In this Guide:

ATLA indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in more than 60 languages. Subject coverage includes Religious Studies, Biblical explication, Archaeology & Antiquities, Church History, Human Culture & Society, Missions & Ecumenism, Pastoral Ministry, Philosophy & Ethics, Theology, and World Religions.

Coverage: 1949-Current
Tags: Religion

Oxford Handbooks in Religion bring together the world’s leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in religion. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students

Coverage: Dates vary for individual titles
Tags: Religion

Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on American and Canadian history, including ethnic history and relations, from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 journals published worldwide.

Coverage: 1964-present
Tags: Canada, History, United States Of America

Anthropology Plus brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers excellent coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals.

Coverage: Late 19th century-present
Tags: Anthropology

Citations to articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America:history and life.) Indexes more than 2000 journals worldwide.

Coverage: 1967-present
Tags: Asia, History, Latin America

Prime resource for accessing the latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social, behavioral, and cultural studies. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.

Coverage: 1963-present
Tags: Sociology

The multi-disciplinary database Academic Search Complete (ASC) provides full-text access to more than 5,500 periodicals, including over 4,600 peer-reviewed journals, and indexing and abstracts for an additional 9,500 journals and 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, zoology and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,100 of the world’s leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

Coverage: 1900-present
Tags: Art, Humanities

This database is the combined archive  of two bibliographic indexes, Pascal and Francis. They provide multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.  It was produced and is now hosted as an open access resource by the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique.

Coverage: 1972-2015

JSTOR provides Full-Text access to back files of hundreds important scholarly journals in nearly 50 disciplines spanning the arts, humanities, social sciences and the sciences. Current issues are now included for selected titles. Holdings vary by journal. JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization established with the assistance of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

Project Muse provides full text access to hundreds of journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and mathematics. It is useful for searching interdisciplinary cultural studies topics. Its full-text search engine permits finer-grained searching than any other index for these journals. Coverage varies by journal.

Advanced search page for about 250 online journals published Oxford University Press. Disciplinary focus and coverage vary.

Search interface to the fulltext of journals published by Sage, and subscribed to by the University Library, UC Davis. Contains over 400 titles. Particularly strong in the social sciences, (including cultural studies and management) material sciences, and health sciences. Database can be subdivided by subject “collection”. Coverage varies by title.

An introduction to Theravada Buddhism. Many texts here, both ancient and modern, including an outline of the Pali Canon.

The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.

This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language. The texts presented here are either original scans from books and articles clearly in the public domain, material which has been presented elsewhere on the Internet, or material included under fair use conditions in printed anthologies.

Tags: Religion

Comprehensive coverage of more than 2,300 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada — from Adventists to Zen Buddhists. Information is presented in two distinct sections, essays and directory listings describing the historical development of religious families and providing factual information about each group within those families. Includes, when available, rubrics for membership figures, educational facilities and periodicals.

This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions.

This encyclopedia looks at Islam’s role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion’s history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.

The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion’s role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.

A multidisciplinary approach that addresses all aspects of the dialogue between the sciences and the world’s religions, reaching into the humanities as well as into the physical sciences and technology. Examines controversial issues such as human cloning and stem cell research long with more traditional questions such as the origins of life, the nature of sin, and the philosophy of science and religion.

This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations. This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia. Since the original work was completed almost 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.). However, it does contain an incredible amount of information that is remarkably relevant today.

This is a new, fully updated edition. It contains thousands of articles on all aspects of Jewish tradition, contemporary culture, politics and history.

“The Encyclopaedia of Islam (New Edition) sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.It embraces articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. In its geographical and historical scope it encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all other Islamic countries.”

Coverage: 2002-
Tags: Islam, Reference Materials

Brill’s Encyclopaedia of the Qur’ān (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur’ān. It is an encyclopedic dictionary of qur’ānic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur’ānic studies. With nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur’ān to appear in a Western language.

“With approximately 300 million adherents around the globe today, Buddhism is one of the largest world religions. The study of Buddhism is a diverse field which combines religion, philosophy, history, art history, philology and textual studies, as well as informing a variety of comparative studies. Besides its interdisciplinary nature, Buddhist traditions vary enormously throughout the world. Because the field comprises so many varied aspects, research and scholarship is wide-reaching in its response to new discoveries, interpretations, and theoretical ideas. . . . Oxford Bibliographies in Buddhism offers a much-needed expert filter that relies on expertise that no algorithm can replicate.”

 

Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes

“As one of the world’s largest religions, Hinduism has become an increasingly important area of study today. Hinduism is related to all the major continuing and connected religions of India. About 80 per cent of India’s massive population regard themselves as Hindu, and there are approximately 30 million Hindus outside of India. The study of Hinduism is diverse—it combines religion, philosophy, history, and textual studies, as well as informing a variety of comparative studies. Because the field comprises so many varied aspects, research and scholarship is wide-reaching in its response to different interpretations. . . . students and researchers alike can rely on Oxford Bibliographies in Hinduism to offer a reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative guide to the best literature in the field.”

Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes.

“The field of Islamic Studies is both wide-reaching and dynamic. It includes the range of foundational documents, traditions, institutions, and history of Muslims in various countries and regions throughout the world from the origins of Islam to the present day. This interdisciplinary field therefore includes history, religion, philosophy, anthropology, Arabic language and literature, as well as literatures in other languages including Persian, Turkish, and Urdu, and remains responsive to new discoveries, interpretations, ideologies and theories. . . . Top scholars in the field have contributed on their areas of expertise, so that users will understand how the field is organized and why it developed in the way it did. The articles present a guided tour through the key literature on each topic, providing context for its development, and a balanced overview of the major issues within a given topic.”

“The field of Jewish studies is broad and interdisciplinary, encompassing history, religion, philosophy, literature, sociology and political science. Its chronological and geographical range is immense, stretching from the Bible to the present and including communities from the Americas to Western and Eastern Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, South and East Asia, and Africa. . . .Oxford Bibliographies Jewish Studies offers . . . carefully selected articles that break down subject areas into their component parts and pithy annotations that summarize the main contribution of each citation.”

Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes.

This extensive set of annotated bibliographies “explores European and Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries” through the lenses of many different academic disciplines. Nearly 100 entries are organized around people, places, concepts, ideas, events and more. They offer, equally, a survey of what is new as well as thoughtful orientations to key primary and secondary literature.

Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes

“Based on Joseph Sabin’s landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900’s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.”

Grove Music Online (an updated version of the printed New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians) is accessed via Oxford Music Online, where it can be searched alone, or together with the Oxford Dictionary of Music, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Grove dictionaries of American music, musical instruments, and opera. Grove Music Online includes over 30,000 biographies of composers, performers, and writers on music, and a total of over 50,000 signed articles with extensive bibliographies and cross references.

Tags: Music

This extensive set of 120 bibliographic entries explores the world as known to Europeans during the period “which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries. The entries provide excellent orientations to seminal and current scholarships on broadly (the Ottoman Empire)and narrowly constructed topics (Montaigne).

Follow this link to see all the Oxford Bibliographies Online to which UCDavis subscribes.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women’s Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications. Identifying relevant works in this mass of material is further complicated by the interdisciplinary nature of much of the scholarship. In order to help researchers find current articles and essays quickly and easily, librarians and scholars began compiling the Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index in July 1996. Books written by a single author are not indexed in Feminae; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies.

“Presents manuscripts of some of the most important works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The chief focus is on journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China and South-East Asia. The collection also includes a number of important accounts of travels to or through the Holy Land.” Documents “are in a range of languages including French, Latin, German, Spanish, Dutch and English. Supporting the manuscripts are relevant secondary texts of translations and editions, as well as full catalogue details.”

“The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilizations (DARMC) makes freely available on the internet the best available materials for a Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds. DARMC allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization. . . .”

Provides the most comprehensive, current bibliography of international scholarly literature in Medieval Studies available.

Coverage: 1967-present; updated quarterly
Tags: History, Language, Literature, Medieval Studies

Corsair, the website for the Pierpont Morgan Library includes a searchable database of more than 15,000 images selected from the Pierpont Morgan Library’s collection of medieval manuscripts.

Indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and book reviews. Covers over 500 journals worldwide. Topical coverage is broad (ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, metaphysics, logic, the philosophies of law, education, history, etc).

Coverage: 1940 - present
Tags: Bioethics, Ethics, Philosophy

RAMBI – The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies – is a selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles – in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel. The main criterion for inclusion in the bibliography is that the article be based on scientific research, or contain important information for such research. Since the inception of this bibliographic project in 1966, the editorial board has striven to include in it all of the important articles published throughout the world in the field of Judaica. Therefore, it includes offprints of articles from journals or collections not on order to the Library. Rambi also lists articles from secondary sources.

Coverage: 1985 - present
Tags: Cultural Studies, Judaism

Online access to citations and abstracts for every title in the UMI Dissertation Abstracts database; since 1997, provides full-text access to dissertations. Access is free to UC Campus dissertations.

Coverage: 1861-present
Tags: Multidisciplinary

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.This website contains information about the initiative, how to set up Electronic Thesis and Dissertation (ETD) programmes, how to create and locate ETDs, and current research in digital libraries related to NDLTD and ETDs.

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,311,795 theses and dissertations.