: Links to the Decennial Supplementary Surveys, the 1990 census, and selected historical data from 1790-1990.
Tags: Census, Government

Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

Coverage: 1963-present
Tags: Sociology