Use the tools on this guide to get started with your research in psychology, human development and related fields

Melissa Browne

Research Support Services
Librarian

mabrowne@ucdavis.edu

530-754-5962

PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA). It provides citations to articles in professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, dissertations and even important internet sites in psychology and related disciplines, most with abstracts and some citations.

Coverage: 1840-present
Tags: Psychology

PsycARTICLES is a database of 54 electronic journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

Coverage: 1987-present
Tags: Psychology

PsychiatryOnline is a website that features DSM-5, DSM-5 clinical cases, the DSM-5 handbook of differential diagnosis and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. Much more than individual titles, PsychiatryOnline features sophisticated searching and indexing tools that enable users to quickly target all the information needed

Tags: Psychology

NOTE: There are a limited number of simultaneous users >> please LOGOFF when finished. HAPI is an index to journal articles and other sources about measurement tools used in in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. HAPI includes citations to questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests. It is an excellent source for locating or reviewing health and psychosocial measurement instruments.

Coverage: 1985 to date, with many earlier measures
Tags: Medicine, Pyschology

PsycTESTS, produced by the American Psychological Association, serves as a repository for a selection of psychometric, learning, and social psychological tests and measures, as well as standardized information about tests.

Tags: Psychology

Web of Science combines traditional bibliographic searching of journal content across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences with broadly interdisciplinary “cited reference” search capabilities.

Quick Reference Guide: Web of Science Core Collection
Saving Your Search & Setting Alerts
Creating Citation Alerts for Current Awareness

Coverage: See above description (varies between 9 indexes)
Tags: Science

The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

More than 27 million citations and abstracts for articles published in approximately 8,400 journals in medicine, life sciences, health administration, veterinary medicine, nursing, molecular biology and genetics. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine on the NCBI platform.

PubMed Tutorial & more
Alerts/Automatic Updating Service (Saving & Managing Searches)
NLM Searching PubMed with Mesh tri-fold handout [PDF]
NLM PubMed Basics tri-fold handout [PDF]

Coverage: 1946-present
Tags: Animals, Dentistry, Medicine, Nursing, Veterinary Medicine

The ERIC Database indexes and abstracts education and education related journals, studies and reports, with links to full-text studies and reports from 1993 forward.

Coverage: 1966-present
Tags: Education

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.

Coverage: 1973-present
Tags: Language

Containing over 235,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.

Related: Communication Abstracts
HUM & SOC SCI REF P87 C58
Print edition of Communication Abstracts.

Coverage: 1978-present
Tags: Communications, Mass Media

Covers current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials; covers journal articles, dissertations, and book reviews

Coverage: 1980-present
Tags: Community Development, Social Policy, Social Science, Welfare

An interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1984-present), Women’s Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-present), and several major bibliographies.

Coverage: 1972 (and earlier)-present
Tags: Women, Women's Studies

Annual ‘handbook’ with introductory and summary articles to the latest thinking on important and emerging issues in psychology. Includes substantial bibliographies.

Coverage: 1950-present
Tags: Psychology

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Search interface to the fulltext of journals published by Sage, and subscribed to by the University Library, UC Davis. Contains over 400 titles. Particularly strong in the social sciences, (including cultural studies and management) material sciences, and health sciences. Database can be subdivided by subject “collection”. Coverage varies by title.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

The e-Duke Scholarly Collection provides access to current issues of 29 electronic journals from Duke University Press. The list includes 18 titles previously available from Project Muse, in addition to other titles still currently updated in Muse.

1

Encyclopedia of psychology

Alan E. Kazdin
Call #: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference BF31 .E52 2000 Lib Use Only
Publication Info: 2000

Published by the American Psychological Association, and Oxford University Press.

2

The Corsini Encyclopedia Of Psychology

Irving B. Weiner; W. Edward Craighead
Call #: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference BF31 .E52 2010 Lib Use Only
Publication Info: 2010

Authoritative coverage of the major area of psychology from selected experts. Contains substantial bibliogrpahies.

3

Oxford Bibliographies in Psychology is a ready, reliable resource for scholars and researchers, practitioners, teachers, and students to access classic, contemporary, and cutting edge scholarship in psychology, much of which is now available in online venues. Oxford Bibliographies in Psychology is a quick, comprehensive, and efficient source for exploring or staying current with the growing science of psychology.

4

Full-Text collection of neuroscience reference sources, and MIT Press books and journals in the brain and cognitive sciences.

5

Harold Pashler (Editor)
Call #: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference BF441 .E53 2013 Lib Use Only
Publication Info: 2013

Published by SAGE this encyclopedia contains articles on psychology, psychiatry, and neuroscience, as well as those on the topic of the Mind in the fields of philosophy, economics, anthropology, linguistics, computer science, molecular biology, education, and literature.

6

Ronald L. Jackson (Editor)
Call #: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference BD236 .E42 2010 Lib Use Only
Publication Info: 2010

The two volumes of this encyclopedia seek to explore myriad ways in which we define ourselves in our daily lives. Comprising 300 entries, the Encyclopedia of Identityoffers readers an opportunity to understand identity as a socially constructed phenomenon.
Published by SAGE

7

Roy F. Baumeister (Editor); Kathleen D. Vohs (Editor)
Call #: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference HM1007 .E53 2007 Lib Use Only
Publication Info: 2007

The Encyclopedia of Social Psychology includes more than 600 entries chosen by a diverse team of experts to comprise an exhaustive list of the most important concepts. A SAGE publication

8

George F. Koob (Editor-In-Chief); Michel Le Moal (Editor-In-Chief); Richard F. Thompson (Editor-In-Chief); Michel Le Moal (Editor-In-Chief)
Call #: ebook
Publication Info: 2010

Encyclopedia of Behavioral Neuroscience covers the foundation knowledge in the field as well as important research in all areas of Behavioral Neuroscience.
an EBook from Academic Press

9

William A. Darity
Call #: Shields Library Humanities/Social Sciences Reference H40.A2 I5 2008 Lib Use Only
Publication Info: 2007

Latest edition of a classic reference source. It is comprehensive and substantial in its coverage. On the same shelf, the library maintains both the 1968 and the 1930 editions for comparative purposes.

10

J.D Wright (Editor-In-Chief)
Call #: ebook
Publication Info: 2015

This Encyclopedia maps the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. In 26 volumes, 4,000 articles, it includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.