Library Tools for Postdoctoral Scholars

by Ruth Gustafson, Megan Van Noord – March 22, 2022

This guide lists library resources for postdoctoral  researchers.  To access licensed library resources from off-campus, please use the library VPN.   Your Researcher Services librarians are happy to help if you have questions or need additional assistance.

FOR UCD students, faculty, and staff:  During this COVID-19 time, feel free to book a Zoom appointment with a Researcher Services Librarian for assistance in using these resources.   Just click on the name of the appropriate librarian and you will see the Book an Appointment blue button below the librarian’s picture.

 

Ruth Gustafson

Student Services
Student Services and Researcher Services Librarian

ragustafson@ucdavis.edu

530-752-1883

In this Guide:

There is a subject guide matching nearly every department at the UC Davis campus.   This browsable list is organized by broad disciplinary categories:  Agricultural and Environmental SciencesArts & HumanitiesBiological SciencesEngineering & TransportationGeneral & Multidisciplinary SourcesGovernment InformationHealth SciencesPhysical Sciences, and Social Sciences.

Note the following cross-disciplinary but very important guides for postdoctoral researchers:

Patents  ,  Technical Reports ,  and Standards & Specifications

AND

Newspapers and Current Events Subject Guide

Especially useful are the NewsBank collections:  Access World News, America’s Newspapers, and California Newspapers. Also consider ProQuest Current Newspapers with current full-text of the Los Angeles Times, New York Times (including the New York Times Magazine and the New York Times Book Review), and the Wall Street Journal [these are NOT in the NewsBank license].  NOTE that many individual newspaper collections may have a CURRENT link and a HISTORICAL link.
UCD Library also provides real-time access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, the  New York Times and the Economist (New Fall 2021).

Consider exploring Subject Guides also for your hobbies and recreational interests such as Music or Film (see also Video lectures, documentaries section below).

Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis (e-EROS)

The Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis, e-EROS, provides updated information on approximately 3,800 reagents with a database of close to 50,000 reactions. Each reagent entry includes properties such as physical data, solubility, form supplied in, purification, and preparative methods; examples of use in reactions; and literature references. Search options include: name, CAS number, structure and reaction.

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

Comprehensive online chemical technology encyclopedia with more than 1,000 articles written by a panel of prominent scholars from industry, academia, and research institutions from around the world. Topics covered include: Analytical Techniques; Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Chemical Reactions; Dyes and Pigments; Energy; Environmental Protection and Industrial Safety; Fat, Oil, Food and Feed, Cosmetics; Inorganic Chemicals; Materials; Metals and Alloys; Organic Chemicals; Pharmaceuticals; Polymers and Plastics; Processes & Process Engineering; and Renewable Resources (Monthly updates)

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry

Provides excellent overviews on materials used in manufacturing (ionic liquids, amino acids, silylating agents), or processes used in manufacturing (e.g., fermentation, chromatography, dyeing) as well as manufactured items.

Major sections cover: Agrochemicals; Analytical Techniques; Biochemistry & Biotechnology; Chemical Reactions; Dyes and Pigments; Energy; Environmental Protection, Industrial Safety; Fat, Oil, Food and Feed, Cosmetics; Inorganic Chemicals; Materials; Metals and Alloys; Organic Chemicals; Pharmaceuticals; Polymers and Plastics; Processes & Process Engineering; and Renewable Resources.

Comprehensive Biophysics - Edward Egelman

Publication Date: 2012

Brenner's Encyclopedia of Genetics - Stanley Maloy and Kelly Hughes

Publication Date: 2013

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry - William J. Lennarz

Publication Date: 2013

Searching in a library catalog requires looking for broader topics such as population genetics or molecular chaperones rather than the more specific metapopulation gene flow or Chaperonin GroEL.

  • UC Library Search: UCD Library Catalog setting
    Replacing UCD Library Catalog on July 27, 2021, the new UC Library Search includes all of the UC library collections.   This setting is specifically for the UC Davis libraries including (for the first time) the holdings of the Law Library. If you Sign in (on top right corner) using your UCD login and Kerberos passphrase, you are prompted with your loan period, can renew books online, and request items that have been checked out to another borrower, or are in storage.     
    UC Library Search: User Guide

NEED a PRINT ONLY ITEM AND CANNOT COME TO CAMPUS?  We’ll ship it to you!  The UCD Libraries has retained the initiated in COVID-time shipping service.   Just click on the INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link from the item you need and we’ll mail the whole item to you.  Make sure you have your correct address listed, when prompted.

ONLY NEED a chapter or an article from a PRINT ONLY ITEM?  Scanning service available for all UCD affiliates.  Use the same INTERLIBRARY REQUEST link but make a note of the specific chapter/article you need and include as much info as you can, especially page number, if available.

Due dates became active with start of Fall Quarter 2021.  “If you are in the [UCD] area and would like to return materials, you can deposit returns via the remote book drops or at Shields or Blaisdell Medical Library. Materials may also be mailed back at no cost to you. Contact shieldsinterloan@ucdavis.edu for additional instructions and to receive a postage-paid mailing label.”

Understanding Call Numbers

Author: Library Instruction Services, Shields Library

Library of Congress Classification is used for all of the UCD libraries except the health sciences libraries (which use NLM — National Library of Medicine — classification). Learn about how books are arranged in the UCD libraries with this guide.

Date: 2004

The UCD Library maintains a Citation Manager Comparison table .

Additional UCD Library webpages on specific citation/bibliographic management software are:

For an extensive comparison table on many other citation management software beyond those listed above, see the comprehensive webpage maintained by Wikipedia at:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_reference_management_software